We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not for us” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hermitage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hermitage
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poggio a Caiano
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not for us”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. i chose it because of the good reviews. cleanliness is very important for us. i was extremely disappointed in this hotel. we paid a discounted price of 71 euros for a double room but the room wasn't worth 71 euros at all. the room was very dirty. there was even a piece of apple on the floor. hair everywhere and it was very full of dust. i had to wipe of the dust from the tables and wipe the light and lamp switches. the bathroom was a nightmare! the toilet is sooooooooo old, it's not even white anymore. it was color yellow! the exhaust fan in the bathroom is unbelievably loud. this hotel definitely needs to be renovated and the house keeping should clean properly. i just don't know if we were given an old room. there's a part in the hotel with newer doors and i don't know if those rooms are renovated and maybe most got those rooms that's why most reviews are positive. but i have to say that my friend who also stayed there said that the taxi driver she had said that this is a good choice of hotel.
positive things about the hotel are friendly and helpful staff, free parking, nice swimming pool.
unfortunately though, those positive points are not enough for us to want to go back to that hotel. :-(

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reisender101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    48
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
33
42
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germnay
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

We recently spent 3 nights at the Hermitage hotel, using it as a base to visit Florence. We were very impressed and would definitely recommend it. We had 2 very comfortable adjoining rooms for 2 adults and 2 children, which cost €90 per night including breakfast. There is a lovely pool, and it is possible to eat locally and have some authentic Tuscan food (just ask the hotel for recommendations). There is a regular bus to Florence, and the stop is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. It cost € 2 per adult (one-way) , and runs frequently throughout the day. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and we had a very memorable short-stay here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEAPGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

This is a perfect italian hotel. Understated in the decor of bedrooms, but amply made up for in quality and service and providing value for money that cannot be found in Florence or Prato.

The majority of staff are welcoming, interested and attentive. The restaurant is excelllent. Other reviewers suggest a 'nearby restaurant', we neither found it nor needed it. The hotel's dinner was excellent quality and value.- a glass of excellent wine here is a third of the cost in Prato.

The location is perfect for those who might wish to wander on foot. Moments of walking take you into lovely countryside with an abundance of wildlife, while the town of Poggio has everything you could need.

I hope to find a reason to go back. If you need a good value for money high quality alternative to Florence, or respite before or after business in Prato, look no further.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YVGUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

This hotel is about 45 minutes west of Florence in a very nice residential neighborhood high in the hills. There are olive groves down the road from the hotel. You can actually see the Duomo in Florence in the distance.

The parking was free in a graveled and fenced lot out front. The lobby was spacious with plenty of seating and a flat screen television. The room was very clean and nicely decorated reminding us of a Marriott or Hampton Inn. It had a large bathroom and a lot of closet space.

Breakfast was in a very nice restaurant area wth ample seating and included in the price of the room. The buffet had plenty of croissants, rolls, cereals, yogurt, cheese and lunchmeats, with juices and coffee/tea.

It was nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of the big city. We really enjoyed touring around the area and checking out the church with its Lourdes grotto and olive trees.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clifflef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden via USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

The pros: This hotel has great service -- at the front desk as well as the restaurant. The rooms are great, and we had a really lovely balcony. Unfortunately, the pool was not open yet; but it looked beautiful. The countryside is gorgeous and very relaxing. Once we figured out how the air conditioner worked, it was fantastic as well. The pillows are quite flat, but if you ask, the staff will be happy to give you a second set.

The cons: The hotel sits on top of a huge hill. If you walk from the bus stop (like we did), be prepared for a hike. Also, we did not rent a car.... we rented bikes from the hotel. At the time we thought bikes would be perfect. We did not realize how extremely hilly the surrounding area was which made our bike rental almost a joke. We thought we could take a nice leisurely ride around town and to some of the surrounding vineyards. Unless you are comfortable biking up steep hills repeatedly, this is is definitely a place you want a car.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamFancypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2008

I took my mother to Florence for 8 days. I wanted somewhere with a pool and not too busy as she is now 80 and doesn't like too much noise etc. Poggio a Caiano is pretty quiet and an excellent spot for touring the various places of interest such as Lucca, Pisa and Florence. We took the bus into Florence which was only €2 each way and about 30 mins. Better than driving and having to find parking! Tip for driving especially round Tuscany where a lot of the towns have baffling one way systems - take satnav if you have it! Without ours we got lost round Prato twice!

The hotel was excellent - our room was a little dark and so they moved us - in fact they let my mother have a choice of rooms to move to. All the staff were most helpful and friendly. Breakfast was adequate and we ate out most nights (hotel evening meals not quite so good!) again they advised us on restaurants to try and we had some very good pizzas locally and a lovely meal in a village a few miles away sitting outside looking out over a panoramic view of Florence!

In the end we only used the pool on our last day there to wind down before going home!

We would like to thank all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Daisydell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2007

We stayed her for 6 nights during August and were amazed at the quietness of the place. We had a great room with a patio which we didn't expect, very spacious and clean. Hardly anybody was staying at the hotel and we had the pool to ourself most of the time. The area is great to drive around and get lost in, we found a town which was jam packed with garden centres which supply the world with topiary. We also happened across Vinci (where Leornado came form). Brilliant restaurant in the town, a short stroll from the hotel where the staff are really friendly. Geat food. Also a very nice ice cream parlour in the town. Great place if you like it quiet. We will definately return.

  • Liked — quiet
  • Disliked — No restaurant during August
  • Stayed August 2005, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SomersetSammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poggio a Caiano
Artimino Apartments
#2 of 2 in Artimino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Hotel Villa San Michele
#1 of 5 in Carmignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Monti Hotel
#1 of 2 in San Baronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#62 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Art Hotel Museo
#3 of 18 in Prato
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Art Hotel Milano
#2 of 18 in Prato
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermitage

Property: Hotel Hermitage
Address: Via Ginepraia, 112, 59016 Poggio a Caiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Prato > Poggio a Caiano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poggio a Caiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hermitage 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located in Poggio a Caiano, in a quiet residential area, on a panoramic hill, close to the beautiful Villa Medicea "Ambra", which was erected in 1479 A.D. by order of Lorenzo The Magnificent Ideal both for business and leisure travellers, the hotel lies just 18 Kms from the artistic treasures of Florence; 6 Kms from Prato and 3 Kms from its industrial district Macrolotto; 16 Kms from Pistoia and its tree nursery district; 12 Kms from Quarrata (renowned for the production of furniture).Moreover, it lies within short driving distance from Carmignano, the medieval village of Artimino and some of the best wineries and olive oil producers in the Montalbano region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hermitage Prato
Hotel Hermitage Poggio a Caiano, Province Of Prato, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing