We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pukeatua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Out in the Styx Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Pukeatua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We and four friends had such a memorable time- stayed an extra night! The food -delicious-the best. Wonderful hosts, great conversation and genuine interaction with all guests. Excellent advice and info about planning your day. The songbooks- what a fun night we had. Thank you Mary and Lance, you made our weekend.
Rob & Duncan Shaw

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robs610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
35
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked a night walk on Maungatautari Mountain and a friend said: you have to stay at this place called Out in the Styx, they are great hosts and gourmet cooks and it is so close to the bird reserve and my friend was absolutely right. We are delighted we didn't miss this opportunity. Mary and Lance, the hosts offer bunkrooms but also double ensuite rooms, have lovely gardens and a spa. The ensuite rooms are really big and very clean, facilities are very well maintained and there is no noise from the road - because there is no traffic :-)))) You will be woken up only by the birds.... One of our next projects on the list is the Waikato river trail by bike, the guesthouse is very close to the tracks and we'd love to come back for our next adventure.

Room Tip: The ensuite was great for us, it is a bit more expensive, but remember it includes a three course di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had a wonderful stay with Mary & Lance. Outstanding food, amazing location and generally a fantastic experience. Mary cooked up a veritable feast & Lance provided us with so many suggestions for places to visit that we'll have to make the trip back to New Zealand again soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l8leight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Out In The Styx combined everything we love when we travel, proximity to a world-class ecological preserve, tasty food, good humored hosts and an authentic experience far from the madding crowd. Innkeepers Mary and Lance are delightful. What a pleasure to find such delicious cooking and stimulating conversation out in the styx. A definite highlight and indelible memory for us was the night hike that Lance arranged for us in the Maungatautari Reserve led by Phil Brown. Phil Brown's love for Maungatautari and his encyclopedic knowledge of the area were inspirational. Phil joined us for dinner at Out In The Styx prior to our night hike and shared his stunning photographs and ebullient enthusiasm for the flora and fauna of the Maungatatari. Even if you are only staying one night at Out In The Styx, be sure to treat yourself to a night hike with Phil.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vramgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

What a great find Out in the Styx proved to be.
Well positioned for both the nearby Maungatautari Island Reserve and the Waikato River Trail.
The accommodation is good for families and groups. We had a twin bed room with en-suite which was comfortable. There is a communal room for teas, TV and for meeting ones fellow guests.
However the best parts of this stay are the hosts, Mary for her fantastic home cooking, and Lance for his front of house, his knowledge of the local area, Maungatautari in particular, and his help in ensuring that his guests get the best out of their stays. He not only organised our bikes, but also lent us his van so we could take them to section 4 of the Waikato Trail.
When I return to NZ in 4 years time I hope to be returning to Out in the Styx.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandd-draper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is one of those places that's so good you hesitate to tell the rest of the world. It feels like you're out in the styx but there's heaps to do close by. Lance is a great salesman for local activities, especially the attractions of Maungatautari. And Mary's cooking is sublime. As a coeliac I'm always anxious about eating catered food when I want to be well enough to walk. No problem, and best of all no missing out. Just recalling the meals still makes me salivate. Tui, fantail and vagrant rosellas messed round in the garden - we enjoyed them with glass of wine in hand sitting outside our comfy unit with the mountain providing a perfect backdrop.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

A truly hidden treasure just below the largest pest proof fenced conservation area in the world. . Sanctuary mountain, Maungatautari offers a range of walks to suit many levels of fitness, rising up to Mount Pukeatua.. Through lush native forest, full of birdsong and other protected species it is a magical place with stunning views from the top. .
After being dropped off at the Northern entrance by our hosts we clambered back to a well earned spa pool and the most fabulous 4 course dinners, not forgetting the huge breakfasts..
A wealth of knowledge available and enthusiastic guides available day and the night tour was amazing. ..
Truly wonderful way and place to take time out. ..
I will definitely be returning. ..

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LusbyHampshire_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pukeatua
13.2 mi away
Huntington Stables Retreat Accommodation
12.0 mi away
Earthstead Villas
Earthstead Villas
#2 of 29 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
13.1 mi away
Matariki Motor Lodge
Matariki Motor Lodge
#1 of 7 in Te Awamutu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Kauri Lodge
Kauri Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
15.6 mi away
Okoroire Hot Springs Hotel
8.8 mi away
Gully Retreat Karapiro
Gully Retreat Karapiro
#8 of 29 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Out in the Styx Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Out in the Styx Guesthouse

Property: Out in the Styx Guesthouse
Address: 2117 Arapuni Road | Waikato, Pukeatua 3880, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Pukeatua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pukeatua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Out in the Styx Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family have been living here and operating as a restaurant and guesthouse for over 20 years. We don't have a menu but our guests are always satisfied with the delicious meals we prepare and the gorgeous setting. We are very fortunate to look directly up at the the forested mountains within the Maungatautari Ecological Island, a 3500 hectare pest free scenic reserve. We operate a drop-off service for hikers walking the traverse and our van can take up to 8 cycles for drop off and pickups on the Waikato River Trail. We are between Rotorua and Waitomo and our rates include a four course dinner and a two course breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing