We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pearl in the oyster that is Tuscany”
Review of Hotel Hermitage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Hermitage
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poggio a Caiano
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've stayed at this hotel on 4-5 occasions and never need disappointed with any aspect of the stay, clear, comfortable, well catered, safe parking, for a short or long staff in a town that allows access to all the fantastic areas to visit of Tuscany, Hermitage takes a lot of beating.

Room Tip: rooms at the back look out onto country views
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eurobiketrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hermitage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

To be away from the heat and from the crowd after a long day of visit is a major benefit offered by this hotel. From the hills overlooking the valley you feel like these rich people from the ancient time going to Tivoli to escape Roma (for those having visited the Rome region). I find the atmosphere of this hotel exceptional. The service is excellent, very professional, very nice people; the food for diner is simple but very tasty and fresh. The prices are reasonable, if not cheap.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrick f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel is a great place to explore locations in Tuscany. It is located in a fairly quiet area and has lots of parking space. While the breakfast is average, the "menu del dia" is unbeatable: 3 course dinner, a decent table wine, mineral water, a free welcome sparkling wine, a cappuccino for an unbelievable 20 Euro. The only negative aspect was a tiny window in our room which was set in an angle and let very little light in, even on a bright day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpo-spam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stay at the Hermitage Hotel every year and I have to say its one of my favourite hotels in Tuscany. Its well located for exploring the area. Poggio a Caiano is an historic hamlet with sufficient nice restaurant if you need a change from Hermitage's excellent food. I travel a lot for business and pleasure, and stay in a lot of different hotels, and only recommend those that I am really satisfied with - Hermitage is one such hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed at Hermitage. I personally prefer those at the front overlooking the po...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eurobiketrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is a very good, clean and pleasant hotel. The staff afre friendly and will do everything they can to help. However, a car is a MUST as the hotel is very isolated so dont forget your driving license or book a car in advance. Walking distance to the local bar is over 800 metres and restaurants further, when you can find one open.
This hotel has air conditioning but many others in other villages do not so be aware as it gets very hot in this area of Tuscany.
The Hermitage does not do food at lunchtimes and on at least one day a week the restaurant is closed of a night so you will need a car to find a restaurant.
This Hotel has a large swimming pool and is recommended for a quiet holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrygrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel in August 2011, we found it to be clean and tidy at all times and has lovely views across Florence (if you look hard you can actually see the dome of the Cathederal). The staff go out of their way to give you any help you need, and all speak excellent English as well as other languages. The breakfast is continental but they lay out lots of fruit and other options, there is always something to everyones taste. We found it to be very quiet and relaxing with a nice pool which was also quiet, in fact we often had the pool to ourselves.
It is a good idea to have the use of a car when staying here as it is quite isolated. There is a bus stop about 10 mins walk away with buses to florence which takes about half an hour, but this only runs hourly and stops completely at around 8pm, although from Florence the latest back is 9.30. The hotel is located at the top of a hill so if you do walk back get your hiking boots out!! The hotel does have a restaurant but it is closed in August we did not try the food.
We went to the only restaurant in the village again about a 10 minute walk La Fragola which has good reasonably priced food, but the menu's are all in italian and the staff only speak limited English.

Room Tip: we had a room which overlooked the pool,black out blinds, mosquito nets at the windows, rooms a bit...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anonymous987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We chose the hotel because we didn't want to be in the centre of florence and wanted to be able to visit other places like Pisa and Luca. We were a family of four and had two rooms next to each other. Ther was really nowhere in the hotel for us to sit together in an evening and chat and play cards. we could not all sit in one rool- there wasn't the space.
Breakfast was Ok, but had a rather limited selection of food, compared to teh other places in Italy that we stayed ont his trip.
The staff were professional, but rather distant.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann_thescan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poggio a Caiano
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa San Michele
Hotel Villa San Michele
#2 of 5 in Carmignano
159 reviews
4.4 mi away
Art Hotel Museo
Art Hotel Museo
#2 of 18 in Prato
370 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villa La Malva
Villa La Malva
#4 of 5 in Carmignano
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Villa Saulina
Villa Saulina
#2 of 3 in Lastra a Signa
347 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tenuta di Artimino
Tenuta di Artimino
#2 of 2 in Artimino
145 reviews
3.4 mi away
Stilhotel
Stilhotel
#1 of 4 in Signa
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermitage

Address: Via Ginepraia, 112, 59016 Poggio a Caiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Prato > Poggio a Caiano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poggio a Caiano
Price Range: £69 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hermitage 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located in Poggio a Caiano, in a quiet residential area, on a panoramic hill, close to the beautiful Villa Medicea "Ambra", which was erected in 1479 A.D. by order of Lorenzo The Magnificent Ideal both for business and leisure travellers, the hotel lies just 18 Kms from the artistic treasures of Florence; 6 Kms from Prato and 3 Kms from its industrial district Macrolotto; 16 Kms from Pistoia and its tree nursery district; 12 Kms from Quarrata (renowned for the production of furniture).Moreover, it lies within short driving distance from Carmignano, the medieval village of Artimino and some of the best wineries and olive oil producers in the Montalbano region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hermitage Prato
Hotel Hermitage Poggio a Caiano, Province Of Prato, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing