We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic landscape, good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sommaroy Arctic Hotel Tromso
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sommaroy
Certificate of Excellence
Akershus, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Scenic landscape, good food”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed two nights in a single room for a business trip. Rooms in the main wing are okay, but some have views away from the sea. The «Rorbu» houses next to the waterfront are very nice indeed. We used one of them as a meeting/workshop area.

Food was healthy and good, we had the infamous «Kveite» (halibut) and it was wonderfully prepared.

At night you may enjoy a drink (bring your own) in the indoor hottub or the outdoors jacuzzi. And obviously you will have to go for a swim in the crystal clear chilling water of the North sea.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    72
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
31
50
5
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This place has maybe seen better days, but still has some charme. Built in the 80-ies in plank make the rooms very hot. But hey... when is the next time they will have 28 degrees and sunny? Service is also nice and the food served is good. We stayed in a double room and found the beds comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norztn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed one night, had lunch, dinner and breakfast. Moreover, we used the meeting facilities. The weather was fabulous; after the meetings we went up to Hillesøyfjellet, enjoyed the view, went for a bath both outdoor and indoor - in the sea and in the bath tubs. We brought our own snacks and drinks on the cabin terrace in the midnight sun. Although the hotel facilities were nice, it is foremost the sand dunes, the mountains, the sea, and the wildlife that makes Hillesøy such a great getaway. It is also great for bird spotting - the common eider and the seagulls, but even a willow ptarmigan right outside the window. It was busy chasing a female ptarmigan and totally ignored the photographer...No white-tailed eagle this time, although they can be seen here.

The area is unspoilt by tourism - around is the sea, the mountains and - a few houses with locals.

The meeting facilities were nice, and the projector worked well. Our cabin faced towards a lovely view of the sand dunes and the sea. The cabin itself was very great with kitchen and even a fireplace. The staff were lovely and friendly, yet a bit guarded. Dearing to care for the customer openly is an asset which Norwegian hotels and restaurants often lack.

The food was mostly homemade, Small details annoys an otherwise superb selection and variety of the breakfast and lunch offerings. The great homemade coffee mousse and panna cotta with cakes for dessert were accompanied by what must be a ready bought vanilla sauce. The three course dinner in the evening was great but low in flavours. Norwegian traditional food is often low in flavours, but since they used ingredients like turkey and port wine sauce in the main course they have specialiced in more contemporary food. In particular the first dish with cod was nicely presented, but lacked flavours. I asked the waitress about the wine, and she happily read from the wine bottle label for me. I know the place is run by a few persons, thus they have to be both receptionists, waiters, guides etc. But the more knowledgeable the persons are, the better the service will be. Thus training the staff a bit in wine and food knowledge could improve service further. The wines went well with the dinner, but we agreed across the table that they were not terribly interesting.

So why do I give Sommarøy Arctic Hotel a five instead of a four? Because on a warm, sunny night, there are few places on planet Earth that I'd rather be than Hillesøy. A terrace with good company, wine, snacks, music and bird watching in the midnight sun is close to paradise.

Room Tip: I think most cabins have a great view, but some terraces may be more sheltered than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backpacker_solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We took a couple of nights in a beach cabin at the Arctic Hotel, which was a wonderful change fem three busy days in Tromso. Sommaroy is a little fishing village on an island linked by bridges to the mainland. The cabin was very comfortable, and looked out over little rocky islands, and a nice deck balcony where we watched the sun go down. It was set up for self catering so we went to the village shop and stocked up with beers, snacks etc to keep costs down. (Note no cash machine!) I had a morning swim which was delicious, and not as painful as I'd expected :-) The sauna afterwards was excellent!

Wonderful walks around with brightly coloured houses like jewels in the winter landscape. in fact there was not much snow this winter. We were able to easily climb the little mountain to the radar station.

We had great aurora views from behind a ridge, which cut out the village lights. Turns out coach tours come here, so one is suddenly not alone! But the views were spectacular.

The hotel menu is limited, but we enjoyed their fish dishes.

Room Tip: staying in the beach houses was peaceful if rather more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyDailyPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night as part of a tour group and fell in love with the hotel and the area. The rooms were comfortable, warm and very clean. The food was fresh, tasty and home made. The setting is superb with fantastic views over the sea. Our visit was made more special with a great showing of the Northern Lights and a super whale watching trip. Would definitely recommend this hotel for that 'away from it all' experience and would love to come back to experience the Midnight sun.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank PAH810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Part of a tour group with VJV for one night stay. Rooms not ready on arrival (1230 hours) so all 19 people dispersed until lunch at 1330. My twin-bedded room (15) on first floor of main building was average size, bright and HOT but opening the window quickly cooled it down. No drawers, no storage space other than desk-top, open wardrobe just half-metre wide (yes!), four coat-hangers. No telephone in room, nor tea/coffee supplies although available in Lobby 24 hours. No bath tub but large-sized, enclosed shower cubicle. Lack of information on facilities/opening times of restaurant/bar, etc. Plenty of staff lunch-time onwards. Breakfast was adequate.

Room Tip: I advise a room in the main building in winter as the chalets are quite a hike from it and you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 47JAKMAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We went to Norway to see the Northern lights. We were blessed by two very clear nights, and by a very active aurora on the second night, absolutely amazing. Sommaroy is on the western most tip of Kvaloya Island. It is a very small fishing village, and the hotel and surrounding holiday villas are the only places to stay. The hotel was warm and comfortable. The views are spectacular. The food was excellent, especially the fish soup which was delicious. The ala carte menu is divided into 'small' meals and normal meals. Do not be fooled into thinking that a small meal means a starter, it means a small meal! Another thing we both like is that coffee is freely available throughout the day. This makes up for the astronomical cost of any sort of alcohol. The host/guide Kjell Ove Hveding is friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. We found all of the staff friendly and helpful. We drove to the hotelfrom Tromso, and on our second day drove around the island of Kvaloya, and saw reindeer, sea eagles, various seabirds, and, of course, the magnificent scenery. We loved this place and will definitely return. Don't be put off by the functional appearance of the outside of the hotel, it is very pleasant inside.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms have very limited views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sommaroy
23.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
23.4 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
260 reviews
23.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#13 of 18 in Tromso
448 reviews
23.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
23.1 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sommaroy Arctic Hotel Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sommaroy Arctic Hotel Tromso

Property: Sommaroy Arctic Hotel Tromso
Address: Skipsholmvegen 22, Sommaroy 9110, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Sommaroy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sommaroy
Hotel Class:4 star — Sommaroy Arctic Hotel Tromso 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the west side of Tromsø, a mere 45 minutes from the city centre lies the fascinating pearl of nature, Sommarøy, where you meet chalk-white beaches, cosy coves, holms and reefs that encircle the hotel and everything we have to offer our guests. In close combat with the forces of nature, we facilitate authentic coastal experiences at sea and on land. Activities, wellness, coastal culture and a lively local community – and all the service and facilities you expect of a modern hotel in the kingdom of Ottar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sommaroy Arctic Hotel Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing