We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”

Discover Goat Island Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leigh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Discover Goat Island Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Leigh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Our family of 7 did not stay with Jenny and Tony but we went snorkeling with them through the Goat Island Dive & Snorkel Shop. If you are looking for extremely colorful fish and corals like the Great Barrier Reef or Caribbean you may be slightly disappointed. However, if you are in New Zealand, this may be the best place to go. Goat Island is a marine reserve and we were able to see stingray, snapper and other types or fish, rocks and corals through extremely clear waters. Our guides Jenny & Tony were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. You are in a wetsuit because the water is still a bit cool even in January but we were able to stay out for about an hour. I highly recommend bringing either an underwater camera or some type of underwater housing unit for your camera or phone (we used a seashell for the iPhone 5). If we are back in New Zealand (we're from Chicago) we will definitely go back and take this tour again. They provide you with all the gear and all you have to do is get there. It is about an hour's drive from downtown Auckland which is where we stayed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank oliversacks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed two nights at Jenny and Tony's home primarily to snorkel in the Goat Island marine reserve. They were welcoming and we enjoyed sharing a drink and chatting on their verandha. They enabled us to join a group who they were taking snorkelling one day and are clearly very knowledgable about the marine environment.

The room is down the side of the house and has a private entrance; and breakfast is left in the fridge in your room for you. So its a more 'independent' form of b and b than others we stayed in. The fridge makes a considerable noise and could do with changing!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

When I arrived, Jenny immediately offered me a cup of tea and made me feel welcome. The view from their place is truly amazing. The next day they took me snorkeling and, after a rough start with the flippers, they helped me catch right on. The water was crystal clear and the highlight was seeing a gigantic ray. I'm so grateful for this experience!

The only negative might be that Leigh is a bit remote and make sure you visit an ATM before you get there. No ATMs at all in Leigh!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lioncloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Was welcomed in by Jenny and Tony and accomodation was absolutely great. Took us to Goat Island and was taught to snorkel with ease. Kayaked around the beach and island. Absolutely fantastic place with great people.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenksnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

A friend and I being keen divers contacted Tony and Jenny Enderby, and arranged to stay with them at their B&B. We were made to feel welcome immediately, and our hosts went the extra mile to ensure we had a comfy stay. Even though it rained, they took us out for a couple of interesting dives where we managed to get some underwater photos to add to our collections. My friend even managed to get good photos of the elusive 'Glass eels', after Jenny and Tony told us to keep an eye out for them.
I have no hesitation in recomending their B&B for anyone looking for a great holiday, with great hosts in a lovely part of New Zealand!
I loved it, and hope to get back there before too long.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dont-look-ethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Staying with Jenny and Tony was home away from home, they welcomed us as if we were family.
The room was lovely, very quiet and comfortable, and the free wifi was a bonus.
Best of all, the hosts are also experienced snorkelling and diving guides, so the next day we went out with them to the nearby marine reserve where they shared their vast knowledge of the local marine and beach life.

Room Tip: Ask about snorkel and dive tours! Fascinating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolgreenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Discover Goat Island Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discover Goat Island Bed & Breakfast

Address: 19 Albert St | PO Box 139, Leigh, Auckland 0947, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Leigh
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Leigh
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen-size bed with en-suite and own entrance. Close to Goat Island Marine Reserve and Sawmill Cafe. Room has fridge and TV (15 channels). Free use of sit-on kayaks for guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing