We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like a private villa (or the Shining hotel?)”
Review of Moniatis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moniatis Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yermasoyia
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Went 17th to 24th August with my teenage son. We enjoyed our stay in this quiet hotel. Front desk staff Alex, Maria and Mario went out of their way to be very helpful. The waiting and bar staff were very friendly. Rooms were clean, towels replaced daily. Even though the hotel was supposed to be full there were never many people in the buffet restaurant for breakfast or dinner. The food was tasty and mostly warm. A couple of days the selection was excellent

The pool was quiet most of the time, occasionally we were the only ones there, just like having a private villa. The hotel however appears to have a policy of allowing none guests to use the pool also which is ok if they behave, but on one afternoon a large family group including two blokes whose behaviour was loud and boorish took over the pool area. The other guests who were expecting to enjoy a quite sunbathe left them to it.

Use of the WiFi at the hotel was very expensive but there is a bar in the village a 5 minute walk from the hotel (I think it was called Alteri) which had free WiFi and showed football on the big screen most nights. Also the drinks were reasonably priced there.

Notes to the hotel management. You could probably get more guests to use the hotel bar in the evening if you switch some lights on in the pool area. Dont advertise use of a gym if it is closed down.

A couple of excellent days out I could recommend Sayious adventure park (Off road buggy safari, Paintball, Archery, GoKarting) and Fasouri water park. Both expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: Dont get a room in level -1. We had mountain view room with balcony overlooking the pool and it wa s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed at the Moniatis in June 2012. The hotel is of quite a good standard. If you want to be really picky then it could do with a bit of renovating. The bathroom, for example, could do with a bit of sealant around the bath. Everywhere was clean and tidy though. Beds were made every day, towels changed regularly, and the public areas were kept to a very high standard. We stayed for 8 nights bed and breakfast, and breakfast was good. Buffet style, help yourself to cereal, juice, tea, coffee, bacon, eggs, sausage etc. There seemed to be no limit either, or at least nobody stopped us going back for more. The staff are friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. Although we didn't use it, the pool area looked very nice and clean. We have paid a lot more to stay in hotels in the UK that had a lot poorer results.

The bar prices are a bit steep, but that's hotels for you. A 660ml bottle of Keo is e4.95 ond in the local bars is e2.50-3.50. So walk up to the local bars... they're pretty good too (especially Bar Aletri - Savas owns that and it's probably the last traditional Greek Taverna in the area).

In conclusion the Moniatis is great value for money, clean and tidy, and we will be going back again. In fact some of our relations are getting married in Cyprus next year... They are all staying at the Moniatis and are having the reception at the Bar Aletri.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I arrived at the Moniatis Hotel on Sunday 24th June 2012, first impressions were good, the hotel was clean, in fact spotless! Check-in was quick and efficient and I was soon unpacking in a very well appointed room, air conditioned plenty of storage space, clean linen and towels.
It was apparent within a few minutes of arriving. That the staff were friendly, helpful and did their utmost to make all their guests feel welcome, in fact the hotel could be said to be "home from home". A quick trip to the bar found it well stocked with a great range of spirits and both the local brew KEO, and Carlsberg lager on tap, or available ice cold in large bottles! You can also by soft drinks and bottles of water.
Outside the bar is a lovely swimming pool, and plastic glasses are provided if you want to take your drinks outside and sunbathe and swim. There are plenty of sun loungers available and a covered dining area completes this excellent facility.
Breakfast is a buffet, and you can chose from a good continental selection, or, full English breakfast, with ice cold orange juice and tea and coffee available.
There is a pool bar menu with snacks and more substantial meals available at reasonable prices. There is also a restaurant menu which has some delicious local specialties as well as things like Lamb or Pork chops etc.
The food service left something to be desired, as on one day both the breakfast buffet and the dinner dishes were cold! On the following day there was no food as the chef decided to leave early in the evening – take away please.
A five minute walk will take you up into the village, where you will find a pharmacy, supermarkets, take away food outlets, nice bars and of course a bank. If you want to go further afield there is a bus stop, where you can catch the bus to Limassol and beyond, or if you prefer, ask at reception and they will call you a taxi. Price to Limassol is around 10 Euros each way.
If you want to see more of this beautiful island and its people, hire a car and get out and about to discover beautiful beaches, quaint villages and local cuisine, along with some stunning historical sites.
The Moniatis Hotel, well worth a visit, the best indication of how good this hotel is, comes from the number of Cypriots who chose to come here for the weekend. You can't get a better recommendation than that!
Olympic Representatives are on call and have a great range of excursions at really reasonable prices.
I am definitely returning to this hotel in October 2012.

Room Tip: If you want a pool view, then mention this when booking, as you could end p with a view of the car p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Psykic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Hello to all. In August last year my wife and I had our wedding at this hotel. (Moniatis) From the very first time we went to the hotel to see how suitable it would be, the Manager was tottally on the ball and put us at ease strait away. As you can imagine, living in the UK and trying to organise a wedding in Cyprus was made a whole lot easier by the competant and friendly staff. The Moniatis and the manager in perticular liturally catered for our every need.The festivities were had over a a week long period. We had many guests staying at the hotel and every one of them said that they had a fantastic time. The wedding its self was truly a day to remeber. with everything falling seemlessly into place. Also I have to ad that the food we had on the evening was out of this world. A big thank you to the catering staff. We would without doupt recomend the Moniatis for any event!! I would like to thank the Moniatis and the manager (Greg) for a truly magical time. If anyone would like to email me for a reference I would be more than happy to help. on davidcollumbell@yahoo.com .
Thanks again
David and Emily married on the 8th August 2011.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

we spent three whole weeks in moniatis hotel(march to april2012 the second time we have stayed at this hotel,when we booked our holiday we hired a car rather than pay for transfers(transfer from airport £98 car hire for 21days 135euros) what price freedom,we found a very warm welcome from all the staff from M Moniatis to the handyman,yes the hotel is in a quiet village out side the centre of town but if you want to relax have peace and quiet and encompas the cypriot way of life then this is for you. plenty of local shops within 5 mins walk local bars where you can see the lifestyle and join in ,yes we did notice that the bathrooms could do with tidying regards the sealant around the bath,showers were good plenty of hot water, minor details. as for the food a good english breakfast as well as continental food and plenty of it ,we upgraded to half board and had many tasty and excellent cypriot meals,yes the staff smoked outside but it was so they could keep an eye on reception as well as the bar( we smoke in uk) over all we enjoyed our stay at the moniatis hotel so if you want a cypriot stay in cyprus this is the place to be,with a car you can see the beauty of cyprus thanks to all the staff for making our stay such a good holiday see you all march 2014

Room Tip: rooms at the front of hotel get winter sun garden room good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

At around £16 for two per day for March 2012 including cooked breakfast it would be churlish to be too critical and there is no need. Clean fairly modern hotel. Very friendly helpful staff. Food acceptable, (on one night outstanding) and amazing value. Would recommend the hotel. The location is not so good. It is positioned on bus route 13 to Limassol but the buses stop early in the evening so if you dont have a hire car , you need a taxi home. The village is really urban sprawl and there are only one or two eccentric choices to eat nearby - but you will get a warm welcome if you venture out. We ate mostly in Limassol. We both wish the hotel and its staff a great summer - they deserve it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skomal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Nice location. Nice rooms.
Nice selection of food on the buffet (breakfast), nothing special but was good enough for the price.

Only thing that wasn't so good is the WIFI connection - which cost money.
Today, 2012, in my opinion, WIFI shouldn't cost extra $...

All-in-all, i would suggest it because of the value-for-money and location.
(visited in winter, so it didn't matter so much if we stay inside the city or the outskirts of the city).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ariel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yermasoyia
1.4 mi away
Estella Hotel Apartments
Estella Hotel Apartments
#31 of 56 in Limassol
221 reviews
1.9 mi away
Navarria Hotel
Navarria Hotel
#30 of 56 in Limassol
327 reviews
1.5 mi away
Harmony Bay Hotel
Harmony Bay Hotel
#16 of 56 in Limassol
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Park Beach Hotel
Park Beach Hotel
#22 of 56 in Limassol
212 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kapetanios Odyssia
Kapetanios Odyssia
#14 of 56 in Limassol
396 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kapetanios Hotel Limassol
Kapetanios Hotel Limassol
#18 of 56 in Limassol
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moniatis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moniatis Hotel

Address: Naxou 10 | Germasogeia Municipality, Yermasoyia 3721, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Yermasoyia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yermasoyia
Price Range: £26 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moniatis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the village of Yermasoyia Limassol in Cyprus, M. Moniatis Hotel offers rooms featuring a balcony with views of the surrounding mountains. Hotel M. Moniatis is just a 10-minute drive from the heart of Limassol, where guests can visit the Lemesos Medieval Museum and the Grand Mosque. Germasogeia is a great choice for travellers interested in tourism, archeology and clubbing. The rooms of Hotel M. Moniatis are decorated with warm, natural colours and wooden furniture. All rooms have air conditioning, a TV, and a safety deposit box. Guests can enjoy local and international cuisine in M. Moniatis Hotel's buffet and à la carte restaurant. The 2 bars serve a wide variety of drinks, light meals, and snacks. Facilities include an outdoor pool, an indoor pool and a sauna. The hotel has a 24-hour front desk, fax, photocopying servicesand laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Moniatis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moniatis Hotel Limassol, Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing