We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Out in the Styx Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosetown Motel(Te Awamutu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No. 1 Motels(Cambridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Lodge Motel(Te Awamutu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Cambridge Mews(Cambridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
113
19
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
19
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanctuary mountainspa poolnew zealandwaikato river trailshot tubhome cookedfamily businesswonderful foodensuite roompredator proof fenceflora and faunaminutes drive awayguided tourguest house isan extra nightbig walka wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

A truly hidden treasure just below the largest pest proof fenced conservation area in the world. . Sanctuary mountain, Maungatautari offers a range of walks to suit many levels of fitness, rising up to Mount Pukeatua.. Through lush native forest, full of birdsong and other protected species it is a magical place with stunning views from the top. .
After being dropped off at the Northern entrance by our hosts we clambered back to a well earned spa pool and the most fabulous 4 course dinners, not forgetting the huge breakfasts..
A wealth of knowledge available and enthusiastic guides available day and the night tour was amazing. ..
Truly wonderful way and place to take time out. ..
I will definitely be returning. ..

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank LusbyHampshire_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

As part of a group of 8 ladies that meet up from all parts of the North Island once a year, somewhere different each time, our weekend 'Out in the Styx" was superb! Value for money, central to all we chose to do (biking river trail & Maungatautiri tramp) fantastic food, and beautiful surroundings. Thank you Lance & Mary, on behalf of "The Pearlers"

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

On this visit we thought we would try Lance's new option of biking the Karapiro/Waikato river cycleway. Lance transported us to the start of our ride in Cambridge and sent us on our way. 32kms later having conquered some steep hills and then the easier riverside tracks we arrived at Arapuni village for a well deserved coffee at the Rhubarb café. A phone call brought Lance back to transport us back to the guesthouse. There a long soak in the spa and some beers soon had us ready for the scrumptious meal Mary provided. Plenty of wonderful flavoursome home cooking and desserts to die for. Lance & Mary are gracious hosts and we had a wonderful weekend with our friends and hope to return in the near future

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had a great stay here. The room was comfortable and we enjoyed the spa pool and the rural/mountain views from the garden. The meals were hearty and you definitely won't go hungry. Hosts were very friendly as well. Easy access to Maungatautari.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank grape76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My family and I stayed here for one Saturday night. We had a great evening meal and a great breakfast.. On the Sunday we were transferred to the other side for a walk back over the Mountain. A good but generally hard walk. Will be back to stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews