We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“School holiday week”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rufford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Center Parcs Sherwood Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“School holiday week”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just returned from a great week at Sherwood. 2 years since our last trip so reasonably regular. Accommodation was very good with just a few small niggles. Overall site was in great shape, with a few ore cars being left out on site this time to what we remember, not sure why that is as they were not in accessible accommodation, nor did they move during the stay.

Food whilst not value for money was of a better quality to what we remember. We eat out quite a lot. Enjoyed hucks, carvery, delivery etc.

Children's activities seemed to have really changed with many of the tweens activities being dropped. Did not see tennis or cricket coaching either. Our 9 year old seemed to really be just too old for some things and not old enough for many others. This made his trip more tricky this time. Range of activities is very good and worth seeing before booking. We had no problem getting things booked whilst there.

Stayed a week this time which made for a very relaxed trip, would do this again. Housekeeping team were great and very flexible. Given relaxed teenagers this helps.

Aqua sauna was very good, not my usual thing but I would return.

Bought loads, eat well and happy 4 kids

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,037
    2,537
    1,136
    453
    278
See reviews for
6,137
712
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Taking pictures with kids, background was a climbing wall in action challenge area. 2 male staffs screamed "get off the wall" 5x . Kids were so scared and upset. We were in reception and spectator area. Confused why they did that. If we were told nicely it's not allowed, we wouldn't mind. Very bad experience, kids enjoying their holiday till that happened. Thanks

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliffert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz_Center_Parcs, Lead Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Sherwood Forest, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
I would like to apologise for the experience that you encountered from members of our team whilst you were taking pictures of your children. Your post has been shared with the Leisure Services Manager.

Kind regards

Liz Davis
Lead Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Nice & relaxing - good place to get away from it all & just relax - without having to travel too far. Accomodation is clean neat & tidy - Husband disabled & security took him picked him up as a shuttle service which was really helpful

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penmaenmawr
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed here for the first time during main August holidays, which really bumps the price of the holiday up. It was all up to the usual standard, better now with service in the Sports Bar. Everything seemed expensive, but the quality was really good. Some of the older villas are showing signs of wear and tear. Just a really good place to have fun with family and friends. You don't have to do any activities, just the swimming pool and walking around the park is enough. There are loads of play areas and parks. Also a beach for children to play on.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocarupen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Center_Parcs, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Sherwood Forest, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Great review and so glad your first August visit was up to standard and still represents value for money. Here’s to many more fun filled visits in the future.

Regards
Christine Norman
Guiest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Excellent holiday, modern, clean and comfortable facilities. Service fantastic and not too busy, food was very good. My daughter loved the swimming. I would highly recommend Center Parcs Sherwood Forest....Pony grooming and ride was fab!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have just took grandchildren to sherwood center parc ,they loved the swimming and bowling ,not much for senior citizens to do and have to walk everywhere food overpriced and not that good went out of parc to local places to eat, well over priced but it's the school holidays would rather go abroad so would kids

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

First time at a Center Parc - It was a 18th Birthday present for my daughter. She took a friend. They booked all their activities prior to going , so just left them to it. My wife and I pottered around on the bikes enjoying the tennis and golf putting. Our chalet area was very quiet so you could just sit outside and switch off. Comfort Plus chalet was worth having as you get 2 TV's.
Ten pin bowling was excellent, so we went twice. Staff are very friendly and helpful. We pre-booked the bikes - definitely worth doing as this is remarkably good value. ( yes - I have to admit you can let the cost runaway if you are not careful.) Swimming facilities are free and our lodge was spacious and comfortable with a good kitchen. We made use of the excellent Parc Market.
Good and informative nature area at Sherwood
This was different from our normal summer holiday, and yes we would go again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Adrian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rufford
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#17 of 49 in Nottingham
661 reviews
9.4 mi away
Travelodge Worksop
Travelodge Worksop
#1 of 1 in Dukeries Mill
169 reviews
14.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Retford Markham Moor
10.9 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Sherwood Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Sherwood Forest

Property: Center Parcs Sherwood Forest
Address: Sherwood Forest, Rufford NG22 9DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Rufford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Rufford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Sherwood Forest 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3-night minimum when checking in Friday ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Sherwood Forest Hotel Rufford
Center Nottingham Parcs
Centre Parks Nottingham
Center Parcs Sherwood Forest Rufford, UK - Nottinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing