We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The customer in focus”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palazzo Loup

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Loup
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loiano
Certificate of Excellence
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The customer in focus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

This hotell has really understood the meaning of to put the customer in focus. The personal speak fluent english and are interested to inform and discuss with you every topic you may find intresting.
Very unusual in my mind. The old building is also interesting and you can not find a more beautiful surroundings!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heikki n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bi67, Proprietario at Palazzo Loup, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Mr. Heikki,

it was a real pleasure for us that you have chosen Palazzo Loup as a break during your bicycle tour across Italy. It must have been very hard but at the same time very thrilling! Thank you so much for your kind words towards our hotel that you have decided to share with other people through TripAdvisor. We are really glad that you have appreciated our typical and friendly Emilian hospitality. We really enjoy to share with our guests their experiences in order to make them feel friends and not only guests.
We hope to see you next year, we would be very glad to have you here next May when our SPA will be open!

Best regards,
Barbara Baldassarri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    90
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
68
128
19
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We went for my sons wedding. Perfect place for a large wedding. Unfortunately it rained the whole time and they did everything they could to still deliver a wonderful wedding. The service is amazingly friendly and so efficient.
We were hoping for an outdoor wedding however that was not to be due to the weather. We all still had a great time and the food was amazing!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bi67, Proprietario at Palazzo Loup, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Diana,
it has been a real pleasure for us to organize your sons wedding!!
They really are wonderful people and we have done our best to realize their dreams and to make that day special!
I am really sorry for the bad weather conditions that do not do justice to the wonderful italian climate, but unfortunately just in those days of October there was a great perturbation.
I am really glad that you have appreciated our cuisine and our warm italian hospitality and I hope to see you again in a next and sunnier occasion!
A special wish to all your family and in particular to Luke and Vic, may they have a life full of love and happiness!
Sincere regards,

Barbara Baldassarri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Just returned from a wonderful Tuscany wine vacation with 10 friends.
My wife and needed a rest from all the hustle-bustle of a "friend" trip and
booked the Palazzo Loup for 2 nights before flying back to the USA. The property was just as the reviews stated...quiet, romantic, and very clean.
The European breakfast was bountiful and delicious and the front desk
was very well managed. If it is R&R you are looking for, this place is for you!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jdmmdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bi67, Proprietario at Palazzo Loup, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Sirs,
I'm really happy to read your review and thank you very much for emphasizing that the nice reviews we receive from our dear guests correspond to the truth!
It is nice to know that you keep a good memory of this beautiful and relaxing corner of Italy now that you are in your country. I hope to see you soon to make you taste the flavours and smells of our land and in order to enjoy our beautiful new wellness center which will be open next april!... one more reason to come back!
Kind and sincere regards,
Barbara Baldassarri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Alone on a ridge in a valley, looking up towards the hilltop town of Loiano, Palazzo Loup is a delight, made all the more enjoyable by the exuberance and generosity of the proprietor, Barbara Baldassarri.

The Shaws

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bi67, Proprietario at Palazzo Loup, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Shaws,
It has been for me a real pleasure to meet you and to share with you our “home”!
You have been very kind to write us this review and I thank you so much for remembering me so sympathetic! Our warm Italian (and Emilian in particular!) hospitality, sometimes reaches the center of the heart and I like thinking that you have not been only guest but you have become friend of ours!
Thank you once again for choosing us and I wait you next year when we will open the new wellness center!
Very best regards and sincere hugs!
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We spent 2 nights here whilst travelling from Lake Garda to Florence. We were looking for somewhere to stay near Bologna that offered wheelchair access to both the rooms and the swimming pool, and this ticked all the boxes at the time of booking.

We arrived early afternoon & were kindly offered a sandwich and something to drink as it was just after lunch and we had been travelling for the morning. This was welcomed and enjoyed by all four of us.

After lunch, we were shown to our rooms which were located on the first floor, above reception in the old part of the "palace". Some assistance with all of our luggage would have been welcomed, but it was not forthcoming and we had to lug all our suitcases from the car to our rooms ourselves. (Bear in mind we had a child in a wheelchair so it was fairly tricky looking after him, and dragging all our bags up to our rooms). Upon departure, the owner (?) assisted us with our luggage, which was a great help.

The rooms are neat and clean, with beautiful crisp linen, although the décor is fairly dated and in need of some love. Quite an odd combination of modern and old furniture (some wood, some melamine...)

The receptionists were both very friendly and helpful, and the highlight of our stay was definitely the breakfast (see my photo!) - what an impressive spread. We ate like Kings and Queens! The staff were all very friendly and caring, especially to my nephew (with special needs).

A beautiful venue in a beautiful location (not too far out of Bologna), has lots of potential, needs a little facelift though.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLBB-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bi67, Proprietario at Palazzo Loup, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Madame,
I thank you so much you and your family to have chosen us for your short stay here in Palazzo Loup and for the time spent for write this review.
I am very glad your nephew liked our hospitality and our rich breakfast.
Palazzo Loup, as you sure have appreciated, was born from a renewed of an ancient 16th century dwelling and the most part of our furniture is original of this ancient epoch.
In order to emphasize the ancient furniture we decided to put beside some modern and simple furnishings.
I think you will have noticed that in the floor where your room was, there is a nice bust of Pope Pius VII who, in 1805, had slept in the same room where your nephew and his parents stayed. Obviously the room has been renewed and modernized, but we hope it still conserve the charm of that times.
We like the fact that the atmosphere of Palazzo Loup looks a bit ancient and “lived” because is the long and rich past that made it a unique and special place .
I am sorry that you did not have the sufficient assistance with your baggage on your arrival; the girls at the reception made the best and helped in first person your nephew and the father with the baggage; the father than told them that he preferred to organize everything by himself. Anyway I apologize if we have not been of help in that time.
Thank you once again for choosing us and I hope to see you next time; I am very proud to inform you that we are building a beautiful wellness center, accessible also for disable people, and I hope your nephew could enjoy and relax on the Bolognese hills.

A warm and sincere greeting to your family, I wish you all the best and happiness.
Barbara Baldassarri and the staff of Palazzo Loup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in July. Great hotel away from it all. Bedrooms spacious and well appointed. The pool was lovely and very quiet. All the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the waiters were very good. Buffet breakfast was very good with a large selection of foods. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRR026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bi67, Proprietario at Palazzo Loup, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Sirs,
thank you very much!! Thank you for suggesting Palazzo Loup to other guests and we really hope you will come again here! We would be glad to host you again and to make you feel at home, surrounded with friends! Our aim is to host every guest with the warm and smile that everyone deserves and that can make you relax and forget the stress of the daily life! In this task we are helped by the beatiful location in the unspoiled nature, the relaxing swimming pool and the tasty cuisine.
We wait for you again for your days of perfect relax!
Very best regards,

Barbara Baldassarri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had a long weekend here following a week relaxing in the Marche. The hotel is well located and has fantastic views.
We arrived on a Saturday when weddings were taking place and the pool in particular was very busy. The room was excellent. We had booked a junior suite and it was spacious with everything we needed. Food at the restaurant was very good and we also ate in the local town which had an excellent restaurant and pizzeria/ fish restaurant.
The hotel was further outside Bologna than we expected. It is a 45 minute drive but not one you would want to do at night if you do not know the road.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bi67, Proprietario at Palazzo Loup, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Paul,
thank you very much for your nice review, we are very glad that you had a pleasant stay here in Palazzo Loup and you liked the room, the spectacular view on the verdant valley and the refined food in our Restaurant "Le Volte". In the surrounding area there are a lot of interesting things to do and visit and we are very glad to suggest to our guest amusing activities and places to see.
We hope to host you again, maybe in autumn when the colors of the valley changes and you can taste the typical products of the season: young wine, chestnuts and a lot of tasty dishes.
Thank you again for the time spent in this review and very best regards,

Barbara Baldassarri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loiano
20.2 mi away
Hotel Helvetia Thermal Spa
Hotel Helvetia Thermal Spa
#1 of 9 in Porretta Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
5.0 mi away
Agriturismo Prato degli Angeli
Agriturismo Prato degli Angeli
#1 of 1 in Villa di Sassonero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
13.1 mi away
Relais Villa Valfiore
Relais Villa Valfiore
#2 of 3 in San Lazzaro di Savena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Villaggio della Salute Piu
Villaggio della Salute Piu
#2 of 2 in Monterenzio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
7.6 mi away
Locanda Dei Cinque Cerri
Locanda Dei Cinque Cerri
#1 of 3 in Sasso Marconi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
14.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Calzavecchio
Boutique Hotel Calzavecchio
#1 of 1 in Casalecchio di Reno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Loup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Loup

Property: Palazzo Loup
Address: Via Santa Margherita 21, 40050 Loiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Loiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Loup 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Loup is an 17th century dwelling located in Loiano, 30 km far from Bologna city center and 70 km far from Florence in the heart of Tosco-Emilian Apennine hills. This historical Villa, once belonged to the noble Loup family, it was restored in 1990 and it is nestled within an ancient parkland. Palazzo Loup was the setting of important historical events and today it has 49 hotel bedrooms with modern facilities, different equipped congress rooms and a charming restaurant with banqueting halls, everything is surrounded by unspoilt natural beauty. In Summer, guests can enjoy the outdoor swimming pool and its sun terrace with a panoramic view. Bar service and complimentary bathing towels are available in this area that is the ideal place for happy-hour parties or barbeques. The Restaurant "Le Volte" is both charming and comfortable with its stunning indoor setting created by converting the ancient wine cellars together with its wide veranda with panoramic view. The Restaurant's elegant atmosphere is further enhanced by the friendly and attentive service: all dishes are prepared by our chef from local products in the traditional Emilian style. Palazzo Loup is proud to present Bibele Madspa the new wellness center designed and built thinking of relaxation, health and beauty of our guests. A unique experience for those who love to be pampered and to take care of themselves. Hydrotherapy pool with chrome water feature, waterfall, sauna, steam room, emotional showers, water blade, relaxation zone, tea room, naturalbar and treatments on request. We can offer treatments and packages thought to give moments of pure relaxation and immediate well-being. Single room: 6 of them have queen size bed and 2 of them have all the facilities for disabled person. Double room: Refined furniture and high comfort. All of them have breathtaking view over the hills. Junior Suite: with living room and bedroom area. Suite: elegant guest rooms with seperate living room and bedroom area, bathroom with Jacuzzi bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Loup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing