We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely family holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Peace, Beauty and Tranquility
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Peace, Beauty and Tranquility
Courtyard looking at Main building Outside raised Deck overlooking courtyard and Garden area, and Valleys
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Peace, Beauty and Tranquility
Courtyard looking at Main building
Outside raised Deck overlooking courtyard and Garden area, and Valleys
BBQ
Lounge and Dining Area
Lounge and Dining Area
Kitchen and Breakfast area
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bathroom with Shower
Bathroom with Shower
Kitchen and Breakfast area
Beautiful new infinity pool now included in this property..
The garden at back of swimming pool.
The view is a must to see.
Pool by night perfect to relax and watch the stars with a nice glass of local wine.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Mortagua, Viseu District, Northern Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Steve S
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely family holiday ”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had an lovely family holiday here this summer. The villa is great and was more then enough room for our family of two adults and two teenagers. The villa is more like a home from home with all the accessories and appliances you need. The pool is amazing and has great views of the eucalyptus trees and mountains. The villa is a bit secluded so would definitely recommend a car to get about. There is not much to do in the immediate vicinity but lots to do within a short drive. Would definitely recommend visiting Luso, Aveiro and the marina at the Montebelo agueira hotel and spa where you can hire jet skis, kayaks and lots of other water sports. The owners Maggie and Chris are also very nice and on hand if needed for any reason, we even had a lovely night out with them at a restaurant they recommended. In summary we had a great holiday and would definitely consider coming back in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
Aaw thank you so much for such a complimentary review. I always aim to do my best for my guests and feel delighted you all enjoyed yourselves. You and your family were delightful and we really enjoyed your company. We would welcome you back anytime in the future. Once again thank you...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jul 2017
Thank you Ian and Anne for your very complimentary feedback on your stay at my property. I am delighted that you both had a great time. As you say, there are many, many places of interest in and around the area and it's a shame you only got to see a few of them. It's a good reason to return and you will of course be greeted with the same warm welcome. Once again thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Nov 2016
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. There is now another restaurant opened 5 minutes away and I am sure you will love to sample its food on your return. I look forward to welcoming you back next year and once again it was a pleasure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
peterA738...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Really nice villa, pool was really nice, there are three restaurants and a bar close by we didnt use any of them so cannot comment on them. There is a Intermarche five mins down the road and a Lidle about 25 mins away (Lidle had far more than the Intermarche). There is a local village with bars cafes and a couple of gift shops. We spent much of the time sat by the pool, we did go to to the beach one day at figueira da foz, which was well worth the visit. We had driven from the UK stopping at France and Spain on the way to and from Portugal. If it had not been for all the driving to get there, we would have explored the area a bit more, Lisbon is only an hour or so away. Maggie the owner was really helpful, she provided basic provisions, there is internet and UK TV at the villa. Everyone we spoke to locally was very friendly . The villa is situated in quite high up which gives it fantastic views from the infinity pool and garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Apart from the restaurant and bar, realistically you need to drive places.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review of your stay at Casa de vista de Montanha. I am so glad you all enjoyed you stay. It is a shame. You never. Made it to the restaurants. Maybe if you return you can perhaps visit them . Yes, the local people are more than friendly and will always help where they can. Once again thank you and hope to welcome you back next year..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLondon35
1 review
“Serene and peaceful”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What an incredible holiday home! Location was incredible, the view into the valley is the amazing!
Incredible infinitey pool to compliment.
Whether you wanted few drinks in the local bar or by the poolside while you BBQ'd in the courtyard this place catered for many things.
No nearby neighbours allowed for the Sonos sound units around the pool and deck to be sufficiently cranked up for perfect summer chill.
The main accommodation is also very beautifully decorated, spacious and cool (when needed). Great kitchen area fit for cooking for 8-10 people easy. (More if you make use of the big BBQ area!)
Such a great lounge area inside the house with fire, lots of sofa space and fine dining area.
Would (and already have) recommend to friends and family.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your holiday at Casa de Vista. De Montanah and that all the advertisement of this property was up to expectation. I look forward to your return holiday here as you mentioned when leaving. Once again thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine339
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We spent two weeks at Casa de Vista de Montahna with friends in August and had a very relaxing holiday there. The views at the back are amazing and the house is very well equipped and was clean and tidy. The pool and beach were not that impressive but I understand a real pool is being installed soon and then the place will be lovely. There is a bar and restaurants within walking distance and the nearby town of Mortagua has everything you need. The lovely town of Luso is also quite near but this is a mountainous region and I found the trip there a bit scary (but I was in the minority, my companions are made of sterner stuff).

There is a bus stop opposite but we couldn't find any details about times and didn't actually see any buses so I think a car is necessary if you want to get out and about. The Tourist Information centre in Mortagua is hidden at the back of the town in the theatre and only had leaflets in Portuguese so do your homework before you go. The lady there was helpful though. Mortagua has a public swimming pool and tennis courts but you need your own rackets.

If you visit Coimbra, it is closed on a Monday! No tourist buses or river cruises run on Mondays and the museums are closed. The shops and restaurants are all open though.

Celso, the keyholder, was very helpful and makes a fantastic red wine which he is very generous with. Maggie is also contactable if you need her.

The area is a good base for visits to cities and the beach and travelling on the toll roads is easy. This part of Portugal is not overpopulated and its not very touristy so prices are very reasonable and nowhere was crowded (although maybe Coimbra is if you don't go on a Monday!). Our Portuguese translator app on my phone got a lot of use. If you are interested in port and like a nice restaurant view go to Grahams port house in Porto.

All in all we had a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2014
Thank you very much for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay. Apologies about the pool. The pool attendant had been taken ill prior to your arrival and I had no knowledge of it but was very glad to hear the problem was rectified swiftly. It is a beautiful part of Portugal. The bus service runs just 4 times a day from the top of my road but is enough if you wanted to go into town for the morning or the afternoon. My in ground swimming pool is being dug out and built starting in January so should you wish to return next year it will be all set and landscaped. Photos will be advertised on here as soon as it is ready, hopefully by end of March. Once again I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and will welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter a
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonder property and a fantastic part of portugal”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Booking was great, the key holder was friendly and a very nice person. The property was as discribed a lovely three bed complex, two in the main house, a further one in a separate building, the property was very well maintained and had every facility you could ask for.

the area was lovely with great views of the mountains from the patio. the journey was a easy drive from porto, there was though great connections to other places you may wish to visit and lots of opportunities to walk, cannoe etc as well as enjoy the local food and drink.

I can only say we had a fantastic holiday and are looking forward to booking the next to explore more of this lovely area

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the property was lovely and so was the area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2014
Thank you very much for such a lovely review. It is always nice to hear how other people look at my property. The house IS in a fabulous location and your right there are lots of walks canoeing horse riding etc to do as well as relaxing on one of the many beaches. There is much prospect of exploring this beautiful part of Portugal and I look forward to welcoming you back at your convenience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing