We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small country hotel. Good price / quality relation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Severino Jose
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tondela
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice small country hotel. Good price / quality relation”
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Good country hotel, clean, cheap and with a very good quality for price ratio. Average breakfast and overall service, but with a good swimming pool for hot summer days.
Near Caramulo and Viseu if you want to explore this side of the country.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiago_ribeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    36
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
14
1
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Figueira da Foz, Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

The staff was very friendly which is a very important fact for me.
The room was nice with balcony and bathroom with bath tub.
Finally the breakfast buffet offered ham, prosunto, different types of cheeses, fruits, joghurt, jams, and more ...
We originally wanted to have dinner there but the restaurant was closed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdoppler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

i had an enjoyable 4 nights in this hotel, Ok, it did not have a restaurant, there were not many other guests, but the other restaurants in the town also were lacking customers.
Although I was here on business the beauty of the surrounding area was outstanding, and cannot understand why there are not more tourists in the area.
This hotel offers excellent value for money, the amenities are not there, the breakfast, although continental is more than adequate.
The staff were always courteous and helpful, and I enjoyed my stay here, at the end of the day
you only actually need somewhere to sleep and freshen up. My room was spotlessly clean as were all the communal areas, I cannot fault this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
algarve
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We choose this hotel because it was close to the location we were interested in (walking in the Serra da Caramulo) and because of the reviews and also the fact that nearly everywhere else we tried to book was not open yet. So it was not our first choice and this review reflects that. The biggest problem was that we arrived on a Sunday night, there were hardly any guests and there was nowhere to eat in the hotel or according to the receptionist, in the town. We rattled around the empty hotel, the empty bar and lounge, and the dark corridors. The second night was better as there were more guests. It is probably a fine choice for anyone travelling on business, but we were looking for something more relaxing. The room was big, with a view over the pool but very dated and the carpet definitely needed renewing. Breakfast was a standard continental breakfast. The staff were excellent however and always helpful and friendly. Tondela itself has little to offer the visitor but the Serra de Caramula which is only about 20 minutes away is fantastic. If you are interested in walking, there are some good routes online and in the tourist office.

Room Tip: The room we had overlooked the pool and at this time of the year was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tondela
6.2 mi away
Caramulo Congress Hotel & SPA
13.3 mi away
Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa
14.0 mi away
Hotel Durao
Hotel Durao
#5 of 13 in Viseu
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hotel Urgeirica
Hotel Urgeirica
#1 of 3 in Canas de Senhorim
101 reviews
12.9 mi away
Montebelo Viseu Congress Hotel
11.5 mi away
Hotel Pantanha Apartamentos
Hotel Pantanha Apartamentos
#3 of 3 in Canas de Senhorim
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Severino Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Severino Jose

Property: Hotel Severino Jose
Address: Avenida Doutor Francisco Sa Carneiro, Tondela 3460-523, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Tondela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tondela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Severino Jose 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel Severino Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing