We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sommaroy Arctic Hotel Tromso
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sommaroy
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Time”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This hotel grew on me whilst we stayed on a VJV trip to Norway to see the Northern Lights etc. In the context of its location it is worthy of 4 stars and is part of the Rica Group of hotels. The room was comfortable but needed more storage space. We could of done with the heating being on in our room before we arrived, but after fiddling with the controls it did warm up nicely. Whilst there, we were taken for a night time walk to the "Longhouse" inspired by the Viking's Long Houses. We were given a cultural talk and a hot local brew and apple cake. The hotel owner also sang a Norwegian folksong to us. We walked through some rocks to the shore but alas the Northern Lights didn't show that evening although we did see them on other nights. 6 of us booked the outside hot tub at 9.30pm. It was a wonderful experience sitting there under the stars sipping our wine and finally we ventured back indoors for a relaxing sauna. We also had an included whale watching trip which was sensational but obviously freezing so wrap up warm! We saw plenty of killer whales and humpbacks and the 2 man rew were friendly and knowledgeable. The food at this hotel was good but we did go to the only local cafe for a lunch which was very enjoyable. Although there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room there is free tea/coffee/hot chocolate and iced water in reception readily available, which you can take to your room or to the very comfortable library area. We found the staff to be helpful and friendly and had no complaints. We would recommend this hotel and visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wasessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    72
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
31
50
5
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
459 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Location: Definitely the main reason to come all the way here (we drove past some pretty slippery roads in pitch darkness and mad winds). We stayed here from 1-3 Jan, and managed to see some awesome Aurorae on both nights -from the balcony of our seaside cabin. We drove around the island trying to find a good spot to shoot the lights, and got some amazing shots from a combination of intense light activity and good vantage points.

Room: The house itself was well-equipped and suitably spacious, although the heating was erratic in certain areas. We had 3 rooms for our family of 5, which was more than sufficient. There was a small sauna in the ground floor bathroom as well, which was a pleasant surprise.

Service: Service was decent, but inconsistent. We encountered several genuinely helpful and pleasant staff, whilst others seemed disinterested and noncommittal. Overall still okay though, given that you're largely on your own when you choose to stay in the seaside house anyway.

A decent hotel, though admittedly you don't have much of a choice in Sommaroy. Good value for money.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ming H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We were there to see the Northern lights, but unfortunately the weather was against us. Well appointed room and huge bathroom. Plentiful supply of coffee and tea, meals very good although breakfast would have been improved with more cereals and even some tinned fruit. The staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueLiz46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I can recommend this hotel for its location, its comfort, the standard of its food and the friendliness of its staff.. We were there a few days ago and enjoyed the snow, the northern lights and a superb whale watching trip. The scenery is superb and its the kind of place that we could easily be tempted to return to, to enjoy the midnight sun.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Magical hideaway on a beautiful island.

We were there looking for the Aurora. No sign but we had snow, snow and then more snow.
Friendly people. Comfy beds. Great bathroom. Superb breakfast

The best fish soup in the entire world.
Whale safari showed whales (humpbacks and orcas)

Expensive - but it IS Norway :-)

Would I go back? I would love to. But please can I have the Northern Lights too.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Having read the previous reviews I was a little nervous about what we would find, but we were not disappointed. We stayed in cabin 55, on the beach and loved it. It sleeps 6 persons so for the two of us it was quite spacious. It has a high ceiling (with a mezzanine level with two further beds) and large floor to ceiling windows allowing us to overlooking the beach and the sea, and in the morning we walked out on a snow covered beach right in front of our cabin. There is a huge terrace and I imagine it is lovely to sit there in summer. Breakfast with a view was a real treat. The cabin was well equipped and even had a sauna (but we did not use it). Staff at the hotel where we picked up the keys and paid was very friendly. My only criticism is that it was hard to sufficiently heat the cabin due to the small heaters and the water cooker must be the slowest in the world. WE have since stayed in two other cabins and this was by far the most expensive place we stayed. Whilst it may be good value for a family of 4 or 6, it was too expensive compared to some other places we have seen. When booking, I was told the cabins on the sea side would have been even more expensive. Pictures to follow

Room Tip: Cabin 55 has larger windows than most other cabins on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EIDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Every care was taken of us. From a warm handshake on arrival to the most personalised tours possible. Kjell, the host, is charming and full of stories. The room was clean and comfortable with adjustable heating. The food was well prepared and tasty. Hot drinks were available at all times. We weren't lucky with the aurora but Kjell delivered whales. Wonderful, wonderful whales and he was as pleased as we were to see these fantastic animals. A truly life enhancing trip. The Sommeroy Arctic hotel is a very special hotel in a very special place.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jojosphone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sommaroy
23.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
23.4 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
260 reviews
23.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#13 of 18 in Tromso
447 reviews
23.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
23.1 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sommaroy Arctic Hotel Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sommaroy Arctic Hotel Tromso

Property: Sommaroy Arctic Hotel Tromso
Address: Skipsholmvegen 22, Sommaroy 9110, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Sommaroy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sommaroy
Hotel Class:4 star — Sommaroy Arctic Hotel Tromso 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the west side of Tromsø, a mere 45 minutes from the city centre lies the fascinating pearl of nature, Sommarøy, where you meet chalk-white beaches, cosy coves, holms and reefs that encircle the hotel and everything we have to offer our guests. In close combat with the forces of nature, we facilitate authentic coastal experiences at sea and on land. Activities, wellness, coastal culture and a lively local community – and all the service and facilities you expect of a modern hotel in the kingdom of Ottar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sommaroy Arctic Hotel Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing