We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Piece of Heaven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pukeatua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Out in the Styx Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Pukeatua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I had stayed here 18 months ago with a large group and had a wonderful time. Our host, Lance Hodgson was a wealth of knowledge and charming to boot! The food was great! So, I was anxious to revisit Out in the Styx and also the nearby ecological reserve, Maungatautari in the dead of winter. This time there were just two of us and our visit was better than ever. Mary's food was superb and Lance was the consummate host, sharing our dinner and his wealth of knowledge about the area. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with great views of the mountain. During the summer months, the gardens are ablaze with flowers! After a sumptuous meal, good company and great conversation, my friend and I enjoyed a soak in the spa while listening to the night calls of Kiwi and Morepork on the mountain. What could possibly be better?

Room Tip: My preference is for the rooms on the east end where there is a lounge for guest use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GailGarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

Close to Maungatautari bird sanctuary and the Waikato river trails! The ensuite rooms are very comfortable and clean and look out onto a rural perspective! The spa pool is a wonderful place to be after a long walk or bike ride! The meals are all home cooked and gourmet! Lots of space to sit inside or outside and enjoy the rural setting!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret_OAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed two nights at Out in the Styx and spent the day at Maungatautari reserve, just up the road. Our room was quite basic in some ways but tastefully decorated in a Pacific island theme - all the rooms have different themes. Big, comfortable bed, tidy bathroom, and just outside was a lovely hot spa pool - very nice after a day in the bush. I was a bit surprised that for the money we were paying (equivalent to an upper middle range motel in town) that we didn't get any room service - I would have at least expected my bed to be made. We shared tea making facilities and sitting room with two other units - luckily we were the only ones staying, as it would have been pretty crowded with four other people. The TV set was a tiny outdated piece of equipment which only showed one channel - not really good enough these days..
Lance was very genial as a host, and there were nice touches in the restaurant such as a cosy fire and a good range of interesting books. Lance also arranged our night tour of Maungatautari with Phil Brown.
While Lance chatted to us at mealtimes his wife Mary was beavering away in the kitchen cooking a very nice four course meal (soup, main, dessert and cheeseboard plus tea/coffee.) Breakfast was a hearty two course meal. We paid an all-inclusive rate of $130 per person for this, and I couldn't help thinking that unless you took full advantage of the meals - and not everyone is always that hungry - it worked out pretty expensive over all. I would have been happier to pay maybe $30 less for two of us, bearing in mind the lack of room service and the pathetic TV. But as a place from which to visit the excellent Maungatautari reserve, it was very convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed here for one night after a family party. The rooms are very clean, roomy and perfectly adequate, and the host Lance is very genial and accommodating. A great place if you've been tramping in the Maungatautari area and especially to visit the ecological centre which is hub to the fantastic protected area for wildlfe. Next time we will take the guided walk in the Southern enclosure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bev-fothergill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

What a wonderful place is !! We stayed only one night. but we had to stay longer.
Owner are so kind and nice. Rooms are very clean and comfortable.
View from the room are Fantastic!! and gooood and yamiiiii dinner and breakfast, oishikatta(was delicious in japanese).We really hope to visit again. and We knew now Moungatautari is very precious place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

This is a well thought out accommodation, beautifully landscaped and lovingly decorated. The room was clean a comfortable. If you need to have a small group retreat, this place is ideal. We had an absolutely amazing dinner and breakfast, the hosts are great for conversation and love the work they do. The location is really out in the styx, but great if you are visiting the glow worm caves and Rotorura. A wildlife refuge is just up the hill and a beautiful blue spring trail is down the road. We are glad we stayed in this location. We were the only guests during their slow season and we thought it was a bit odd that we were asked to leave our room before the 10am checkout, while we were eating this huge breakfast, to accommodate the cleaning staff's schedule. We didn't have time to shower, originally thinking we did before breakfast. After spending over $260 and being the only one's there we didn't understand why that request was necessary. However, we were welcome to use the free wifi in the cafeteria area "as long as we liked" so we took up their offer and stayed there until noon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Out in rural waikato, surrounded by farmland and very close to an ecological sanctuary, Out in the Styx is a great wee place to stay. In addition to the rooms being well appointed and clean, the food was absolutely brilliant!! We were a party of 16 and it was the best place to go. No TV, one has to have a wee walk to get cell coverage so it is brilliant - it is about quality relaxation without the hustle and bustle:)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPeeps16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Out in the Styx Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Out in the Styx Guesthouse

Address: 2117 Arapuni Road | Waikato, Pukeatua 3880, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Pukeatua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pukeatua
Price Range: £71 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Out in the Styx Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family have been living here and operating as a restaurant and guesthouse for over 20 years. We don't have a menu but our guests are always satisfied with the delicious meals we prepare and the gorgeous setting. We are very fortunate to look directly up at the the forested mountains within the Maungatautari Ecological Island, a 3500 hectare pest free scenic reserve. We operate a drop-off service for hikers walking the traverse and our van can take up to 8 cycles for drop off and pickups on the Waikato River Trail. We are between Rotorua and Waitomo and our rates include a four course dinner and a two course breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing