We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food.”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hellidon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Red Lion
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hellidon
Central Scotland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good food.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I'm afraid I only ate here but I can't seem to find an option to review the restaurant.

There was a quite a large party of us, and we landed on one of their "Ladies Nights" so service was a bit slow, but the lovely waiting staff did apologise for the delay, and also the fact that they kept running out of different types of drinks, explaining that they have an extremely small cellar.

However, the food was good, and I would recommend this little country pub to anyone.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Scotsbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    11
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
16
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from Ladies Night at this restaurant where a special menu is offered - 2 courses for around £15 or 3 incl. a glass of wine or fizz for just over £19. Wow! What can I say - just a truly wonderful evening, the food was stunning (definitely recommend the box baked Camembert for starter and freshly baked doughnuts for pudding) This restaurants sheer quality is not to be missed, highly recommend an evening meal whether it's Ladies Night or not. I will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My family and I have just returned from our fourth visit for Sunday Lunch. Does that not say everything. It is excellent and very good value. See you there next Sunday...but book because it is not mass produced there is only a certain number available.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missymessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northend, Warwickshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

After picking up a late booking locally for New Year's Eve, we then faced the problem of where to find something to eat. We didn't want the buffet and disco, or the hog roast and karaoke and certainly not the five course gala dinner; we simply wanted a well cooked and tasty pub meal and that is exactly what we got. OK, the décor is a little jaded, but the welcome was warm, the service good, the roaring fire excellent and steaks cooked to specification and as tender and tasty as you are likely to find anywhere. Well done, Red Lion the only but worthy saviour on the day!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beveren22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

My sister and I stopped off at this lovely country pub on the way home from a spa visit. The staff were very friendly, the pub itself was really nice and the pub lunches were delicious! My sister and I had a baguette and chips and it was really nice. We will definitely be going back there again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jessjack03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

After visiting most of the local watering holes both my wife and I have come to conclusion that this is the best pub in the area!!!!! Warm welcome, lovely atmosphere, amazing food, broad selection of drinks and to top it all off good value for money. The only criticism I have is that if we don't book we don't get the seat by the open fire!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were staying at a local hotel but based on the reviews decided to go to the Red Lion. What an excellent choice. The welcome was friendly as was the service. The food was as anticipated. The Tuesday was a birthday celebration and we had enjoyed the Red Lion so much we went back. Again we were not disappointed, excellent welcome, friendly service and super food. Definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueD503972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hellidon
0.8 mi away
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel
2.7 mi away
De Vere Staverton Estate
5.3 mi away
Mercure Daventry Court Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Heart of England Hotel Weedon by Marston's Inns
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton West M1, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: Stockwell Lane, Hellidon NN11 6LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Hellidon
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hellidon
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Hellidon
Red Lion Daventry
Daventry Red Lion
The Red Lion Hellidon, Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing