We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolutely wonderful wedding for us and our guests!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mudcastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mudcastle
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An absolutely wonderful wedding for us and our guests!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Glenys and Kevin go to all lenghts to make your stay at the mudcastle special, unique, and memorable.
Our wedding "weekend" took place this summer and all guests were raving about the setting, the rooms, and the beautiful wedding breakfast we had the next day.
Am so glad we travelled up to have our special day there. We will definately be back for our anniversary.

Room Tip: go for the suites! it's well worth the higher price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bonifachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

Our Mum held her 85th birthday party at the Mudcastle and we had a simply amazing time! When driving through the beautiful Nelson countryside, we had often seen the Mudcastle and were very curious about the place, so we contacted Glenys to make enquiries as to what they could offer. Right from the first moment of contact, Glenys was extremely helpful with suggestions about how to make our Mums party the best party ever! We were interested in incorporating a bit of fun into the evening, so Glenys set up a Murder Mystery evening for us and while we didn’t know what to expect for sure, we were absolutely delighted at how the whole evening went! About 45 of our guests arrived at the Mudcastle at about 6.00pm to a beautifully set up venue. The Murder Mystery show was hilarious and was a huge hit – we haven’t laughed so much in ages. We were treated to a 5 course banquet type dinner and there was a wide variety of wines available. In addition to the desserts in the banquet, we had organised our own gorgeous chocolate Mud Cake, from Chocolate Velvet and that was displayed on its own table. When dinner and the Murder Mystery show was over, we cranked up the juke box and boogied our way to early hours of the morning! Every detail was well thought out and presented right down to the gorgeous table napkin designs Glenys had created in Mums favourite colour, “gold”. Our family (15 of us) stayed the night in the very interesting and individually decorated rooms throughout the castle. The beds were delightfully comfortable and we woke the next morning to a breakfast that you only read about – cereals, fresh fruits, juices, homemade bread, croissants, full English eggs, bacon, mushrooms, sausages and loads of good strong coffee! We can’t thank Glenys and Kevin enough for all the hard work they put in to making our night one of the best nights (and mornings) we have ever had. However, we have one problem now; How on earth do we match or top that occasion for the next special family function?!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CnC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

The Mudcastle is a hidden treasure in Upper Moutere, Nelson. Set in the NZ countryside, The Mudcastle made a magical venue for our wedding. With it's unique 'mud brick' exterior, beautiful grounds and space for 14 to stay it made an ideal base for the bridal party, wedding ceremony and reception. Every room is completely different and in keeping with the castle theme but very NZ. Owners Glenys and Kevin opened their home to our extended family and guests and were fantastic hosts. Highly recommend checking out their website www.themudcastle.co.nz and making a trip yourselves.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwilondon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

We got married at The Mudcastle two weeks ago and we can't stop raving about it!

Living in Australia a lot of the planning was done overseas and Glenys and Kevin were always happy to answer any questions and help us out in any way they could. They made us feel at ease with our planning and when we arrived in NZ two weeks before the wedding the place exceeded our expectations.

We have heard from a few people that this is the best place to get married in NZ and we couldn't agree more. Our day was absolutely magical. It is such a stunning venue in a beautiful location. We couldn't have asked for more.

Thank you so much Glenys and Kevin for helping us make our day so special. I highly recommend The Mudcastle to anyone getting married. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samandjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

We would like to pass on a compliment of excellent service that we had received from the owner/managers of The MudCastle in January 2011.

We organised our whole wedding with the help and expertise from Glenys the owner/manager, while living in Australia. All communications were done via emails and Glenys was more than willing to help us out with any questions we had big or small.

Once we arrive in Nelson we booked a time to go up to the MudCastle to meet the owners and to plan the final details. We found Glenys to be very down to earth and more than willing to help us out with anything. Even finding ways to cut costs.

For us, finding a location where we could have the wedding ceremony, photos in the gardens, a great reception and a place to stay the night was brilliant. We hired the whole venue and booked the rooms that night for the wedding party and a few overseas friends.
The day/night was better than we could of every imagined, but to top it off.. the home made buffet breakfast in the morning for everybody who stayed was awesome! ...put it this way, lunch was not needed that day.

Not only was our wedding day perfect, but Glenys went out of her way to make it all so easy that we did not stress.

We highly recommend The MudCastle's services to anybody wanting an easy going care free event.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KieranJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

From the moment we drove up to the stunning Mudcastle, to the meeting of hosts Kevin & Glenys, and the tour around the unique & individual guest rooms; We knew this was the place for our October wedding reception! The textured outdoor waterfall & rocks were perfect for our photos & the romantic inside was an intimate environment for our 80 guests. The food was a never-ending banquet which catered well to our gluten-free guests. But our highlight was the accomodation, and the breakfast in the morning was more than we could imagine, a perfect ending to our NZ wedding.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatalieLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

This is the most amazing place we stayed in when we visited NZ. Glenys and Kevin are amazing hosts, who have created a unique adobe mud castle, filled with a million interesting and unusual treasures... the perfect setting for a wedding or event, and absolute peace and tranquillity in every direction. Cannot recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Moutere
7.3 mi away
Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation
16.1 mi away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#2 of 23 in Motueka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Almyra Waterfront Lodge
6.9 mi away
Bronte Country Estate
7.8 mi away
Pine Hill Lodge
Pine Hill Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ruby Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mudcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mudcastle

Property: The Mudcastle
Address: 640 Neudorf Road, Upper Moutere, Mapua 7144, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Upper Moutere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Upper Moutere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mudcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A castle in the beautiful Upper Moutere, offering luxurious rooms and delicious breakfasts. Being such an impressive and unique place to stay we have also become a very popular choice as a wedding venue. We take pride in providing friendly hospitality and ensuring that your stay is a very special and memorable one. We know you won't be disappointed. Your hosts, Glenys and Kevin Johnston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mudcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing