We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant can't complain at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumshanbo
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant can't complain at all”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Got a great deal in this hotel for the 3nights with a evening meal with the 3 children myself and husband.when we checked in was quick and very helpful told were our apartment was and when we got there very spacious and spotless with house keeping every morning that couldn't do enough to help .staff were very friendly and especially to the children .there's a kids club which was excellent for the kids the pool was clean the children loved it.we went for our evening meal with the rest of the family witch was 12 people altogether and the service and food was amazing and very nice for adults and the children .breakfast each morning was lovely and lots to choose from I can't understand people with these little complaints we absolutely had a great time bar food also was lovely and bar staff .We will be back definitely .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neilsmyth52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    271
    142
    42
    29
See reviews for
295
349
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
County Leitrim, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My boyfriend and I had eaten there before and loved their food and the bar is so cosy and friendly and we thought it would be good to stay there for a night (we dont live too far away). So we stayed for one night last weekend and had a lovely time, we had a lovely meal in the restaurant and had great craic in the bar after. The bedroom was spotless and very comfy and every one was very friendly and helpful. Will definitely go back again and will definitely be recommending it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Returned to Lough Allen Hotel for one night en route to Donegal. Have stayed several times before and it never fails to impress. The receptionist was so friendly and the food in the Rushes restaurant was fabulous. Rooms were as always lovely and clean. The additions of football nets and basketball since our last stay went down very well with my boys aged 8 & 10. They were playing there for hours. The pool area was great and not too packed. A fantastic stay, I just wish it could have been for longer.

Room Tip: Lough view rooms have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmac74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kildare
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I was here in Oct 2012 when I had our first son with us and now we returned with our two sons, now aged 1 and 4. Not so much has changed since I was last there and I did write an excellent review then, the only thing I will say is there has been little invested in it since then, so much so, many areas looked in need of updating, tidying up or repairing. In general it can look a little run down as if it has given up a little which is a huge disappointment as with a bit of tender loving care this place should be a haven for families with small children and it would be a shame for it to disappear. If you get a groupon deal as many people refer to on these reviews, you do get your money's worth with the little ones. It is remote, but your options are Carrick on Shannon which is less that 20 min drive and Enniskillen if you want to venture shopping for the day so there are plenty of options. And Carrick on Shannon is just gorgeous, also this time we found Lough Key Park which we didn't know about last time and I would definitely recommend that place about 30 mins drive from hotel.

For the kiddies, there is an indoor playroom, this is in need of updating and a general tiny up and some new additions of toys since we were last there. The outdoor playground has quite mucky ground and littered, you are situated right on Lough Allen so last time we could feed the ducks when you walk down but there were no ducks this time, leisure centre is fine, nothing fancy but does what it says on the tin, locker room needs work, has baby pool and outdoor hot tub if you are brave enough not to mind being in your smalls and people can walk by!! However it looks right onto Lough Allen so views are excellent. The kiddies club is great and takes kiddies from 4. Lots of activities for the children and the movie night is held at 2030 in the function room just off the bar, so you can stay close in the bar and you are only a door away from the movie and can run in and check. What most people do then is keep the younger kiddies with them in the bar and the 4+ go into the movie night which is great as no one says anything about the little ones in the bar as everyone knows the other kiddies are in the function room so it works out well. I would not normally have my 1 year old in a bar especially in the evening but it worked out very well here with the movie night. Again we stayed in the suite with gorgeous views of the Lough so I would recommend them as opposed to the family rooms as they are quite basic and small, Also big jacuzzi bath in bathroom which was another plus. Otherwise room quite basic in terms of of additional items like no toiletries, gowns, fridge, slippers and the likes and TV is a bit dated Staff very pleasant and helpful throughout the complex and the accommodation staff are very sweet and can't do enough for you. Also the staff in general really take to the children and acknowledge them so you do feel very comfortable there with young children as the majority of people are there with young families and this is what I would recommend this hotel for.
We had one two course meal included in our deal and sometimes with these deals the standard can be poor and they can charge you for the children, but this menu was of excellent variation and the quality great and the children got to chose two courses aswell. It was excellent value and you didn't feel you were being handed cheap deal food, you felt like you were having a restaurant experience and you were treated like that. Breakfast is busy and non stop so you literally have to grab what you can. It is fairly basic and standard but good quality again. It doesn't have low fat milk or butter options and I feel all hotels should now stock these healthier options. The toaster is officially the slowest toaster in history even though it is new, so they need to come up with a better idea during breakfast hours, also if parents allow their kids go up to a buffet by themselves please ensure they understand they cannot touch all of the food. The little girl in front of me touched about 7 croissants before adding the ones she wanted to her plate so I dread to think of how many more did that. Of course I understand kiddies do this, hence why I would not let my kiddies go up by themselves incase this happens so parents need to be aware. Also people do lose their manners at these busy buffets so again watch out for this as you might be shoved out of the way!! Two real negatives, the gym and WIFI, The gym, don't bother, this is like someone converted their attic and put a few machines in there. There are two TV's in there which don't work and don't even face the machines anyway!! and it is very hot, so doesn't make for a great workout space hence the only good thing is it was always empty so for your workout you did get the place to yourself! WIFI only available in the lobby or bar and limited space in the lobby so awkward at night-time if you don't want to bring the children down later, then you have no access or one of you ( which many people did) goes down to lobby or bar for WIFI. This really needs to be updated to rooms.

Room Tip: GO for suite or the 2 bedroom apartments, also there are lodges onsite which look really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KildareHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

staff are brillent in hotel couldn't be nicer real child friendly well worth visit.could do with abit of money pumped into it but who cares when staff were brill.goals outside for kids to play and playground.pool is grand not huge but does the job

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al30_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We just stayed here with our 2 children and we all really enjoyed it. We had a great 2 bdroom apt with a sitting room which was really quiet. Breakfast buffet was very good and good choices, dinner in the dining room was lovely and we ate in the bar the other night. Would I go back.....yes Will do

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teresa2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel strikes me as a relic of the celtic tiger. A really large hotel with lots of facilities where there probably isn't sufficient need. I don't know if this is the case of not, but it has all the hallmarks of a NAMA owned hotel or similar. No frills, and packed to the rafters with people on Groupon Vouchers. (I was asked numerous times if I had a voucher on check in and check out - as apparently a guest who had booked the room directly for full price was a complete rarity.
This really wouldn't be my choice of hotel, but we were staying at short notice for a family event in the area and it was the handiest option.
The bad points - the walls are paper thin and noise from adjoining rooms is a real issue - peace and quiet is inst, especially with so many screaming children around.
The duvet cover on our duvet didn't fit so about 1 foot of the duvet was sticking out at the end. It was only after returning from our even in the middle of the night that we noticed this and we were too tired not to just fall into bed but in reality, its extremely substandard.
No frills what so ever - bathroom extremely basic, towels too few and too small, and no face cloths etc.
Good points - the beds are comfortable and the location (minus the screaming children) is nice and peaceful.
Overall impression - if you can get this for the price of a groupon voucher then maybe its ok value, but certainly not for what we paid - but make sure you're not a light sleeper!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumshanbo
4.6 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
241 reviews
7.9 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
155 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bush Hotel
Bush Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
23.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
446 reviews
25.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Allen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Allen Hotel & Spa

Property: Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Address: Drumshanbo, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Hotel and Suites at Lough Allen)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Drumshanbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumshanbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lough Allen Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Allen Hotel in County Leitrim in the northwest of Ireland is truly somewhere special! Situated on the shores of Lough Allen, only 14 km from the bustling town of Carrick on Shannon, it is just a short walk to the town of Drumshanbo. The hotel combines with the stunning Leitrim countryside to offer the ideal destination; be it for the romantic short-break where spa treatments, leisure centre and a sumptuous candlelight dinner are all components that make for an unforgettable short break. Or is it a family reunion that would like to include organised activities during the day rounded off with a lavish family meal in the evening. As a wedding venue or conference centre, Lough Allen Hotel has played its part in creating success after success. The central location of the hotel in Leitrim facilitates tours and visits to the surrounding unspoiled countryside, always being able to return to the warm welcome of committed staff members! The many lakes that comprise the stunning Leitrim countryside, shopping in Sligo or Enniskillen - the beaches of the Atlantic coast: any and all of these are just on our doorstep. So be assured whatever the reason for your visit, Lough Allen hotel & Spa at Lough Allen in Drumshanbo offers great value for money at any time of year and all our selling agents will offer you a package that suits your personal budget! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Lough Allen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Lough Allen
Ramada Leitrim
Leitrim Ramada
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa Drumshanbo, County Leitrim, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing