We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How is this a 4 star!! Just awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Antico Termine
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lugagnano
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed here for 1 night as a stop over to catch an early flight the next day. Thank goodness it was only for 1 night, we couldn't check out early enough.

Toilet in room didn't work, shower leaked and the shower head looked like it hadn't been cleaned in ages ( was brown with dirt). The air conditioning didn't work. The air conditioning vent as you walked into the room and looked up, had never been cleaned ( I have photos) and looked like it was a brilliant place for harmful germs and bacteria to produce. We did look at getting the earlier plane so we didn't have to stay there but unfortunately it was full. One last thing, no matter where you stayed in the hotel you could hear the frequent trains all day and night. I really can't see how this is 4 star.

Also, it is not a couple of minutes from Verona or lake Garda as they claim. 25 minutes from Verona centre and about the same to lake Garda.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete0784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2011

As said, it's a bit in a middle of nowhere, away from Verona, but as long as you have a car, it's fine (free garage). Staff very helpful, especially Cheriff, the pool bar tender. Swimming pool is also great. Room was really big with all what you expect, maybe more international TV channels would be a plus.
Negative points are the location, just behind the main railway line Verona-Milan, where you have passenger and industrial trains passing through every 5 minutes or so, means very noisy, especially when you stay at swimming pool. Inside the room as long as you don't open windows (there's air conditionned), you don't hear much. But outside, it's really too noisy. Another weak point is the breakfast, very simple, no eggs, no bacon, some little choice of ham + cheese, limited choice of bread, chocolate drink for kids not good, coffee is light compared to Italian standards.
For one night, it's fine to stay there, but I won't confirm the 4 stars they have been given, maximum 3 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dreamworld1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commanticotermine, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Best Western Hotel Antico Termine, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Hi Dreamworld, thank you for your comment.
What you said about the location it's true: our hotel is perfect for people who have a car because it's 15 minutes far from the centre of Verona.
About the position we are near the station so sometimes (but not every 5 minutes, to say the true.. in Italy we don't have unfortunately a so speedy rail system!) our customers have to listen the trains rumors...
About the breakfast service we're try to do our best to increase the products and to make it better, even if I suppose you came in our hotel during a "difficult" day because eggs are every day on our buffet. Maybe you found just the moment in which the buffet was empty because off the high number of guests and before the replacement of it.
We hope in the future you will 100% satisfied of us.
Nice Day!


the room as long as you don't open windows (there's air conditionned), you don't hear much. But outside, it's really too noisy. Another weak point is the breakfast, very simple, no eggs, no bacon, some little choice of ham + cheese, limited choice of bread, chocolate drink for kids not good, coffee is light compared to Italian standards.
For one night, it's fine to stay there, but I won't confirm the 4 stars they have been given, maximum 3 stars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The hotel is situated not far from Verona airport in lovely countryside. The hotel is very relaxing with the only noise coming from trains that go past. The pool is superb with plenty of chairs and recliners to enjoy the sunshine. Our rooms were good & large with air conditioning and satellite TV.
We had a super meal in the restaurant with an absolutely superb tuna and swordfish carpaccio.
Our only gripe with the hotel is that the courtesy bus only ran to the airport from 8-12 and didn’t run at all into central Verona. Taxi fares into Central Verona ranged from 15-25 euros although we managed to get a taxi back from central Verona at 1:15 in the morning for only 22 euro!
Had a great time and would heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_The_Miner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We were both surprised when we pulled up to this hotel for our stay. It is sort of away form the beaten path and surrounded by vineyards and orchards. From our observations it seemed like people only stayed here before their flights home as there is an airport nearby.

It is fairly close to the city of Verona which we planned to visit during our stay. There is also a lake not too far away from this city called LAke Gardo. Definitely worth the drive for a little relaxing stroll along the river bed.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InessaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The hotel is named Antico Termine because it is next to an old train station that has been converted into a residence. The train nolonger stops there. It is a modern hotel with a great swimming pool and resturant. The bar and pool are looked after by Sherrif who makes the stay worth it. He is so friendly and helpful. The location is near town and only a 15 min drive to Verona. It is also within a short drive to Lago d'garda. and a mall located nearby. i highly recomment this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Divepatches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

After staying at Best Western's in Rome, Florence, and Mestre, this hotel was a little bit of a surprise in that (a) it was right next to the railroad track (constant trains passing by loudly all day and night), (b) the shower thermostat either didn't work or (as my wife guessed) it was a Euro-feature with the water temperature oscillating from scalding to freezing on a regular cycle, (c) the front desk didn't really speak English, French, or Spanish and (d) was so far off the beaten track in the countryside that we couldn't walk to anywhere for a simple supper with kids (and as dinner at the hotel's fancy restaurant didn't start service until 8 pm, we ended up getting room service to eat at earlier with the kids, age 6 and 8). The pool was very nice (cold in late April, but the kids loved it, and lunch served by the pool side in the sun was very pleasant and relaxing).

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the train tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen_ArlingtonVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. It had all the conveniences you might wish for: helpful staff, nice little pool, air conditioning, parking, a decent breakfast. The room's size was adequate and it had a little balcony. the hotel was near bars, restaurants, and a pizzeria. We greatly enjoyed an evening at the 'jazz bar' in the town square one night. The hotel is near the airport and a short drive into Verona. It is located next to a railway and the land is very flat. There really is no view. So, do not expect 'romantic Verona.' But if you are looking for a place to stay before flying out of the Verona airport it is perfect--and, if you want to spend a day or two checking out Verona it is also excellent. We will stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IronChefNeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lugagnano
1.1 mi away
Hotel Saccardi & SPA
Hotel Saccardi & SPA
#1 of 1 in Caselle di Sommacampagna
805 reviews
1.3 mi away
DB Hotel Verona Airport and Congress
2.6 mi away
Hotel West Point
Hotel West Point
#4 of 4 in Dossobuono
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Montresor Hotel Tower
Montresor Hotel Tower
#1 of 5 in Bussolengo
938 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Gattopardo
Hotel Gattopardo
#3 of 4 in Dossobuono
280 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Ctc Hotel Verona
Best Western Ctc Hotel Verona
#1 of 4 in San Giovanni Lupatoto
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Antico Termine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Antico Termine

Address: Via Stazione 44, 37060 Lugagnano, Sona, Italy (Formerly Hotel Antico Termine)
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Sona > Lugagnano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lugagnano
Price Range: £39 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Antico Termine 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Hotel Antico Termine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sona
Antico Termine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing