We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful setting and a gorgeous house with a hot...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rufford Park Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Rufford, Nottinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wilsond29
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Needs a bit of love”
Reviewed 11 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The lodge is pleasant but it really is in need of a bit of attention. The garden area could be beautiful but the decking is tired and there were weeds everywhere! The seating is great but the cushions were marked and looked in need of a good wash. The other deckchairs were covered in bird poo- something that could be quickly and easily sorted pre arrival.

There was a problem with the plumbing which left us without a shower but it was resolved quickly and we were grateful for that.

The downstairs bathroom and one of the upstairs ones are again in need of attention, black mound around the edges of both and the exciting steam shower doesn't work.

Even down to the welcome book it was just all a bit scruffy and tired.

Location is great. We were able to walk to Rufford Park and a short journey to Sherwood Forrest.

Sadly we wouldn't return. It's a shame as it could be a great place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2017
Thank you for your comments. The outdoor furniture is rattan style with cream cushions which do mark easily but they are designed for outdoor use and are mostly left outside by guests when the property is occupied. We left the older metal tables and chairs in the courtyard as we were always being asked for more seating, but they are old and the covers are no longer usable so we will be replacing both sets shortly.

There was a problem with a blockage in one of the bathrooms which was fixed during your stay and we always endeavour to carry out repairs to major items immediately rather than between bookings to avoid negative comments and disappointment. We have a program of replacement which is ongoing and have recently had a new flat roof fitted and a new electric shower in the ground floor en-suite, but of course not everything can be brand new all of the time. At the end of the day it is a quirky old stone-built cottage underneath which is part of the appeal for most of our guests and it is a different experience to staying in a new purpose-built hotel for example. There are three showers in all, and one is also a steam cabinet which has recently had a new compressor and is working if operated correctly. All the wet areas naturally get a lot of use and are therefore more likely to show signs of wear and tear. We renew silicon seals at regular intervals but apologise if this was not done in time for your stay.

The decking was painted last year but has not worn as well as anticipated so we intend to strip it back and stain it instead. We agree it doesn't look its best right now and it will be addressed in due course.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah D
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and a gorgeous house with a hot tub!”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time at Ruffed Park Lodge; the setting was absolutely stunning and the house was fantastic. A lovely, spacious house with plenty of seating and a well stocked kitchen falloff plenty of pots and pans.

The courtyard to the property is private and lovely with a great hot tub to enjoy.

I found the owners to be extremely helpful and hospitable when organising the stay, and even the neighbours were lovely; helping us to bring our cases in.

I would certainly recommend this holiday let to anyone looking for a lovely country break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen H
Reach, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Not the luxury we expected for the price. The hot tub and spa bath were luxurious, but the rest was ordinary. The beds were adequate but no more, and the place was a bit tired. No lock on toilet door, no chain on sink plug, the odd light bulb gone, no decent mirror in one bathroom and so on. Nothing serious, but not satisfactory at this price.
The heating was excellent.
The accommodation was barely enough for 10, for example there were sofas for 8 plus two bean bags. There was only a half size dishwasher.
Kitchen equipment was limited and not entirely clean.
House rules included instructions to clean the toilets and vacuuming dog hairs before leaving and not to annoy the neighbours by parking in the wrong place or using the hot tub outside certain hours.
Dogs were supposedly allowed but the rules allowed then in the kitchen and dining room only, so they could not be in the sitting room with the family.
On our return our damage deposit was withheld because of alleged damage, which had in fact pre-existed before our arrival. We eventually received it in full, but Holiday Lettings after sales service was very poor. We would recommend careful inspection of the whole house with the agent on arrival and departure to avoid similar experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and hot tub
Liked least: after sales service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Thank you for your comments which we take on board.

The accommodation is arranged to suit a variety of groups and bookings and we state that it is suitable for up to ten people. There are sufficient beds for ten people plus a travel cot for an infant. There are ten chairs in the dining room, ten all weather seats and eight folding chairs in the courtyard plus eight seats in the living room, two bean bags and some tub chairs, all of which should be more than enough for ten people. Like any other property we do not advise everyone using the same room at the same time, but you can use dining room chairs in the living room if you want to. The dishwasher was chosen specifically as it has a ten place setting capacity and there is a large butler style sink for larger items. There is also a washing machine, tumble dryer, a full height fridge and a separate full height freezer, which is much more than we are required to provide. There are mirrors in all the bathrooms including a shaving mirror in the en-suite and a large mirror in the w/c, plus large mirror cabinets in both upstairs bathrooms and swivel mirrors in all the bedrooms.

We are pet friendly but of course one or two dogs will also take up space. We ask our guests to kindly restrict their pets to the ground floor and point out that the kitchen and dining room floors are tiled and therefore more easily cleaned. Our T&C’s are standard and common sense - we do not insist that pets are excluded from the living room but is at your own risk due to the wood burning stove; nor do we ask our guests to vacuum after them – that is not what we mean when we ask you to clean up any mess.

There is a lock on all the toilet doors and if any had been reported faulty they would have been fixed. Likewise, the return of the security deposit was only delayed because some damage was discovered that also had not been reported to us at the time of check in (another of our common sense T&C’s) and we are obliged to follow a procedure set out by Holidaylettings. For the record we returned it in full in good faith.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Potentially fabulous but.....”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

A fantastic location and basically a great property. Sadly a number of BUTS to follow:

A leak in the hot tub led to a very frustrating week of filling v temperature control. The caretaker was aware before the end of the week, disappointing to have received no further contact re this key feature.

The property sleeps 10; the kitchen is not equipped for 10. A half size dishwasher and only one large saucepan. A couple of the smaller pans were in an embarrassing condition. Fridge, freezer and laundry facilities excellent.

The lounge suite is leather with footrests and obviously not cheap but my goodness how uncomfortable.

Sorry to criticise but this is a top price property that did not deliver to its full potential.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and potentially the outdoor hot tub
Liked least: Kitchen equipment and lounge furniture
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2016
Thank you for your feedback.

We respond to all reported issues at the earliest opportunity and appreciate the hot tub is a key feature. The leak was investigated and fixed straight away. As you can appreciate, if we had carried out a repair during your stay the tub would have been completely out of action for a period of time.

The dishwasher takes ten place settings and we provide more pans and utensils than is recommended. However, sometimes guests leave pans they have brought with them and we apologise if any were not in an appropriate condition. We will endeavour to dispose of anything we find that does not belong there and replace anything substandard. We do however recommend that you bring any pans you may be relying on if you are planning to cook a particular meal during your stay, as we simply cannot provide every type and size.

We have not previously had any complaints about the leather suite but will ask the property manager to investigate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing