We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be sure to visit here !”
Review of Pension El Pirineo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension El Pirineo
Ranked #1 of 2 Confrides B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 March 2014

What a great place to stay . It was wonderful and especially the welcome from Rafa , his dad and the staff . We had the most excellent meal and certainly hope to return one day for a longer visit. The room was spotless and nicely furnished with the finest bed linen

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

We booked this hotel online, 2 days in advance of our stay. The owner emailed us to say that he would not be there to look after us but that his parents would welcome. His father made us very welcome and offered us coffee on arrival which we accepted. The room was fine, cold floor but there was a portable heater as the central heating was off (January). We spoke little Spanish and the father spoke a little English. We had looked at the standard "dish of the day menu" and saw that wild boar, pork loin and lamb were among the main dishes, and the usual half bottle of wine was included. We were booked in on half-board and looked forward to a lovely meal after a long day's walking. The soup was hearty, the salad was a little above average, the main meal consisted simply of 2 sausages each, after which the dessert was quickly brought. We were the only guests and the father and grand children seemed to eat a similar meal to ourselves. We weren't hungry so left it at that and looked forward to a satisfying breakfast. BUT breakfast was simply 6 slices of baguette between us and 3 slices of cake. I had to ask for fruit juice.

What was the real sting in the tail was that we were charged the half-board rate PLUS E2.80 for the coffees and E8 for the wine! AND when checking out, lo and behold, a local was tucking into a sausage bap at the bar!!

Our Spanish was not good enough to complain but we will certainly not recommend it food-wise if you are thinking of doing anything requiring nutrition. A definite thumbs down!!

Room Tip: The double room at the back had a wonderful view from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAFAEL G, Propietario at Pension El Pirineo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Hello, first of all, I am sorry you were not happy. I have to tell that although the central heating was off, in the room you had a radiator and hot air conditioning. About the meal, you booked half board in Booking.com, and it is said (Aditional information) that drinks are not included. If you wanted to eat one of our specialities or a special breakfast you should'nt have booked half board.

Rafa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Our room was a bit spartan (a rug or two would be a nice addition), but was otherwise serviceable. This was more than made up for by the warm and friendly welcome from our host, Rafa (who did everything possible to make our stay pleasant) and by the excellent and good value meals. I would strongly recommend anyone staying here to opt for half-board.
There are a number of excellent walks in the surrounding mountains, several of which can be accessed directly from the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SM251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

we called at El Pirineo for lunch and we were very impressed by the service and the quatity of the food. The menu del dia was really good value for money and the choice was extensive. I waiter spoke good english and was very friendly. We will be going again very soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank micath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

A small family run hotel situated in the mountains inland from the horrors Benidorm just a short drive from Guadalest. The hotel is basic but very clean and the owners are exceptionally friendly and provide excellent food and service at a very good price. The room was small but fine and had a lovely balcony with lovely views down the valley. A very pleasant and quiet area

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Staffsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nicoleta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones con terraza valen la pena , pagas muy poco de más y siguen siendo muy económicas .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rym04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pension El Pirineo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension El Pirineo

Address: Calle San Antonio 52, 03517 Confrides, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Confrides
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Confrides
Price Range: £39 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“El Pirineo” Hostel/Restaurant is located in the village of Confrides (303 inhabitants), one of the highest villages in the province of Alicante (with an altitude of 785m over the sea level). Its privileged location, at the top of the Guadalest Valley and on the edge of the region between La Marina Baixa and the shire of the Comtat, make “El Pirineo” an ideal place that holds many possibilities for both hikers and for people who want to escape from the city just to enjoy nature. Some of the activities that we recommend are: hiking to the Font de l’Arbre (1300 m altitude) and to the Font de Forata (1400 m altitude) (Sierra de Aitana), to the Little Castle of Confrides (1000 m altitude.) In the Sierra de Serrella there are very beautiful areas with wonderful views (Pla de la casa, 1350 m altitude). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Pension El Pirineo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing