We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed The Cove”
Review of The Cove Eleuthera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cove Eleuthera
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gregory Town
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed The Cove”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We recently visited The Cove and it was really fantastic. The rooms and property are immaculately maintained and absolutely beautiful. The beaches and beachside service are really awesome. We enjoyed the outdoor lunch restaurant, all of our choices and drinks were fantastic. The food was a little expensive at times, but the prices are not that far off at outside restaurants. And we really loved the sushi. It was really nice to go on an island getaway and have many fresh, non-fried options. That was a bonus. Chorton and other staff were very friendly and helpful. We brought our two small children and they loved how friendly the Cove staff was. We do plan to return. It's really spectacular what the owner has developed here.

The only challenge we really had (and this is not a reflection on The Cove) was the day we decided to venture off the property. We started out early heading to Governor’s Harbor. I believe it was a Sunday so many places were not open for breakfast that morning so we ended up driving around for a few hours before finally finding Tippy’s which didn’t open until noon. The nearby Laughing Lizard café is said to be good but check with the hotel to see if they can find out if it’s open before you head that way. We would also recommend visiting nearby Daddy Jos for dinner or music on a weekend night. That was cool.

Room Tip: The suite was perfect for us with two small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILedet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoveEleuthera, General Manager at The Cove Eleuthera, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Greetings from The Cove! Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us and Trip Advisor Community. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed everything with your stay including the food and services from our staffs. I have passed your appreciation to all the staffs. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    89
    23
    6
    1
See reviews for
81
324
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

WOW! The Cove is absolutely breathtaking! There is such a peaceful aura about this place that allows you to feel fully rejuvenated at the end of your stay. I was surprised that for a boutique resort there were multiple food venues (including a sushi restaurant…my favorite☺), so you always have options. The staff is first class, and willing to meet all of your expectations. We stayed in the garden view room room, not one of the ocean front rooms, but it was perfect…chic, fresh, modern amenities, comfortable and calming. This was my first “real” vacation; I have not been to a place that made me feel so at home, and relaxed as The Cove has.

Great job to all the staff & management…I know there is still more to come with this resort, and I cant wait to see what they do next. I am hooked, can’t imagine vacationing anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spenl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoveEleuthera, General Manager at The Cove Eleuthera, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Greetings from The Cove Eleuthera! Thank you for taking the time to share those wonderful comments with the TripAdvisor community. We are truly happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you again for your patronage. We hope you will have a chance to return to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Superb setting: two beaches with crystal clear water attached to the hotel and split by a headland with the restaurant and good-sized pool. The decor is stylishly simple, with white walls and furniture throughout. The grounds are well-tended and well-stocked with palm trees. And yet - there's a lot wrong, mostly minor but the niggles mounted up.
The rooms in the main building - the $300 a night option - are sleek with a very good shower, though smaller than similarly-priced options elsewhere in the Caribbean. Another commenter praised the bed as very comfortable. I found the mattress the softest I've ever slept on, but not in a good way, I ended up with a bad back. The walls are so thin that you can hear in a neighbouring room, for example, the exact words on the TV or the safe beeping. Outside there was construction noise that started as early as 6.30am - not jackhammers but builders moving pipe around. It was not noisy or frequent enough to be ruinous but it was fairly thoughtless.
The food varied from good to very mediocre, while all the time being priced comparably with excellent New York restaurants ($60 for a ((large)) steak, $44 for grilled lobster). After five nights without a change to the menu we were heartily bored of it. One night did produce a change for everyone: turkey dinner for Thanksgiving, with no other options. $75 a head bought you a selection that featured over-cooked and cold turkey and cold lumpy mashed potatoes. One breakfast included a coffee produced with either burnt or off milk, cold eggs, and pancakes with a large hair in them. To be fair, after objecting to paying for the pancakes the whole breakfast was comped. But would still have preferred paying for decent food.
We won't be back but if we had to we would hire a car for the whole time to escape the resort since there's very little close by. It's a 20-minute walk to the Laughing Lizard cafe, the only alternative eating option, which has good simple food but it's opening hours are rather more relaxed than even it's stated "9ish to 4ish"; it wasn't open one day at 10ish or 12ish. Hiring a car from the Cove is $130 a day compared with about $70 elsewhere on the island (though there can be a $30 pick up/drop off fee).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank squirrel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoveEleuthera, General Manager at The Cove Eleuthera, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Greetings from The Cove Eleuthera.

Thank you for sharing your impressions of your recent stay at The Cove with the TripAdvisor community. We greatly appreciate all of the compliments about the superb setting. At the same time we are greatly disappointed that we did not meet 100% of your expectations in other areas.

Our team takes great pride in making sure everyone who stays with us has a wonderful experience. Our owner & I are always around and we would have greatly appreciated if you would have shared these concerns with us while you were here. It surprises us that you experienced back problems with our bed, most of our guests have always found them to be comfortable and even ask for the supplier detail for their personal use.

The majority of our guests praise the quality of our cuisine & dining options. Our menus are priced comparably to any of the luxury hotels & resorts in the Caribbean. Our produce is freshly flown in from the USA. Therefore the cost of shipment, duty & taxes is the main factor of our pricing. Thank you again for your helpful feedback and sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor Community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights at the Cove for our honeymoon and we absolutely loved it. From the moment we arrived up until the moment we left the service was spot on. Once we settled in and went over to the pool we came across this very energetic and cheerful man aka Captain James. Captain James politely introduced himself and made it a point to introduce almost everyone else staying at the resort. Thanks to Captain James we made some great friends and shared great times together. A snorkeling/fishing trip with Captain James is a must. We did two of them. Then you have the pleasure of meeting the vision behind the Cove, Sydney the owner. Sydney is very hands on with his resort and it is great to speak to him and hear the passion he has for his resort. Then you have Chef John. Chef John is hands down one of the most amazing sushi chefs we have ever come across. Being from Miami we have quite a bit of good sushi spots, but none compare to the work of Chef John. The Cove is already amazing and I'm sure it is going to get even better. We just got back and are already planning our next trip around March. To the entire Cove staff and owner we would like to thank you for providing us with such an amazing place to spend our honeymoon. See you soon!

Room Tip: Arawak suite is a bit smaller than I imagined and very limited closet and drawer space. Go with one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Orestes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoveEleuthera, General Manager at The Cove Eleuthera, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Greetings from The Cove! Thank you for sharing your recent experience with Trip Advisor Community. We are truly happy to learn that you had an amazing honeymoon and enjoyed our services. I have passed your appreciation to all the staffs. “Your word of encouragement is our source of inspiration”. We greatly appreciate, for all of your kind comments and we do hope that you will have a chance to come back to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We visited for a week in mid-November. My wife and I have been to quite a few high end resorts in the Caribbean and a few mid level resorts, including all inclusives. The Cove ranks near the top, but, as I will explain, it is not quite there yet. First, we liked the island of Eleuthera a lot. It is safe and the people are friendly. The Cove is a very good location and has a couple of acres of Zoysia grass around the buildings and going out to the beach. That makes it very comfortable to walk around and I think it was a great idea. The buildings are new and the sliding doors to get in and out of our room (no regular door) worked perfectly. The room is white "Euro cool" style with minimal furnishings. The bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is great and the water pressure is fantastic.
The food in the restaurant is delicious. It is very expensive, but I believe that all of the nice restaurants on the island are comparable. So what can you say? If you eat at a nice place, not a local dive, then it's $40 for breakfast, $50 for lunch, and &150 for dinner if you have one drink a piece.
We snorkled around a bit and it is okay. Not a whole lot to see but it's good for an hour or so. We rode bicycles 3 miles to surfers beach on the Atlantic side. You still have a one mile walk after you park your bike so it is a bit strenuous.
The sunset everyday is gorgeous. We actually saw the "green flash" our last evening there where you see a green flash for one second as the sun disappears behind the horizon.
Complaints are minimal. There are no regular coffee makers in the room. Only espresso that costs $3 for a "pod". I need two cups of coffee, not one gulp of espresso. They will bring you a pot for $6, and even include some hot milk. I think the rooms need regular coffee makers. There was construction noise but I realize this is temporary and due to be over by December. They opened a second restaurant while we were there. It is a grill that is in the same area as the main restaurant. It has a different menu and has outdoor seating. Very nice. The only problem we had was that after they delivered our food one day at lunch, we were immediately surrounding by more than a dozen flies that would not leave us alone. We had to scoot inside.
All in all, I think this is a great resort that I would like to return to and I have no doubts that the owner, Sidney, is committed to making this a 5 star resort by anyone's criteria.

Room Tip: We had ocean view and I recommend that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank russell9919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoveEleuthera, General Manager at The Cove Eleuthera, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Greetings from the serene side of The Bahamas! Thank you for your kind and constructive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us; your feedback is instrumental in our growth as a world class destination property. The finishing touches on our new spa and gym are near completion and will be ready for festive season. Thank you once again and we hope that you will be able to come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Just got home yesterday from a fabulous long weekend at The Cove. I traveled with my husband and 11.5 month old baby girl. Little bit of a hassle to get to the island but completely worth it! The property was beyond beautiful and the staff were truly kind and helpful. We kayaked, snorkeled, napped, paddle boarded, beached, ate, drank, built sand castles, biked, hammocked, and acted like lazy fools. Though we were the only people who brought our child we felt more than welcome and comfortable. Thank you for all of the little baby snacks and the comfy crib in our room!

Personally I would visit this little gem before the word gets out, it won't be a secret for long. The rooms are beautiful and the food is great ( though it will be better once the new restaurant is open for variety). The sushi chef is very skilled as are the bartenders. The beach gentleman were happy to help us with any activity and constant ice waters. Max happily took us to town one day in the Cove car because I was to nervous to bike with the baby, he was wonderful. We also met the owner who was very welcoming and highly admired by each staff member which says a lot.

The water is bright and clear and calm. Perfect place for moms to snorkel without being scared haha. I didn't see a room that I wouldn't have been happy in, we stayed in arrewok studio 19 ( can't spell that) could see the ocean from our porch. Seriously relaxing and pretty. Do visit with or without your kids. We will be back without a question. Thank you!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MothergooseOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoveEleuthera, General Manager at The Cove Eleuthera, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Greetings from the serene side of The Bahamas! Thank you for taking time to share your wonderful experiences with the Trip Advisor Community. Your comments and words of encouragement inspire us to continue our efforts for service excellence. We are truly happy that you enjoyed your time and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The Cove Eleuthera is unique in that it offers very clean and quiet solitude. The facility seems a little wobbly during an apparent transition between owners but the staff is very earnest. It's a bit expensive for the type of product they offer, but it also serves a unique niche in the region. The Cove seems designed only for people wanting quiet, solitude, and rest. There wasn't a sitting area in our room, so if it's raining, the only things to do are sleep, eat in the restaurant, or sit in the lobby. Islanders are very friendly and helpful. Don't go to The Cove (or to the island of Eleuthera) looking for interesting or exciting activities...there's some shopping and some natural phenomena like caves and pretty sunsets but not much else within a reasonable driving distance except fishing or snorkeling. The Laughing Lizard Cafe is about a half mile south of the Cove and has good food and drink that is more affordable than that at The Cove. Note: What the guidebooks don't tell you about Eleuthera is that economic prosperity has not yet reached the island, so you'll be staying in luxury in what appears to be a fairly poor community.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sidavouq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoveEleuthera, General Manager at The Cove Eleuthera, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Greetings from the serene side of The Bahamas! Thank you for your kind and constructive review. We pride ourselves on being an upscale tranquil oasis designed for the discerning traveler. Eleuthera's Mantra is "Eleuthera it's not for everyone" simply stating that other amenities that maybe available in more developed areas are not present here, but the natural beauty and people of the island create a unique & unparalleled experience.

There are many complementary activities one could do to fill their days such as kayaking, snorkeling, badminton, paddle boards, croquette, bikes, bocce ball and horseshoes.

Island tours and boat excursions are also available. For the odd rainy day we have our Freedom Bar and Sushi Bar which is a popular meeting place for our guests. We have numerous board games, wifi and cable TV. We are also putting finishing touches for SPA, Gym, library and Movie Theater to add more amenities for our guests to enjoy.

Again we thank you for your constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gregory Town
23.5 mi away
Villa Allamanda, Eleuthera
Villa Allamanda, Eleuthera
#2 of 6 in Governor's Harbour
102 reviews
8.0 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#4 of 9 in Harbour Island
416 reviews
8.1 mi away
Pink Sands Resort
Pink Sands Resort
#6 of 9 in Harbour Island
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#1 of 9 in Harbour Island
293 reviews
22.3 mi away
Sky Beach Club
Sky Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Governor's Harbour
324 reviews
27.1 mi away
Pineapple Fields Resort
Pineapple Fields Resort
#1 of 6 in Governor's Harbour
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove Eleuthera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Eleuthera

Property: The Cove Eleuthera
Address: Queen's Highway, Gregory Town, Eleuthera
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Eleuthera > Gregory Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gregory Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cove Eleuthera 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Bahamian island legend, reborn with more style, more luxury ... And far fewer cares in the world. An intimate destination set up on the Caribbean's most beautiful pink sand beach. The Cove, Eleuthera's guest rooms and suites have been extensively renovated to blend urban chic with island charm. The new owner and management at The Cove. Eleuthera have over 20 years of hotel experience in the United States and have worked with the locals, training them to ensure that the same hospitality expectations in the states will be brought to The Cove, Eleuthera. We invite you for a visit, as Travel & Leisure said the "Best Secret Island on Earth" is closer than you thought! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cove Eleuthera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove Eleuthera Hotel Eleuthera
The Cove Hotel Eleuthera
Cove Hotel Eleuthera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing