We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place, beautifully set.”
Review of Palazzo Loup

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Loup
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loiano
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful place, beautifully set.”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Most importantly the staff were pleasant and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble in helping to make our stay memorable. The dining facilities are excellent with views out over rolling hillsides and impeccable table service. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The swimming pool is set below the main buildings and again with breath-taking views over the valley. My nephew was straight in there before the bags were even unpacked.

Unfortunately we were not there long enough to enjoy all the facilities, but we will be back.

I just read that review from one Harold_ Ester, and all I can say is that he must have be staying at another place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    90
    22
    7
    9
See reviews for
69
129
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our main objection to Palazzo Loup is its designation as a 4-star establishment. The furnishings are very tired. There is no sense of luxury about the place. The shower in our bathroom was a Home Depot-type add-on. The worst experience was the dining room environment which most resembled an unused banquet hall with a couple of tables provisionally set up for the 2 parties of diners. The food was terrible, the worst being a lasagna which looked and tasted like something reheated from lunch. Breakfast choices were adequate but minimal. Overall, the place gave the impression gave the impression of a lot of corners being cut. We had booked for 8 days, left after 2, and were forced to pay a 1-night penalty. Never again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold_Ester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

How fortunate we were to find this beautiful hotel tucked away in the Appenine hills 20 miles to the south of Bologna. We wanted a place to stay that was within reach of beautiful Bologna but also in the countryside and Palazzo Loup fitted the bill perfectly. The web site gave us a pretty good idea of what to expect, but these expectations were exceeded. If anything it slightly under sells itself!
The staff were all excellent. Polite and helpful at the front desk, speaking excellent English, nothing was ever a problem. Tickets were booked for the Vermeer Exhibition in minutes and a map printed to direct us to the best car park and help was given when planning places to visit in the vicinity the next day.
The restaurant was lovely with stunning views over the valley towards Loiano and the choices were wide and varied and all very good. Waiting staff were so helpful when making sure that no gluten got anywhere near my meal, something that I thought may be a problem in Italy but I could not have been further from the truth.
Our room was kept immaculately, cleaned every day, bedding and towels changed very regularly (my pyjamas were even ironed daily! ).
Whatever you are looking for this hotel will suit you. It is a place to base yourself for for looking at the wondrous nature around you, be it birds, the scenery or the amazing flowers. I have never seen so many orchids in a short space of time as I did here when we were exploring the little mountain roads nearby.
If you are looking for a wedding venue look no further or even a place for an overseas conference.
The health spa that is nearing completion will greatly add to what is on offer here and will mean that the outdoor pool will be heated. Sadly it was a bit too cool for us to use in May.
So to sum up, could not fault this place. Put it on your list of 'must stay at' places.
A big thanks to all at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loup2011, Proprietario at Palazzo Loup, responded to this review, 5 March 2015
Dear Mr. Charlie P,

thank you so much for your kind words!
It was a real pleasure for me and all the staff to meet you and we did our best to give you the most pleasant stay ever. We hope to see you another time in order to enjoy our brand new wellness center!!

Thank you again,
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This hotell has really understood the meaning of to put the customer in focus. The personal speak fluent english and are interested to inform and discuss with you every topic you may find intresting.
Very unusual in my mind. The old building is also interesting and you can not find a more beautiful surroundings!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heikki n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bi67, Proprietario at Palazzo Loup, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Mr. Heikki,

it was a real pleasure for us that you have chosen Palazzo Loup as a break during your bicycle tour across Italy. It must have been very hard but at the same time very thrilling! Thank you so much for your kind words towards our hotel that you have decided to share with other people through TripAdvisor. We are really glad that you have appreciated our typical and friendly Emilian hospitality. We really enjoy to share with our guests their experiences in order to make them feel friends and not only guests.
We hope to see you next year, we would be very glad to have you here next May when our SPA will be open!

Best regards,
Barbara Baldassarri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We went for my sons wedding. Perfect place for a large wedding. Unfortunately it rained the whole time and they did everything they could to still deliver a wonderful wedding. The service is amazingly friendly and so efficient.
We were hoping for an outdoor wedding however that was not to be due to the weather. We all still had a great time and the food was amazing!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bi67, Proprietario at Palazzo Loup, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Diana,
it has been a real pleasure for us to organize your sons wedding!!
They really are wonderful people and we have done our best to realize their dreams and to make that day special!
I am really sorry for the bad weather conditions that do not do justice to the wonderful italian climate, but unfortunately just in those days of October there was a great perturbation.
I am really glad that you have appreciated our cuisine and our warm italian hospitality and I hope to see you again in a next and sunnier occasion!
A special wish to all your family and in particular to Luke and Vic, may they have a life full of love and happiness!
Sincere regards,

Barbara Baldassarri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Just returned from a wonderful Tuscany wine vacation with 10 friends.
My wife and needed a rest from all the hustle-bustle of a "friend" trip and
booked the Palazzo Loup for 2 nights before flying back to the USA. The property was just as the reviews stated...quiet, romantic, and very clean.
The European breakfast was bountiful and delicious and the front desk
was very well managed. If it is R&R you are looking for, this place is for you!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jdmmdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bi67, Proprietario at Palazzo Loup, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Sirs,
I'm really happy to read your review and thank you very much for emphasizing that the nice reviews we receive from our dear guests correspond to the truth!
It is nice to know that you keep a good memory of this beautiful and relaxing corner of Italy now that you are in your country. I hope to see you soon to make you taste the flavours and smells of our land and in order to enjoy our beautiful new wellness center which will be open next april!... one more reason to come back!
Kind and sincere regards,
Barbara Baldassarri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Alone on a ridge in a valley, looking up towards the hilltop town of Loiano, Palazzo Loup is a delight, made all the more enjoyable by the exuberance and generosity of the proprietor, Barbara Baldassarri.

The Shaws

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bi67, Proprietario at Palazzo Loup, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Shaws,
It has been for me a real pleasure to meet you and to share with you our “home”!
You have been very kind to write us this review and I thank you so much for remembering me so sympathetic! Our warm Italian (and Emilian in particular!) hospitality, sometimes reaches the center of the heart and I like thinking that you have not been only guest but you have become friend of ours!
Thank you once again for choosing us and I wait you next year when we will open the new wellness center!
Very best regards and sincere hugs!
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loiano
20.2 mi away
Hotel Helvetia Thermal Spa
Hotel Helvetia Thermal Spa
#1 of 8 in Porretta Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
5.0 mi away
Agriturismo Prato degli Angeli
Agriturismo Prato degli Angeli
#1 of 1 in Villa di Sassonero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
13.1 mi away
Relais Villa Valfiore
Relais Villa Valfiore
#2 of 3 in San Lazzaro di Savena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Villaggio della Salute Piu
Villaggio della Salute Piu
#1 of 2 in Monterenzio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
7.6 mi away
Locanda Dei Cinque Cerri
Locanda Dei Cinque Cerri
#1 of 3 in Sasso Marconi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
14.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Calzavecchio
Boutique Hotel Calzavecchio
#1 of 1 in Casalecchio di Reno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Loup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Loup

Property: Palazzo Loup
Address: Via Santa Margherita 21, 40050 Loiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Loiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Loup 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Loup is an 17th century dwelling located in Loiano, 30 km far from Bologna city center and 70 km far from Florence in the heart of Tosco-Emilian Apennine hills. This historical Villa, once belonged to the noble Loup family, it was restored in 1990 and it is nestled within an ancient parkland. Palazzo Loup was the setting of important historical events and today it has 49 hotel bedrooms with modern facilities, different equipped congress rooms and a charming restaurant with banqueting halls, everything is surrounded by unspoilt natural beauty. In Summer, guests can enjoy the outdoor swimming pool and its sun terrace with a panoramic view. Bar service and complimentary bathing towels are available in this area that is the ideal place for happy-hour parties or barbeques. The Restaurant "Le Volte" is both charming and comfortable with its stunning indoor setting created by converting the ancient wine cellars together with its wide veranda with panoramic view. The Restaurant's elegant atmosphere is further enhanced by the friendly and attentive service: all dishes are prepared by our chef from local products in the traditional Emilian style. Palazzo Loup is proud to present Bibele Madspa the new wellness center designed and built thinking of relaxation, health and beauty of our guests. A unique experience for those who love to be pampered and to take care of themselves. Hydrotherapy pool with chrome water feature, waterfall, sauna, steam room, emotional showers, water blade, relaxation zone, tea room, naturalbar and treatments on request. We can offer treatments and packages thought to give moments of pure relaxation and immediate well-being. Single room: 6 of them have queen size bed and 2 of them have all the facilities for disabled person. Double room: Refined furniture and high comfort. All of them have breathtaking view over the hills. Junior Suite: with living room and bedroom area. Suite: elegant guest rooms with seperate living room and bedroom area, bathroom with Jacuzzi bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Palazzo Loup reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing