We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I enjoyed this visit”

Moutere Hills Vineyard & Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$24
Cuisines: New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, View, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Moutere Hills is a boutique, family owned vineyard, restaurant and winery set in the picturesque Upper Moutere in the South Island of New Zealand. The restaurant is a hidden gem, tucked away in a private rural setting 2km from the Moutere Highway. There is an extensive dine-in menu and a range of stunning Moutere Hills wines, including Pinot Noir, Pinot Gris, Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc, Rose and Riesling. Locally made beer (currently Founders, Dales and Sprig & Fern) is also available on tap.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
698 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“I enjoyed this visit”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Great place, lovely atmosphere , wherever there are vineyards there is a good drop of wine. Good selection of food. Forgot to organise a wine tasting will do so next time

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janr20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    29
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aotearoa New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Location! Awesome Food! Awesome Hosts!”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We run a tour company and we often take our clients to Moutere Hills for meals. The location is magical as you are surrounded by farmland and vineyards. It is warm even in the winter as they have the deck area curtained and gas fires going so its always cosy. Our clients always enjoy themselves there and always comment on the food as being wonderful. The hosts always take time to meet people on a one to one basis and make them feel special. Thank you Lisa and Rust and the staff at Moutere Hills :-)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank exnavy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tekapo
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“the most amazing and delicious finger licking spare ribs I have ever tasted .”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A lovely quiet and relaxing spot among old trees with a great view and indoor out door eating Excellent value for money and an amazing selection of delicious food .It looked fantastic with the autumn leaves and golden vines at this time of year .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H0lidayh0mes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic freshly prepared food at this hidden gem”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Didn't know about this venue until it came up on Grab one. Oh boy were we glad we got a couple of tokens. This place is an absolute gem. We'd booked for Saturday lunch and I had the Beef Wellington - one of the best I've had. We had such a good time and we were still in the area on Sunday so decided to give it another go. Sunday was very busy and we were lucky to get in as we hadn't booked. Our food on Sunday did not disappoint. My husband had the ribs which were delicious.Their Chardonnay was very nice and the pinot noir went very well with the beef. We had fantastic weather and it was amazing to be sitting out in the warm sunshine this late in the year.
As the food is made to order don't go with time constraints. just sit back, enjoy the view, wine, beer and savour the food when it arrives.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dolly070759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mmmm Mm Moutere Hills Cafe”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We tiki-toured our way out to Moutere Hills this morning. Very glad we did. We ordered the house breads and dips, delish. We ordered the Winter Preview of the Cannelloni and the Ribs. My Cannelloni was full of flavour and filled me up. My husband's eyes nearly popped out of his head when the ribs arrived, the best looking ribs we have seen in a long time, juicy, very meaty and tasty too. Only tip here would be to ask for more napkins before you dig into the ribs :o). Our daughter who is two enjoyed the little playground and made a new friend while we were there. After scorching in the Nelson Autumn sun we asked for an umbrella which was promptly provided. A lovely rural setting to enjoy fresh well prepared fare accompanied by lovely Moutere Hills wines and local beer. If you want to be guaranteed a table though, you need to book in advance. Thanks Moutere Hills team, we will be back. PS Nice to see you Cam.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NixieGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moutere Hills Vineyard & Cafe also viewed

Upper Moutere, Mapua
Mapua, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Mapua, Nelson-Tasman Region
Upper Moutere, Mapua
 
Mapua, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Moutere Hills Vineyard & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing