We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Villa on gorgeous grounds and such a stunning history.”

Villa Medicea di Poggio a Caiano
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Such an amazing property with such a rich history. The architecture and the artwork are stunning, There's also beautiful gardens and the most adorable cats that wander the Villa.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank mairayaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"half hour"
in 3 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 3 reviews
"day trip"
in 2 reviews
"rooms"
in 7 reviews
"visitors"
in 3 reviews
"door"
in 3 reviews
"villa"
in 16 reviews
"occupants"
in 2 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2015

This is a truly spectacular piece of architecture; its proportions (grand and grandiose as they are) are perfect; the prospect is wonderful; the light in many of the rooms on the piano nobile is remarkable. Thouigh the windows were mostly closed on our visit, one can imagine that the building takes full advantages of prevailing breezes and the path of the sun. I found the guide to be very helpful, once she unlocked her very good English after a much less satisfying conversation with me in my Italian. The frecoes in the main hall (the one with the Leo X "stemme") are quite wonderful, if restored and probably over-painted. Their classical scenes allude to cognate aspects of Lorenzo's remarkable life. One room contains glazed terracotta figures from the pediment. They are especially worth attention, particularly the images of bees and beehives--quite out of place with the other more "antique" images, but they reflect Lorenzo's passion for nature and gardening (and perhaps also some of his hopes for an orderly and productive state). It would seem that just about everything that has happened to the villa since Lorenzo and Leo and their immediate heirs (with the possible exception of the trellis frescoes in the billiard room) has been a form of desecration. The 19th C occupants--whose taste is still on display--represent the most egregious contributors to this deterioration. But the curators--perhaps out of conviction, but more probably because there is a shortage of funds to do much else--have left this as it was when occupied by various now largely forgotten monarchs. It would be wonderful to see this building "taken back", cleansed of the remnants of bad taste and made whole, you could say, with its lovely setting. A walk in that setting, in the gardens and woods gives many great views of the villa along with a convincing sense of why this was reputedly Lorenzo's favorite "home." If you are lucky, that walk will also lead you to encounter a most alluring, entertaining, slightly surly, but amazingly acrobatic cat, one of many felines who now get to live where Lorenzo once did.

Date of experience: November 2015
3  Thank Vicarmuddlebush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2015

This is the estate - huge Villa and Gardens - of perhaps the wealthiest man in the world in the 1400's-1500's, Lorenzo di Medici, and the grandeur and opulence attest this. An amazing place and its origins are so old. Not much signage in English so bring a tour book for information, but your eyes will guide you through this Medici treasure. ...

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank David B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

Last month my husband and I spent 5 nights in Florence and one of those days we did a Vineyard and Villas Tour where we ended our day visiting this Medicea Villa which dated back to the 1400's. We were surprised at how large this villa was but as our tour guide explained, this Medicea family was very wealthy at that time. Only took about 1/2 an hour or so to tour thru the whole villa and we were able to get some really good pictures of all the rooms. Surprisingly, this Villa even had it's own theatre inside. Was interesting to see something this old from that time period and but was disappointed that it wasn't in better condition, seeing as it was a museum now.

Date of experience: September 2015
2  Thank Barb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2015

We had several receptions here and a gorgeous banquet on the lawn in connection with a scientific conference. The setting is breathtaking, and the building is beautiful. Their local wines are delicious.

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank Rhoward2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa Medicea di Poggio a Caiano also viewed

Carmignano, Province of Prato
Carmignano, Province of Prato
 
Poggio a Caiano, Province of Prato
 

Been to Villa Medicea di Poggio a Caiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing