We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Cafe in Lancut Castle Gardens”
Review of Lancut Castle

Lancut Castle
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Lancut
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Magnificent example of an early baroque aristocratic residence was refurbished in the late 18th century to become a lavish artistic salon, which played host to such famous guests as Louis XIII of France and Emperor Franz Jozef of Austria.
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hidden Cafe in Lancut Castle Gardens”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

From Rzeszow, 4plz will take you to Lancut by bus. There you will find Lancut Castle, one of Polands best preserved stately homes. The day we arrived the castle was closed but the grounds and gardens were open and free to enter. In the gardens was a greenhouse and in the centre of the greenhouse was a hidden cafe (The Orchid House Café). A most delightful place to rest and refresh. Well worth searching out for a cake and coffee.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Slavnist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    57
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Better than Wawel Castle in Krakow”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Lancut castle is truly a hidden gem! It requires travel to the Rzezsow area about 2 hours east of Krakow on the E 40. Tickets cost about 1/3 of what you pay in Krakow for Wawel castle. There is much more to see in Lancut as all of the rooms are beautifully furnished. The crowning glory is the beautiful inlaid wood floors. There are more than 20 intricate designs to be seen in the many rooms of the castle. There is also a very good restaurant with really excellent prepared food at ridiculously low prices. A good sized helping of smoked salmon served over a crispy potato pancake with salad cost $6! A half liter beer is $1.60.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure ”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I've been to a lot of places and I must say this must be the nicest palace I've seen. Even my teenagers liked it. Our guide was really great. Knew a lot about the place. The carriage museum was spectacular! One of the best in the world. Go visit. You will not regret.

Helpful?
Thank Irene121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lancut castle: vanished world of Polish nobility”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

It is one of the most beautiful aristocratic residences in Poland, sometimes called the Potocki Palace, since that family lived here for a few generations.

The palace was built in 1628–1641 by Stanisław Lubomirski, and rebuilt in 1894–1903 in the style of French Neo-baroque. It is famous for its excellent interiors, orangery, and extraordinarily interesting collection of horse-drawn carriages.

The palace complex is surrounded by an old and picturesque park in the English style filled with pavilions and farm buildings, all part of the former daily life of the castle.

Our longer article about Lancut castle: http://polishorigins.com/document/lancut

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PolishOrigins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Impressive castle”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is one of the best castles I have ever been to. Maybe not the most beautifull, but it is preserved very well and you feel as if you are back to centuries ago.
In winter it is normally closed but you can book a visit for a group of people in advance by email, such as we did. Due to that reason we visited only half of the rooms, as they were closed for rennovation and cleaning. But do not hesitate to go there even in winter, you will find lots of interesting despite that.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Henhouse_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lancut Castle also viewed

Rzeszow, Subcarpathian Province
Lancut, Subcarpathian Province
 
Lancut, Subcarpathian Province
Rzeszow, Subcarpathian Province
 

Been to Lancut Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing