We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, stylish home”
other travellers have booked this property
Our pool by night!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our pool by night!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Our pool by night!
Bistro area next to the pool...
Our beautiful bespoke kitchen is unbelievably well equipped!
Front room leading directly onto the cobbled courtyard.
King size bed in bedroom 2
Main bedroom with en suite bathroom and doors leading to the patio.
Comfort in the master bedroom, plump pillows ready to dive into!
En suite bathroom.
Main bathroom.
Bunk beds in bedroom 3 - Plenty to keep the children busy - games room, board games, swing etc..
Balcony, with bistro table. Perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine!
View from the balcony, across the courtyard, village, and towards to mountains....
The pretty well stocked courtyard, from our lounge space!
Across the courtyard is our barn; shelter from the midday sun & a BBQ, games and utility rooms too!
Our games room...
Sao Gemil river beach  - spend a day here - great restaurant and café too!
Praia Fluvial de Avo, taken from the castle ruins, in Oliveira do Hospital - historic & lovely town!
At Vimieiro river beach where you will find an excellent restaurant and bar.
Old Coimbra - great cafes, winding streets, the historic university, and plenty of atmosphere!
Dining alfresco at the Coimbra Forum looking out over the stunning University City.
The Bussaco Palace and ancient forest nearby.
Mortagua Town hall and our stunning main square - the venue for our huge 5 day Festa in August.
Fantastic art installation in Agueda between June - Sept - well worth a visit!
The Ecopiste cycle path in Santa Comba Dao; great river beaches for a refreshing swim along the way!
Picnic and swim at one of the river beaches along the Ecopista cycle track!
Atmospheric Serra D'Estrela mountain range - highest in Portugal!
The Dam - beautiful stopping off point as you travel up to the Tor on the Serra D'Estrela mountains!
Ski on the Tor at the top of the Serra D'Estrela mountains in the Spring! 50 minutes drive away
Pretty Penacova - great views from the top of the hill!
Panoramic views up at the windmills in Penacova.
Kyak down the river Mondego, from Penacova - a different (and cool!) way to enjoy the views!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mortagua, Viseu District, Northern Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
helenpw
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, stylish home”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

A beautifully restored old house in a blissfully peaceful setting. The scent of the pine and eucalyptus trees was our first impression - and the quiet... Yet the hamlet is alive with villagers tending their vines and there is the feeling of being part of the hamlet. Although keeping all the charm of an old country house, inside it is perfect and has everything you need. In mid-October we didn't need to fire up the lovely wood-stove, but felt cosy in the evenings. After days out, we stayed in and cooked most evenings, and had everything we needed.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Stylish-ness!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2013
I am so pleased that you had such a good stay at the house - the village is always bustling with winter preparations at this time of year, and the weather still good enough to do plenty of sight seeing. Thank you for the lovely review - we hope to see you again! Marta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveviews...
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely fabulous - home from home. Perfect family destination!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We had a fabulous two week stay this summer with my husband and two sons (aged 9 &13). The house was very well kitted out, especially the kitchen. The house is in a lovely rural location, with wonderful aromas of the eucalyptus trees.

The owner was extremely helpful with advice on activities to do with the family and there are plenty of brochures, books and phrase books at the house to help plan your stay. She even arranged freshly baked rolls to be delivered each day! The pool table and plunge pool was a big hit with our boys.

The location of the property was perfect for visiting this part of Portugal, with the white sandy beaches being about 1 - 1.5 hours drive; the wonderful Roman Ruins at Conimbriga; a canal boat trip at Averio - great shopping here too! There is a cycle route about 15km away on an old railway line which connects Viseu with Santa Combo Dao.

A great location for a family holiday were you can either chill in the peaceful surroundings at the house or be out and about visiting the sites of central Portugal.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2013
It sounds like you got to do some of the things that our family love to do in the area too - thank you for the additional information about the cycle path/bike hire which we now look forward to exploring ourselves later this summer! Thank you for the great review - you would all be most welcome to use the house again any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen W
Penzance
1 review
“Excellent property and ideal getaway”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 for a stay in November 2012

We spent just under 2 weeks in Casa do LImao with our 1 year old son in November and had a simply magical time. The house came equipped with everything you could possibly need or want, all very tastefully done and with quality finish. It felt like a home, rather than a house, which for our family was perfect. We cooked wonderful food from local markets, our little one practised walking in the yard and garden and we generally got the peace and down time we needed. We also appreciated the fact that there is a bath as well as a shower - such a nice addition to a holiday home.
The village is very simple, with only houses and their market gardens, and so you'll need a car to access shops and cafés, but that makes for a truly relaxing holiday.
There were many pamphlets, guidebooks and suggestions on where to visit locally and not so locally, so we filled our time with some great forays too. We also went for daily walks in the surrounding forest, collecting fir cones for the wood burner,
All in all, it was just what the doctor ordered. Escaping the rat race with all mod cons. Perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The quality homeliness of the property
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2013
Just the way we love to use the house too - though things are considerable more active in the summer! Thank you for your lovely review, and do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, Scotland
Reviewed 1 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Jan 2013
Thank you for endorsing what we feel about this lovely and undiscovered part of Portugal! We really appreciate your positive feedback, and hope that you will come again!

Marta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful area and modern amenities of the house.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Aug 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you are very welcome back any time!

Marta.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FransvT
North Brabant Province, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Dear Frans,

You were a fantastic guest and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Thanks so much for your positive feedback and for taking the time to leave Casa do Limao a review!

Kindest regards!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
I wish my French was good enough to write my response to your lovely review in your native language Sylvie and Thierry! We couldn't be more pleased that you had such a great stay and would be delighted to welcome you and your family back to Casa do Limao in the future - if you think there might be anything in Portugal that you missed during your veritable road trip! Thank you so much once again, for being great guests! Marta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;