We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding in Devatas”
Review of Villa Devatas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cepaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Devatas
Reviewed 17 June 2012

"I can honestly say it's a pleasure writing this and cannot begin to thank you all so much for your help and expertise in making our stay at Devatas and our wedding the most amazing few days of our life!

The villa looked absolutely breathtaking and the food was absolutely beautiful! All of our guests complimented the amazing food you guys prepared and how beautiful the property looked. We couldn't be happier!

Thank you so much for making all our dreams come true!! You exceeded our wildest dreams and our family and friends will be talking about it all for years to come. Words cannot express my gratitude and thanks that I have for you all.

The village of Cepaka is so beautiful that we are looking to buying some land there for our future and someday I hope we can also own a piece of heaven in the most charming village in Bali. We hope to return to Bali in a few months to start making this dream a reality.

The gift of the beautiful sarong was so special, I absolutely love it and actually wore it to temple for the ceremony on Nusa Lembongan on Saturday. All of the Balinese complimented how beautiful it was - such a lovely parting gift - and know I will wear it often and think of you all when I do with much pleasure and pride.

You made the most perfect day of our lives a reality – we are eternally grateful to you all!"

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

IT WAS LIKE A DREAM !! The location, the personnel, the service, the food >>> everything was juste outstanding. We are really greatfull and would like especially to thank the entiry staff for the top and discret service (they did read our thinking always before hand - fantastic!!). We felt like as we were at home in our own place. I would strongly recommand this place for familys, friends, couples our for business as well. The place is extremlly quit. Even for a single person to relax and find the calme would be great.
THANKS YOU EVERYTHING >>> WE WILL BE BACK WITH MY FAMILY AND OUR FRIENDS
Marcel Christine Céline Sophie Isaline, SWITZERLAND

Room Tip: All rooms are TOP CLASS !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We have been coming to Bali every year for the past few years and travel extensively throughout the year. We have our own holiday villa in Phuket that we also rent out to guests and travel very well and have stayed in some amazing resorts, hotels and private villas. We tend to book one week at a villa close to Seminyak and then another week we tend to book a villa further out.

I found Villa Devatas by just searching online and the photos looked amazing. We had booked the villa just for 6 nights as that was all that was available. The booking process was very simple and the owner kindly gave us the last minute rate which was very good value. Originally there were just 2 of us booking the villa but then my sister decided to join us and the owner was very accommodating on this request.

I was very much looking forward to staying in the villa and we have stayed in some incredible villas in Bali. We have rented huge villas with 16 staff before up in Ubud and similar beachfront villas in Canggu.

On arrival I was a little disappointed with Devatas. The location was beautiful. The size of the property is immense and the layout is excellent but it was not as picture perfect as in the photos.

Obviously the villa was about 8-10 years old and not much had been done to keep it looking pristine and fresh.

The bedrooms smelt damp and musty when we arrived and the staff should have had then opened up and aired out before our arrival.

The master bathroom was not very clean. The taps had water stains on them. The sinks and toilets were stained. The toilets had brown stains on the inside obviously from the Bali water... Towels were frayed on the edges and one of our towels even had a big hole in it.

The opaque glass door to the toilet was stained and dirty and in general it was just disappointing.

Our villa is a lot smaller than this but we keep it pristine for guests and make sure they have an immaculate experience. We replace all towels, pillows and linen every 12 months and try and give our guests a perfect villa experience.

There was a spider and web in the master bathroom that stayed there throughout our stay.

One night we went to watch a movie in the lovely media room and could not work the DVD. We tried for 20 mins to get it working and called the staff. They said sorry it is not working. They knew about it but nothing had been done about it so for our entire stay we had a lovely media room without the ability to watch movies on DVD.

The guest bedrooms we had checked before our friends arrived and again they had a damp smell and had not been aired out. Some of the cushions and sofa fabric was stained with bleach that we ended up turning them over to hide the stains before our friends arrived. Our friends also complained the room smelt damp. But once it was aired out the smell would go.

Again in the guest bedrooms towels were fraying on all edges and the bath floor mats looked dirty and old.

The villa in general could have been a lot cleaner. We were laying on the sun loungers by the pool and the small tables/stands that you can put your drinks on were just covered in dirt and dust. Even when we arrived the grounds were just covered in leaves and by the pool, that the house manager apologized for them.

There were ponds on each side of the main living pavilion that were designed to overflow down and over a wall. During our entire stay that were stagnant and very dirty and not overflowing. It was a relief when we had heavy rain that sort of cleaned them out slightly.

This is such a beautiful property that with some care and attention to detail could be so lovely and perfect.

Maybe we just notice these things more than other people but they were really disappointing. I took photos of all these issues but I thought it is not fair to upload them without uploading photos of the many beautiful things about the villa as well.

The staff were all very lovely and the car service was very good and on hand to drive us anywhere we wanted. The pool was huge and beautiful and the gardens were lovely to walk around.

The food was good but just home cooked style. We have stayed in many other villas were the chef was more skillful and presentation was a lot better.

This villa is best suited for a large number of people or possibly an event but just with some light refurbishing the place would be perfect.

We are now staying at Ville des Indes for our second week and the differences are so vast. This villa is spotlessly clean. The service is incredible and attention to detail is flawless and so impressive... staff and chef are incredible... review will follow next week.

I guess for other people that have not rented many villas in Bali or do not travel as much they would be amazed by the size and beauty of the property and the location on the river is gorgeous. But for us this was all distracted by the above issues and detracted from the villa experience.

Room Tip: The master bedroom suite has a beautiful private swimming pool in addition to the main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Andrew Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pajageneva, Owner at Villa Devatas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2012

We have noted your comments and thank you for your opinion. All ideas from our customers are important to us. We never stop trying to improve ourselves in order to meet our clients' needs. We are pleased to note that the performance of our staff met your expectations, that our driver made your stay more enjoyable and that you found the surroundings pleasant. And we are pleased to have offered you certain benefits during your stay, namely the flexibility on the number of persons and an effort to facilitate your budget.

To comment on the points of your discontent:
1) We were surprised to learn that you found a difference between the presentation photos of the villa and the villa itself. Generally our customers find that the reality is even more beautiful than the photo images; we have always had positive reviews, as well as published articles in which the press has been very complimentary about our villa.

2) The humid climate of Indonesia during certain seasons causes humidity odors in the rooms. Using the air conditioner for a few moments normally removes this inconvenience.

3) The gardeners in our service try to ensure the maintenance of the garden and pool, therefore surprised by your comment on their cleanliness. After a tropical downpour, it is not uncommon to have an abundance of leaves in the pool.

4) The hygiene of our villa is paramount, we employ 15 qualified persons to care for and maintain the villa in perfect order. The pillows and sheets and towels are changed regularly. Nevertheless, occasionally a towel will be damaged and has escaped the vigilance of our staff, for which we are sorry.

5) Electronic devices are changed regularly.

We are a small 'family business', our villa is rented to cover costs, hire local staff and ensure that it is more beautiful each year. We have an eye for detail and for us this house represents great emotional value we wish to share with our customers. In our logic, the celebration of marriages in many Devatas embodies this desire for perfection that we have for our customers. For one day be as special and unique than that two be together like that, everything must be perfect in this magical what the Villa Devatas.

We hope to have answered your questions and comments and would be delighted to see you again soon Devatas to give you new memories without a shadow of a fault.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I stayed at the Villa Devatas with 3 other friends last March. We all had a fabulous time! From the time I made an inquiry about the villa till the last minute of our stay, it was a perfect experience. I travel to Bali twice a year and stayed at many luxurious places, including both Four Seasons Bali resorts (Sayan and the Jimbaran Bay, including the Royal Villas, two out of three Aman resorts, etc.). This place is just amazing! Please see the pictures on the website. It is even more beautiful than the pictures. We stayed at the Master Suite (separate villa with a pool) and our friends stay at one of the suites. The living area was spectacular, divided into a dining room and the sitting area. The main pool (infinity pool overlooking the river) was great. Close to the pool are the TV room (we used it only once on the Nyepi Day) and the Game Room. The SPA facility was wonderful. The massage was great and very affordable (only $30/hour). Both Ladies were local woman, but with great skills. We all enjoyed daily massages. Having a driver for almost a whole day was such a treat. All staff was extremely friendly and very attentive. Great a la carte food and wines (at cost). Delicious breakfasts (included in the rate). It beats the Royal Villas at both Four Seasons Resorts. Wonderful stay, will definitely return. Jacques, the owner, made our stay very memorable and nothing short of fantastic. Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maciek405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed at Villa Devatas in August and held our wedding and reception there. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. The staff, accommodations and gardens were absolutely spectacular! From our 1st point of contact with the villa all our queries & requests were answered immediately, they assisted us immensely with the planning of our wedding and we will be forever grateful for their assistance.
Nothing was ever a bother, the staff were so friendly and helpful and most of the time you didnt even know they were there, they are very discreet yet the moment you need them they seem to magically appear. The food & beverage selection was wonderful, my only disappointment was I never got to try everything on the menu!
I arranged with the villa manager for massages, manicures, pedicures etc for our entire bridal party the day before the wedding - the spa at Devatas is absolutely beautiful and in the most amazing setting, everyone was pampered like princes & princesses and very relaxed at the end of the day.
The Devatas staff oversaw all of the wedding vendors and making sure the villa maintained immaculate throughout the chaos of setup, greeting our guests, everything from the start of the day to the end of the day, I dont think without their invaluable help things would have run as smoothly as they did. The day was amazing, beyond what we had expected and our guests were absolutely amazed with the day, we were complimented by so many guests that it was the best wedding they had ever been too.
We could not have wished for more!
The bedrooms and living areas are beautifully decorated, the Bvlgari bathroom products are luxurious and smell divine, the fresh tuberose's and orchids just beautiful... Of all the places I have ever visited Villa Devatas is my favorite. From the moment you arrive you are immersed in its beauty, tranquility and its spirituality. I cannot wait to stay at Devatas again and highly recommend anyone considering at stay at Devatas to do yourself a favour and book now, you wont be dissapointed!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank procv8z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We stayed in villa Devatas seven nights for our wedding in may. From the moment we arrived til the moment we left all staff pampered us like we were royalty. Nothing was too much trouble. The villa is a compound of 6 houses (one for dining, one spa/gym, one living area, one tv-room, and three houses for sleeping). There is a beautiful garden complete with lotus ponds everywhere and the highlight is the superb infinity swimmingpool with a view to the river. All houses are wonderfully decorated and the staff put in fresh tuberoses several times during our stay. The food was wonderful and extremely cheap (charged at cost- no additions). We all ate, drank (both alcohol and non-alcholic drinks) and had exursions, massages e.t.c. for under 175 USD per person for seven nights! That's pretty darn good!! What really made our stay memorable wasn't just the unbeliavable setting and the over the top (in a good way) accomodation but the staff who really became more like a family to us. The manager Nyoman and all staff were the friendliest, nicest and most helpful people imaginable. I highly, highly recommend Devatas over a hotel because of the staff. I guess you could get the same wonderful accomodation in a five star hotel, but you could NOT get the personal service and feeling of actually living in Bali! The staff actually knew most of our names on arrival and called us by name all week, including calling my mother and father "mamma" and "pappa" (mother and father in swedish) which was adorable. The staff really went out of their way to arrange all our excursions, dinner changes, friends suddenly coming to dinner et.c (one of the staff even followed us everywhere with a flashlight late at night, so that we could see the path properly. How crazy is that!?). And all the time with a huge smile. Just amazing. And for those who think they might feel strange having a lot of staff around, don't worry, the staff is almost invisible. They are extremely unintrusive and very careful not to disturb the guests.

So, if you have enormous demands on perfection and you need everything to be just right, I can definitely recommend Devatas to you.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnDumEn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2008

why say more... The Devatas is just a DREAM...

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GenevaPicsou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Villa Devatas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Devatas

Address: Cepaka, Cepaka, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Cepaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Cepaka
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Devatas sit above a tributary of the famous Ayang River, on the south-western coast of Bali.North of Legian and Seminyak, they are just twenty minutes drive from the buzz of Bali, past verdant terraced rice fields and spectacular scenery. Just 15 minutes east from the Le Meridien Nirwana Golf and Spa Resort at Tanah Lot, 35 - 45 minutes to Ubud and all 35-40 minutes from the airport.Villa Devatas is 10 mins from the nearest beach.A celebration of relaxed Balinese style set in lush, tropical gardens, Devatas comprises 5 king guest suites, a dining and bar area, 20m lap pool with hot jacuzzi and separate children's area,a living room, an airconditioned media/games room, gym and spa. Devatas epitomizes the new wave of elegant luxury and comfort displayed in recently built homes in Bali - clean lines, more minimalist design and eclectic architecture.The elegance of Devatas's design is spare and confident, embodying contemporary style with timeless tradition. There are indoor/outdoor bathrooms, bales and 5 air-conditioned, king size bedrooms set under the traditional Balinesestyle roof. The stunning water features create a tranquil ambience to soothe the soul. This unique concept gives our guests a sense of privacy and ultimate luxury, different to a hotel environment.The decor is very stylish, pulling a mix of elements together into a modern and elegant combination. This spacious house reflects tropical open-style architecture and merges western luxury with lush nature. The decor is opulent yet calming, sleek and simple with wooden furni -ture and neutral tones that never attempt to compete with the stunning scenery - classic Balinese decor with a contemporary twist. Devatas has an ability to surprise with the diversity of modernday indulgences that paradoxically blend harmoniously within this laid-back tropical paradise.Set in peaceful riverside surrounds, the island villa DEVATAS offers a unique and perfect destination for couples wanting something extraordinary on their wedding day. In addition to your stunning backdrop, we have a professional team of staff with service that can indulge a crowd, or spoil an individual and our experienced team of professionals make the exotic, everyday.The options are endless. Let your imagination run wild...DEVATAS is one of Bali's most compelling villa event spaces. The grounds are capable of accommodating either smaller intimate groups or large events of 100 (seated) to 200 (standing).This 5 suite luxury estate is terraced through hillside gardens to the Penet River, an exclusive, exotic setting for a private celebration immersed in the mystique of this gentle, spiritual land.Co-ordination of all facets of your wedding or special event at DEVATAS can be arranged using hand-picked specialists. And what further sets it apart is the possibility for all guest accommodation to be arranged for you in exclusive private villas in the same unspoilt traditional village.We have 14 king guest suites available across 4 individual luxury properties and access to another 14 rooms in the same village. Beautiful locations and barefoot elegance guests will feel they are in special and unique places with the feeling of a private residence. The villas provide their guests with the professional round-the-clock service and luxury inclusions of the finest hotels but without the feel and sharing of a hotel or hotel villa villas with a new attitude, providing guests with truly sophisticated and indulgent places to escape and all within a few chauffeured minutes of the event villa. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing