We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food - not a good visit!”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Dodleston
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Take an off the beaten track location in Dodleston, a menu bursting with fresh seasonal dishes and a cellar full of real ales and fine wines and you have the ingredients for the perfect country pub and restaurant. It's a winning formula of traditional mixed with a few contemporary touches that makes The Red Lion a special place to visit.
north wales
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Average food - not a good visit!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We visited the Red Lion in order to have Sunday lunch. We usually go to the Glasfryn in Mold but, unfortunately, they didn't have a free table. We arrived and were shown to our table and told a waitress would be with us soon to take our order. 10 minutes later, my husband decided to go to the bar himself as it didn't look like we would be served anytime soon. We drank our drinks and waited a little more. In the end we had to attract the attention of a waitress to take our food order. We ordered 2 roast beef dinners and haddock and chips. The food arrived and to be fair the beef looked and tasted good. But I'm afraid that's where the good comments end... the vegetables that came with the roasts were laughable! We were served bendy, woody parsnips which were dry and chewy. The mixture of cabbage and peas was hard and dry, the carrots were rock hard and the roast potatoes we were given were obviously some that were scrapped last out of the tin as they were just small, hard crispy offerings which didn't really resemble a potato at all! The haddock and chips didn't fare much better. The chips were soggy and so was the batter on the fish. The waitress asked us if all was ok and we said ' no, not really' and she just said 'oh' and walked off!
We didn't stay for dessert as we really didn't want to give the pub any more of our hard earned cash.
Needless to say, we will not be eating here again and will be sticking to our usual pub for Sunday lunch

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank missy3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    67
    46
    39
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“lovely food good atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Having popped in here on a saturday night , my husband and I was greeted by a very friendly gentleman behind the bar ,as it was realy busy my husband asked if they had a table for two, we where showed a lovely table by the bar the only downside it was right by the door to come in so now and again it felt cold as the draught came through, they still had the menu for valentine s day which was a set menu which my husband had . I decided to go with the menu. our starters arrived both was delicious, it was nice to feel relaxed in between our courses,our main meal was cooked to perfection, feeling full i still managed to fit my sweet in ,the whole pub is lovely and cosy with a lovely log fire,.... when we finished our meal i would have loved to have sat it the bar area with the comfy seats ,but there was not enough seating ... there is a good size car park will be back again soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MAVISMARY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Pub, Tasty Food”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

A cosy and warm pub thats tastefully decorated. You feel welcome as soon as you step through the door. A lot of choice to choose from and the food tastes beautiful!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chloe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just about OK”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Staff friendly and pleasant enough but missing that attention to detail. The pub had no Prosecco left following new year - understandable, but it took a while for the staff member to discover this. We were then offered an alternative "fizz" - great! But then the issue was finding out how much to charge us..... five minute discussion and where to find it on the till. The food arrived ok but no condiments were brought or offered, so I had to go and wait at the bar until someone was free to ask.....another few minutes. Meals finished, offered dessert menu and then - nothing. We had to go back to the bar to ask if we could order desserts...and so on. The roasted flat mushrooms with stilton starter was one very small mushroom, ridiculously overpriced at £4.95, good job I ordered fries to accompany it. When we went up to the bar to pay, there was no asking whether everything was alright and no smile or thanks when I offered the tip, too busy looking across the pub at some other distraction. Will not be offering our custom there again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaybly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“just garbage”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

the first round of drinks were correct. thats the positives.
got three out of seven mains incorrect.
empty glasses were left on table and never asked if we would like anymore drinks.
they only took half the plates off the table when we finished
service was extremely slow
the food didnt taste fresh
the lettuce on my starter was brown and wrinkled (maybe they microwaved this while microwaving everything else)
they bring you sauces on a tray, most of which were empty, and who has vinegar in an open pouring pot? recipe for disaster.
the bbq sauce with the hunters chicken is the worst bbq sauce i've ever tasted
nephew's burger was dry and tasteless.hardly a waiter or waitress in sight all night.
overall an awful meal. first visit in three years and nothing changes. how this place still gets business is beyond me

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank phillip b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

 
Rossett, Wrexham
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing