We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's more than a bridge”
Review of Pegasus Bridge

Pegasus Bridge
Book In Advance
More Info
US$68.35*
and up
Half-Day Tour to British D-Day Beaches Including the Sword Beach Sector from...
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Ranville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A recreation of the original bridge captured by the British from the Nazis towards the end of World War II, located on the grounds of the Pegasus Memorial.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's more than a bridge”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Pegasus Bridge, which spans the Caen Canal, is a vital part of the history of D Day, and the Normany landings. Now replaced by a replica, the original structure can still be seen, close by, at an excellent museum, devoted to the bridge and the events of 1944. A wide range of artifacts, including a reconstructed Horsa glider, and a fascinating, constantly running, film tell the story. Poignant and thought provoking - especially if coupled with a trip to the nearby beaches. ("Gold", "Juno" and "Sword" are within especially easy reach) It was good to see parties of school children, at the museum, learning about this important story - but the noise was phenomenal! It you want to absorb the exhibits, in an atmosphere of quiet contemplation, avoid term time!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    176
    23
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West bromwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very poorly organised”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

What a great event and incredible courage shown by all involved. Museum tries to cover all aspects. Shame the staff are of much less calibre. I met the curator and he sets a very low standard. This was reflected in the way the staff treated visitors. I watched and was amazed to see several British visitors leaving after being treated very rudely. I was stunned. He would never get a job working for anyone I know. Despite this the staff don't have to do much as the artefacts do all the work. Lads, we're proud of you and you and much better than the idiots manning the museum.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Para12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
499 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Extremely evocative place!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We visited on the 10th June, shortly after the 70th anniversary celebrations and the area was still packed with tourists and classic army vehicles. When viewed together with the Museum just down the road and the Cafe Gondree it paints a picture of the events of 1944.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank perle369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
579 reviews
212 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Totally agree with earlier reviewer Sprice-8888. Just marvel at what a small group of ordinary men
achieved in the face of incredible odds. Imagine how the Gondree's felt one minute far from war and death the next minute in the centre of a full scale invasion. Would they die, would the Germans return, would all that they had lived for be destroyed. Walk the area visit the excellent museum, have a cup of tea in the cafe and quietly remember and give thanks.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank eonaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Breathtaking.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

The museum is fantastic. Everything is so well researched and detailed. I study history at university so went to the museum knowing a lot about the bridge and the landings however I felt I could still learn more. It's also good for people who know nothing about it as it goes through what happened simply. The video that plays in the centre of the museum is good with footage I have never seen before. There is so much information so make sure not to miss any of it and put aside a few hours for your visit. Well worth it. It's nice to know that it will never be forgotten.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlisonCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pegasus Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Pegasus Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing