We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Stay at Ramada”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumshanbo
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay at Ramada”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed with 2 young kids at the Ramanda in Drumshambo over the Easter break. This is about 10 or 15 minutes drive from Carrick on Shannon. The hotel had very good facilities for the kids in particular swimming pool, playground + green area and kids club. This was ideal for us, the kids really enjoyed it. With the good weather we could have been anywhere really. We had a family room which had a double and 2 single beds. The room was large enough for these. It was clean and had the usual facilities – TV with about 8 channels, tea/coffee making items etc. Breakfast was good standard with cereals, breads, cold meats, hot fry, fruit etc. We ate in the bar, good kids selection and very tasty. Service was a bit slow, they seemed a bit under staffed at times. But the staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall, enjoyable stay and would return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    254
    133
    41
    28
See reviews for
270
327
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We arrived late on a Saturday night and were offered a great deal 90 euro for 2 nights bed and breakfast. Staff were helpful and friendly. Rooms were spotless, we had a lovely view and the swimming pool was nice. Food was very nice and the staff in the restaurant were excellent, all in all a good experience

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just returned from Lough Allen after a 3 day stay. Friday to Sunday.
The room they had put aside for us was the same one we had stayed in the last time and as it was away from the main reception suited us.
Music every night. Drumshambo is a quiet area and Carrick on Shannon is only 10 minutes by car.
The staff are friendly and are quick to recognize that you are on a return visit.
I won't name staff as ALL were very helpful.
Food standards were excellent from breakfast and bar food to the restaurant.
Ordered room service for breakfast on the Sunday arrived on time with good portions at a €5 charge.
Can't comment on Leisure Centre as we didn't use it. If you're looking for a quiet break this is the place to chill and relax.
the rooms were cold after 1230am on the Friday and when I approached reception was told that if we rang they could have put it back on as it was on a timer (may be something to look at by the hotel). A small complaint on an otherwise relaxing and total chill weekend

Room Tip: From 108 to 122 is a good distance from reception with 2 pool tables and a seating area half way up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boomerbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

A lovely hotel in a quiet setting.The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from Drumshanbo.We stayed for a 2 night break and found it excellent value.The prices for food and drink were very reasonable,the staff were friendly and helpful.The only down side was the size of the changing area in the swimming pool. I Would not like to be using it when too busy. Also having to keep the button pressed for water when showering after a swim.One would need 3 hands to operate this system.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I'd highly recommend this hotel, we got a deal for 2 nights and 1 spa treatment each for €150.00, brilliant value! When I made the booking there were no standard rooms left so the nice lady Bernie upgraded us to the deluxe room.

The room was lovely, great view of the lake and a jacuzzi in the bathroom! The main light in the bathroom went overnight and when the lady replacing the towels the next day seen it they sent someone to replace it straight away.

I can't emphasize how good the staff were, both in reception and the bar and restaurant. They were friendly and anything they could do to accommodate they did. The bar food was nice, if a little expensive but had a good atmosphere. Breakfast was nice, they had no beans out but were given when asked for, again staff were brilliant. The gym and pool again were a nice bonus. Carrick is only 5 minutes away and if looking for footie and a bite to eat I'd recommend Murtaghs Bar, great menu and big screens for the lads!

Overall GREAT stay and will be back again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noely D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed at the Lough Allen Hotel for a weekend break with my girlfriend, after we took advantage of an Escapes.ie deal (€99 for a two-night stay with breakfast, late checkout and 20% off spa treatments).

We really enjoyed our stay, but there were a few niggling problems with the hotel, primarily to do with the service in the bar/bistro. We had dinner there both nights (as the restaurant was full-up) and, on both nights, the waiting staff took very little notice of us. We accepted that the bar was busy, but there was no excuse for being ignored so often, for so long, by so many people.

The service did improve as the second night went on, possibly because more and more customers cleared out, but we felt sufficiently annoyed as to not leave a tip any of the times we were there. And, of course, it would be remiss of me not to mention that my girlfriend found a long piece of clingfilm in her lunch when we ate there on the second day. Having said that, the food, overall, was quite good in the bar.

There are plenty of good things in the hotel, but I want to get the negative out of the way first, so, to finish off: (i) the cups and glasses in our bedroom were quite dirty, as was some of the cutlery in the bar; (ii) there was no wifi in the bedroom (I know this sounds silly, but we live in a modern time where smartphones are used to look up things to do in the area or to find out some information. Some basic level of wifi in the bedrooms would be good.) (iii) A small problem, but the TV stations were dreadful. However, this doesn't really matter when you're only using it in between utilising the hotel's other activities and eating!

Of course, there were an awful lot of good things in the hotel. The room was lovely (we were given a family room, so we had plenty of space!) and was, apart from the glasses and cups, kept immaculately clean. Bernie in reception was an absolute delight when we needed anything, helping us to feel welcome and to feel like we wanted to come back.

The service at breakfast was very good and attentive, while the breakfast itself was perfect, with the right mix of hot food, drinks, fruit and pastries.

Unfortunately, we didn't get a chance to use the leisure facilities, but, from the outside, they looked well-kept and perfect. The only thing I would say is that, for men who forget to bring swimming trunks or shorts (like I did), €20 for a pair of swimming trunks in the leisure facility is a pretty ridiculous price.

I would also point out that the hotel was PACKED full of children. Now, this didn't bother us as we really appreciated the buzzing atmosphere in the hotel, but, for those who are looking for something a little quiter, this might not be the place to go.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and we would go back in the future (hopefully with a few of the above problems sorted out!)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidRafferty90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Where to start....no heating in the room had to call reception and ask for it to be switched on came on for couple hrs then was switched off again. No radiator in bathroom so that was like an ice box. Ordered room service which was returned as food was un edible on the Wednesday on the Thursday I again ordered room service and again food wasn't touch I had been told it would be with me in 15 mins which turned into 40 even the coffee was cold so again tray was left outside with food untouched. The saving grace for this hotel was the Spa the staff were amazing treatments were first class. I also dealt with Bernie a lovely lady at reception who seemed genuinely concerned when she came to take the food back and offered to get me something else.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank tyson2426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumshanbo
4.6 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
7.9 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
7.9 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#2 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
20.1 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Allen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Allen Hotel & Spa

Property: Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Address: Drumshanbo, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Hotel and Suites at Lough Allen)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Drumshanbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumshanbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lough Allen Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Allen Hotel in County Leitrim in the northwest of Ireland is truly somewhere special! Situated on the shores of Lough Allen, only 14 km from the bustling town of Carrick on Shannon, it is just a short walk to the town of Drumshanbo. The hotel combines with the stunning Leitrim countryside to offer the ideal destination; be it for the romantic short-break where spa treatments, leisure centre and a sumptuous candlelight dinner are all components that make for an unforgettable short break. Or is it a family reunion that would like to include organised activities during the day rounded off with a lavish family meal in the evening. As a wedding venue or conference centre, Lough Allen Hotel has played its part in creating success after success. The central location of the hotel in Leitrim facilitates tours and visits to the surrounding unspoiled countryside, always being able to return to the warm welcome of committed staff members! The many lakes that comprise the stunning Leitrim countryside, shopping in Sligo or Enniskillen - the beaches of the Atlantic coast: any and all of these are just on our doorstep. So be assured whatever the reason for your visit, Lough Allen hotel & Spa at Lough Allen in Drumshanbo offers great value for money at any time of year and all our selling agents will offer you a package that suits your personal budget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Lough Allen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Lough Allen
Ramada Leitrim
Leitrim Ramada
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa Drumshanbo, County Leitrim, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing