We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Do!!”
Review of Sibu Chocolate

Sibu Chocolate
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: On a private tour and tasting at Sibú Chocolate, guests embark on a fascinating journey through the history of cacao, from its origins as a sacred food of the gods in Costa Rica to its use as a regional currency up to the 19th Century. You will discover how Europe transformed chocolate into the bars and bonbons we all enjoy today and witness the rebirth of chocolate as an artisan treat, packed with antioxidants.Sibú Chocolate’s signature dark chocolate is made solely with premium, locally sourced organic cacao beans and organic sugar. DuringThe Single-Origin Organic Chocolate Experience at Sibúthe visit, you will savor gourmet truffles, caramel and pure dark chocolate tasting squares accompanied by spirited discussion about cacao genetics, terroir and the future of fine flavor chocolate. Visitors will also learn about how cacao is grown, the indigenous cosmology surrounding it, and the social and environmental importance of the cacao crop to Costa Rica and the region.Join local artisans tempering chocolate on a marble slab and decorating bonbons by hand at a small workshop set just on the edge of the cloud forests of Braulio Carrillo National Park. Overlooking the mountains of Costa Rica’s Central Valley, the workshop is a cool and tranquil place from which all SIBÚ confections and bars are made with care. The Owners and Master Chocolatiers, Julio Fernandez and George Soriano, welcome their guests and share how to taste the nuances in chocolate by using all the senses.Stay and enjoy a delicious lunch prepared with fresh, seasonal ingredients and inspired by local cuisine including such delicacies as Hibiscus flower iced tea with a touch of fresh ginger and corn bread cake a la mode with luscious SIBÚ chocolate sauce.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must Do!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I loved this!! Julio and George have created the perfect place. We arrived at 11am and didnt depart until 3!! After a delicious tasting with the most fascinating explanation of the history of chocolate and mission of the Sibu vision, we decided to stay for, what turned out to be, an amazing lunch. Seriously well worth the hunt!! Will definitely return!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harveydebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsoriano_costarica, Owner at Sibu Chocolate, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thanks so much! We will be looking forward to seeing you again soon. Cheers, George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    11
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Situated in the hills leading to the Braullio Carillio, the Sibu chocolate factory is a little piece of heaven in the tropical paradise of Costa Rica's rainforest and cloud forest. The two founders of this factory, specialized in organic boutique chocolates of all sorts, are very nice and their explanation of their philosophy behind setting this business up as well as their knowledge of the chocolate making history made our visit so interesting. The various chocolates they had us tast was intriguing and as well as truffles, we tried their plain and also stuffed chocolates. The visit which was under the usual 2 o clock rain shower started with a sip of hot chocolate, it was then followed by the origins of hot chocolate and a realization of the first recipe ( not to everybody's taste), the history lesson continued, far from being told in a monotonous way, the Historian of the duo, was very able with words and made us laugh more than once!! Then the duo went on to explain the story behind each if the chocolate we sampled and this was a great way to spend the afternoon! We then were offered a cup of the local coffee, As usual brewed through what looks like a sock, but it is a local coffee rich in taste. What is also nice of the pair is to offer freshly baked cookies with the coffee obviously made with the Sibu dark chocolate.
There is a small shop with local and organic products as well as the coffee and the chocolates wrapped up in boxes made with the cocoa husks !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claireybriain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsoriano_costarica, Owner at Sibu Chocolate, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Wow! What a nice review. Thanks so much. So glad you enjoyed your visit with us. Cheers, George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Fascinating and delicious overview of the history of chocolate.”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Julio is a fabulous story teller, bringing each stage in the fascinating history of chocolate to life with humor and delicious samples.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LucyKBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsoriano_costarica, Owner at Sibu Chocolate, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thanks so much for writing. Julio and I can talk chocolate for weeks at a time. So nice when people enjoy the experience. Cheers, George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best cup of hot chocolate!!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This jewel it is only a short distance from San Jose, but it is a totally differet world away, quiet, peaceful and with many birds and flowers, and you can sense the fresh air of the mountains. While you are seated in a open air area where you can admire the gardens, the aroma of the kitchen makes you dream of what surprises you are about to taste. I had a cup of one of the must amazing hot chocolate I have ever tasted. This is an organic and sustainable place. Take the tour and don't forget to buy some chocolate boxes!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebe1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsoriano_costarica, Owner at Sibu Chocolate, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
So glad you enjoyed our place! We love our garden and location here in the mountains. If you ever want to escape the city, we are also open as a cafe for lunch and desserts in the afternoons. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Best Chocolate Ever!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

RockportBirder

Rockport



Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews

Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities

7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes


“Excellent History and Tasting of Chocolate”


5 of 5 stars
Reviewed 8 February 2013
Just a $23 taxi ride from the far side of San Jose. In a lovely garden setting.
Greeted with a cup of amazing hot chocolate. George and Julio provided an entertaining talk and tour of their artisan chocolate factory,
They are passionate about their chocolate, and the tasting took us from a roasted cocoa bean to mouth-watering chocolates.
We had a very delicious elegant lunch as well.
Highly recommended for a great time!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsoriano_costarica, Owner at Sibu Chocolate, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thanks so much for writing about us. It means a lot coming from a seasoned traveler like yourself. Hope you can make it back to see us sometime soon. Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sibu Chocolate also viewed

San Isidro, Province of Heredia
Vara Blanca, Province of Alajuela
 
Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Sibu Chocolate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing