We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
27
18
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
18
4
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We booked this hotel online, 2 days in advance of our stay. The owner emailed us to say that he would not be there to look after us but that his parents would welcome. His father made us very welcome and offered us coffee on arrival which we accepted. The room was fine, cold floor but there was a portable heater as the central heating was off (January). We spoke little Spanish and the father spoke a little English. We had looked at the standard "dish of the day menu" and saw that wild boar, pork loin and lamb were among the main dishes, and the usual half bottle of wine was included. We were booked in on half-board and looked forward to a lovely meal after a long day's walking. The soup was hearty, the salad was a little above average, the main meal consisted simply of 2 sausages each, after which the dessert was quickly brought. We were the only guests and the father and grand children seemed to eat a similar meal to ourselves. We weren't hungry so left it at that and looked forward to a satisfying breakfast. BUT breakfast was simply 6 slices of baguette between us and 3 slices of cake. I had to ask for fruit juice.

What was the real sting in the tail was that we were charged the half-board rate PLUS E2.80 for the coffees and E8 for the wine! AND when checking out, lo and behold, a local was tucking into a sausage bap at the bar!!

Our Spanish was not good enough to complain but we will certainly not recommend it food-wise if you are thinking of doing anything requiring nutrition. A definite thumbs down!!

Room tip: The double room at the back had a wonderful view from the balcony
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAFAEL G, Propietario at Pension El Pirineo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Hello, first of all, I am sorry you were not happy. I have to tell that although the central heating was off, in the room you had a radiator and hot air conditioning. About the meal, you booked half board in Booking.com, and it is said (Aditional information) that drinks are not included. If you wanted to eat one of our specialities or a special breakfast you should'nt have booked half board.

Rafa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Our room was a bit spartan (a rug or two would be a nice addition), but was otherwise serviceable. This was more than made up for by the warm and friendly welcome from our host, Rafa (who did everything possible to make our stay pleasant) and by the excellent and good value meals. I would strongly recommend anyone staying here to opt for half-board.
There are a number of excellent walks in the surrounding mountains, several of which can be accessed directly from the hotel.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

we called at El Pirineo for lunch and we were very impressed by the service and the quatity of the food. The menu del dia was really good value for money and the choice was extensive. I waiter spoke good english and was very friendly. We will be going again very soon.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank micath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

A small family run hotel situated in the mountains inland from the horrors Benidorm just a short drive from Guadalest. The hotel is basic but very clean and the owners are exceptionally friendly and provide excellent food and service at a very good price. The room was small but fine and had a lovely balcony with lovely views down the valley. A very pleasant and quiet area

Date of stay: September 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Staffsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews