We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant, indeed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brown's Old Orchard Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Holbeck B&B and Inns
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very pleasant, indeed!”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Stayed here 3 nights as it was the nearest to the School of Artisan Food. Breakfast was very good, the room clean and warm and Joan and Robin are very accommodating. There is a lack of WiFi access in the room and a selection of DVDs to use might be an added bonus. But then again it is the kind of place you can send your grandmother and great aunt without fear of reprisal!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andypandypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    5
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
47
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Took my partner for a surprise weekend away. Could not have been better. Lovely clean room with four poster bed, fantastic gardens, tame pheasants, plenty of choice at breakfast. Joan and her husband could not do enough for us by booking tables at restaurants putting the lights on in our room whilst we are out. They even provided a hosepipe to wash my Mountain Bike with. A wonderful weekend and will definatly be back

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My husband and I arrived to a very welcoming Joan who showed us straight to our room. The room was luxurious with four poster bed that felt liked a giant hug. As we had never been in the country before our host was so helpful with directions and recommendations which all worked out extremely well!!! Robin cooked up a storm in the morning and were served an incredible breakfast in a gorgeous and very comfortable dining are, where we didn't have to lift a finger as we were served everything ( including Vegemite ) ! This was our favorite place that we have ever stayed in and I truly hope to make it back there one day. Thank you Joan and Robin for a very special couple of nights ...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammysnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We live not far from Brown's but have a small house and too many people, so when my mother in law planned a visit, my husband booked her into Brown's for a treat - and a treat it was! We did not have to endure listening to any critisisms of her accommodation (unheard of!) and each day she told us how lovely it was, how much she had enjoyed her breakfast, and how lovely the owners were. This is very high praise indeed! Book with confidence - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseyposey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed for a local wedding in July, this is a beautiful place, the gardens are amazing, very clean room, well stocked for teas & coffee, comfortable bed and very peaceful.
Joan and her husband are excellent hosts, and our breakfasts were first class,I would highly recommend to anyone visiting this area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubytherotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My husband stayed here for one night. The hostess was very warm and welcoming to their beautiful home in a very tranquil spot. The gardens were well tended and the house was neatly decorated throughout. The double room with a 4 poster bed was very comfortable and separated from the main house. The shower room was spotless and had all the pots and potions you could need for an overnight stay, ample luxurious towels. Breakfast was and endless choice of cooked breakfast, all local produce, as well as a choice of cereals garnished with berries of the season which was a nice touch, juices teas and coffees, 3 different types of bread for toast. The area is quaint and rural a few miles from wherever you need to go, close to Welbeck if that's your reason for staying.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollym10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This was by far the best place of the 14 we visited, the 4 poster beds were fantastic, the deck was a delight to have an evening drink and picnic and Joan kindly provided extra biscuits to go with our cheese.
Visiting Hedgehogs, hand fed pheasants, rippling water and serenity, it had it all!
As for the breakfast, we took a picture of the fruit and pancakes, the plate looked and tasted divine. We only wish we could have stayed longer at this magical spot.
A must for anyone who loves the country.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msr099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holbeck
4.2 mi away
Best Western Lion Hotel
6.6 mi away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
6.5 mi away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Acorn Lodge Guest House
Acorn Lodge Guest House
#2 of 3 in Worksop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
10.2 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Old Orchard Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Old Orchard Cottage

Property: Brown's Old Orchard Cottage
Address: Near Worksop, Holbeck S80 3NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Holbeck
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Holbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Brown's Old Orchard Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing