We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such friendly service.”
Review of The Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Castle Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Bletchley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The room was just perfect, very comfortable. Bedding was beautiful and the bed so comfortable.

New and luxuriously appointed bathroom furniture.Soap dispenser by the basin could do with replacing as really difficult to get any soap out (luckily I had brought a bar of soap with me),

At dinner and lunch we found the food to be very wholesome and enjoyable although the breakfast dire. The 'help yourself table' displayed just a few cereals to choose from and jug of orange juice. The 'breakfast' more suited to a transport cafe. Such a shame although hungry next morning I just could not face it again.

The staff, every one of them so friendly and helpful. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived until we left.

What the hotel could not help was being situated alongside the very busy A41 - sleep was difficult. The first night with enormous lorries thundering past ALL through the night meant I did not get one minutes sleep. I think sheer exhaustion together with less traffic meant I caught up with sleep the next night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HertfordshireKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for The Castle Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

We had our wedding here at the Castle inn on July 31st.We had 51 guests and the dining room was just the right size to fit everybody in comfortably.
Everything was wonderful from the beginning.;The staff (thanks to Fiona, Claire and Kerry especially), the food was 5 star plus, the table decorations, the accommodation and the breakfast the next morning were excellent too.
We had eaten there before but but never attended an event of any kind. From the moment we arrived at the Castle we were made to feel special. Nothing was too much for any of the staff and all of our family and friends commented on the excellent food. We booked all of the rooms and everybody found the accommodation to their liking.
The evening entertainment was excellent too. Kelly and Eric are awesome and just right for a wedding like ours when lots of drinking and dancing takes place. We cant thank Fiona enough for recommending them.
Finally, thanks to David for ensuring every ones glass remained full throughout the evening.
Thank you all so much.

Room Tip: There was no swimming pool, but I could not manage to edit my report.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at The Castle Inn in Bletchley and it came up to our expectations as before. There is plenty of car parking and access is easy off the A41. The breakfast was very generous. We would be happy to stay there again. If you like a rural setting choose a room in the annexe. I can't do stairs and we were able to park right outside the entrance to our ground floor room which overlooked fields at the back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 74redhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Great, home cooked, hearty fresh food. Warm welcome. Waitress service the best, always happy to help or advise on menu choice. Will accommodate alternative 'on the side options' (ie, potatoes instead of chips).
Excellent prices.
Just wish this place was closer to home as we have to travel.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenGem999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

we arrived later on at night and were shown to our room , which was a purpose built building three steps away from the Inn. The room was beautifully decorated with a large king size bed, and a fabulous en suite. There was tv good selection of coffees and tea bags and lovely thick towels. The staff were all really friendly, and very obliging, The bed was very comfortable and the room very warm and cosy. Breakfast next day was cooked to order with massive portions and brown and white toast, a good selection of cereals and fresh orange juice. We could basically come and go as we pleased and the rooms were serviced every day/ The views outside are wonderful, just rolling hills and fields. We had originally booked in for two nights, but because of the weather we booked in a night before we were due to, this wasn't a problem, then as the weather did indeed worsen we asked if we could stay a further night again this was not a problem and we paid the discounted price for all four nights. My husband ordered sandwiches which came with a lovely side salad and home cut chips, and one morning I was unwell and was brought breakfast in bed by my husband :D We will definitely be staying here whenever we are in Shropshire. Thank You! We also noticed how popular the restaurant and bar was....standing room only and I would recommend booking a table

Room Tip: Rooms 1- 4 are upstairs accessible by an outside stairway rooms 5-8 have their own little verandas w...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I had reason to stay here for a night in December 2012.

I had one of the new or refurbished rooms in the annex. The cleaners need to check the drawers after each guest ! The room was spacious. The bed was large. The bathroom was a good size and the shower was lovely.

The hotel has free wifi. The reception in my room was far from ideal. Also Vodafone reception was a waste of time in the room. Vodafone works well in the main building.

Dinner was good if not great. Certainly worth the money.

At night it is fortunate that the hotel is in a rural area because there is no curtain on the glass fronted door. I would recommend that this is attended to by the owners before the summer if they want their guests to have a good night's sleep.

Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Famsol67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We eat at this pub allong with others. My wife,a vegetarian, ordered her food which was served to another diner. When the mistake was found the waitress scraped the vegetables off the plate and served it to my wife. Disgusting, we will never eat there again and will advise others the same.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
6  Thank d w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn

Address: Bletchley TF9 3RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bletchley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bletchley
Price Range: £75 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at this traditional English Country Inn, which has been family run for over 20 years. The restaurant offers an array of traditional English dishes, complemented by Tanners’ Wines. The bar offers a variety of hand pulled real ales. The Castle Inn, Bletchley now also offers a convenient stopover for any traveller, with its beautiful purpose built bed and breakfast accommodation, featuring eight king size bedrooms, all with lovely views of open countryside.The Castle Inn, Bletchley is located on the A41 giving you easy access to all major routes. There is also a great array of local North Shropshire amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Inn Bletchley, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing