We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”
Review of Sundvolden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sundvolden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Krokkleiva
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed here overnight for a conference which was organised at the hotel. The scenery in the surrounding area is very beautiful, and it is very easy to get to from Oslo. I took a bus there from the city centre. I didn't do much exploring in the surrounding area, which I think is really the main point of staying here. The scenery looked beautiful though. I was happy with my room. It had everything I needed. Most importantly a comfortable bed. The conference facilities were excellent and very well organised. The food we were served was delicious. Definitely a good place to have a conference. I can also imagine it's nice to stay there as a tourist.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CecilieLaeskogen, General Manager at Sundvolden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Humble to get this great review, this is just how we want our guests to experience us. Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

+
Excellent Food and beverages
Friendly staff
Nice rooms (stayed in the New section)
A Place With a history to tell
Management was present and really cared
Knowledgable staff
Nice location

-
Disappointing duvet

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CecilieLaeskogen, Daglig leder at Sundvolden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you so very much for Your Nice respons! Makes us proud that you find that the hotel delivers. Hope to see you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This hotel have been in business for 350 years. It's managed by a very friendly family which ensures homely and personal service, home cooked food and a great atmosphere. The meals are all great, and in between renowned and expected dishes you find homemade treasuries. As the hotel houses many conferences, the bar is sometimes a bit too noicy, but this was no problem last time I visited. The hotel is beautifully situated close to Tyrifjorden below the Krokskogen forrest. There are hangliders circulating over the hotel during the summer.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Lars L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CecilieLaeskogen, Daglig leder at Sundvolden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you so very much for Your warming and generous respons. Hope to see you back With us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

If you want to have a superb meal don't hesitate to visit Sundvolden.This was very good!
But if you order a room, as we did, from saturday to sunday,you are not guarantied to get value for money.We stayed in the old part as it was close to the place we had our meal.The room was very nice and comfy,but the load music went on until about 02.30 in the morning.In spite of calling the reception two times no reaction!Obviously they do not care about the people who has paid for a nights sleep,and want it.Nearly 01.30 in the night we where offered to change the room.
To go up start dressing,packing our bags and toilet gear was a challenge we did not accept!
When we checked in the receptionist could have warned us of possibility for load music!
The breakfast same morning was outstanding,but before you had everything on your plate ,including tea/coffe things where almost cold.If you search,you will find whatever you like,but it takes a lot of time,as the breakfast buffet consists of a lot of "islands" with different kind of food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you have possibility to sleep without being bothered with load music all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lemon_tree637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CecilieLaeskogen, Daglig leder at Sundvolden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for Your respons. We are indeed proud of Our Chefs who makes such wonderful Food for Our guests. Sorry to hear you were disturbed during the night. The Music and noice from the bar can be heard in the rooms just above this area when there is a loud party going on. We hope to see you in the future, then we will give you a quiet room, far away from the bar and restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The lunch is relatively good at Sundvolden with the choice of sashimi, salads, fish, meat etc, but the breakfast was disapointing. Most of the cold dishes at breakfast smelled of refrigerator and tasted kind of sour.
The bar was nice and served some delicious locally brewed beer but the draft beer was the cheap Hansa.

Room Tip: You might want to look for an alternative hotel nearby at half the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CecilieLaeskogen, Daglig leder at Sundvolden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2015

Thank you for Your response. I am sorry you had a bad experience with the breakfast. I expect you mean it is the beer that is expensive but we usually compare ourselves with our competitors when we set our prices. Hope to see you back for a better experience in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I was not expecting to see a hotel with that much life after driving more than an hour from the airport. Rooms are ok size. meeting facilities fine and the view with snowy mountains is beautiful.

Service could be a bit better, but the food is ok. There are many versions of really good salmon.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank MikkelTorsting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CecilieLaeskogen, Daglig leder at Sundvolden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

I`m sorry to hear Your response on the breakfast buffet, this is far from Our standard and something that we take very seriously. I hope you will give us another chance to show that we can do better. As you can read here on Tripadvisor, most of Our guests are fortunately happy With Our Food. Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

A nice mixture of new and old in this country side hotel. A great part of the hotel is either new or renovated and in quite good shape. Also, I think it is a good thing that you still can find a hotel that is not part of a big chain, but stand on its own feet.


I think Sundvolden is primarily a conference hotel, with the odd tourist dropping in now and then. I was on a conference myself, and it was functional with the exception of poor service (as in lack of). We were more or less left completely to ourselves.


Apart from that, the rest was just fine, good service all over the place, and exceptionally good food and lots of choices in the buffet. In fact, I will give the dessert dept. full score - it was superb! You really need to watch out if you are a weight watcher.

A basic swimming pool and an outside tub situated so far away from the wardrobe and pool, that most didn’t bother. In fact, at times it could almost be a bit hard to find your way around the hotel from time to time, since it reminded me of a maze.

All in all, we were quite satisfied and not a lot on the negative side. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leon_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CecilieLaeskogen, Manager at Sundvolden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you so very much for your thorough respons. It makes a great tool for us when we work on the Product and plan for the future. We hope within av couple of years to be able to offer Our guests a great experience when it comes to the relaxation, swimming and spa areas, we are very aware of the obstacles you experienced here. We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future, and thank you again for taking the time to admitting the respons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Krokkleiva
1.1 mi away
Kleivstua Hotel
Kleivstua Hotel
#1 of 2 in Krokkleiva
139 reviews
7.3 mi away
Klaekken Hotell
Klaekken Hotell
#1 of 2 in Honefoss
117 reviews
14 mi away
Scandic Holmenkollen Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Soria Moria Hotel
Soria Moria Hotel
#30 of 102 in Oslo
214 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Sundvolden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundvolden Hotel

Address: Dronningveien 2 | Krokkleiva, Krokkleiva 3531, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Hole Municipality > Krokkleiva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Krokkleiva
Price Range: £95 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sundvolden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel that is both historic and modern- Sundvolden contains the best of both worlds and is known for great, Norwegian Cooking, top notch meeting facilities and comfortable and spacious rooms. We aim to host both your weeding and your most demanding kick-off. We can also host your perfect romantic stay, with spa treatments, gorgeous meals and champagne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sundvolden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing