We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of The Elk's Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Elk's Head
Ranked #1 of 1 Whitfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stopped here on our route up to Alnwick. We found it a very friendly place. The room was not the best lay out or design and the WiFi only works in the bar and there is virtually no mobile system. Although our room didn't have one, the hotel has great views over the adjacent river. The food was excellent, we had our evening meal and breakfast there, well recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehorans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    75
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
114
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Elks Head was simply a perfect location to meet with my family, the hotel was very friendly and had a lovely relaxing atmosphere, the food really good, and the area was great for walking and exploring!
We had a lovely day visiting Vindolanda & Hadrians Wall.... Inspiring us all to do the walk!
Our room was in the extension on the ground floor and was very clean, fresh and comfortable!
I'm sure we will be back and would happily recommend this small hotel for a few days stop over!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliMcAlistair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Four of us went for lunch today, we've been a few times since our 1st review as the Food is always Sooooooooooo Good ! This time was no exception, really good fresh food well cooked so the Food is still great But......................the service today was appalling.

We ate in the bar and there were 3 Female members of staff who all seemed to prefer to stand behind the bar doing nothing, the only thing they were good at was ignoring us.
We waited over 20 mins for the table to be cleared after we'd finished our mains and then that only happened when I went up to the bar to ask for the Desert Menu.

To be honest the level of service has steadily dropped on each of our visits but the food is so nice we put up with it, I've never left a tip in a long time of eating here now as the staff simply do not deserve one.

In short, Great Food shame about the service !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaveandShaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Elks Head, my husband, myself and our dog. The setting is really pretty and the pub was excellent, both for accommodation and food. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, both to ourselves and our mad springer spaniel. She made a friend in Alba too. Whitfield is a very pretty setting with the fabulous river with dams and waterfalls rushing past the bedroom window. Thank you to all the staff for our lovely stay. Would certainly go again xx

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 36katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just back from our stay at The Elks Head and we will be sure to return there.

There isn't much in the village of Whitfield and the pub serves as a centre and meeting point for both locals and tourists. Its location means that you can tour the area easily and can be at Housesteads (on Hadrians Wall) in about 30 minutes.

We stayed for 2 nights in a room overlooking the river and were lulled to sleep by the soft noise of the falls outside. On both nights prior to that we ate and drank in the bar and the food was excellent. They also have local beers as well as the standard brews.

The excellent countryside is great for walking and relaxing in; somewhere we will be no doubt coming back to in the near future and will happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cran4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Spent 3 nights in one of the river rooms recently and whilst the bedrooms are nice the carpets of a light colour are very dirty and either need changing or deep cleaning!
I also had a single bed with in my opinion a much too light quilt for the winters nights and being a restless sleeper was constantly fighting to keep it on my bed!
The showers are absolutely brilliant and I spent more time than I normally would in one of these at this hotel!
Satellite tv in the form of freestat is more than adequate - no normal tv reception in this quaint area.

Breakfast was very good with many choices and variations.
One criticism there was no real ale on the 2nd night- it had run out and was being replaced after our stay- this is one of the reasons why we chose to stay there- not happy people!

Will not take much to bring this hotel up to scratch in my opinion but please look at the carpets they were filthy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shimmy192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

this is a nice country hotel, we enjoyed our couple of nights here, nice room, clean, good shower, good food, friendly and helpfull staff, good atmosphere, locals friendly . .... new year buffet was ok,,, simple main courses, but tasty, the starter platter was very good, desserts - dissapointing.. their normal menu is excellent with good local produce....
at new year they had a DJ, which was good, lively, very hectic, then everyone seemed to dissappear at 11.30 and go to Allandale for the tar barrels being carried round the square at midnight.... we missed that... .. we enjoyed a trip to Penrith on new years day... wonderful views over Alston moor.... it looked good even in the depths of winter.... we were lucky with weather, so could see the magnificent scenery.... a nice part of the world to amble through...

Room Tip: rooms at back were quiet and relaxing, overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murphy-edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitfield
4.7 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,126 reviews
13.2 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
18.7 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
13.4 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Redesdale Arms
The Redesdale Arms
#2 of 6 in Otterburn
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elk's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elk's Head

Property: The Elk's Head
Address: Whitfield NE47 8HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Whitfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Whitfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elk's Head 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Elk's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elk's Head Whitfield, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing