We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a quiet and beautiful area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Horizon Village and Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Doi Saket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We spent 3 days in this hotel to finish our holidays quietly after 1.5 week of circuit in Thailand. We were pleased by the beautiful gardens, the zoo and the quietness of the hotel.
Our room had a view on the lake, it was very clean and well furnished. We found the matrass a little bit too hard for our taste, but this is of course our personal opinion.
Breakfast was served on the base floor of the congress center. The choice of dishes of the breakfast buffet is a little bit small (in comparison with buffets we had known in other hotels) but various. You can have lunch and dinner à la carte in a restaurant (I don't remember it's name) beside the reception desk. There is a choice in Asian and continental dishes. The only thing which was a pity was the our dishes weren't served at the same time, which meant that my husband and I had finished eating when our daughter only got her dish. The second day we had lunch (buffet) in the congress center which was very good (more choice than at breakfast).
There are 3 swimming pools in the parc, but we only used the one behind the reception desk, which was OK.
We have used the massage service, this was 100% pure pleasure. I almost fell asleep during massage. Great !
We attended the New Years Eve party which was well organized, the buffet at this evening was various and tasty. Congratulations to the musicians who played during this evening, good choice of music and not too loud so that we still could speak with the people with whom we shared our table.
The hotel is about 30 minutes drive from the center of Chiang Mai. But good taxi service is available if you ask via reception desk. If you want to eat in another restaurant than the ones the hotel is proposing you than you will need a car as there are no restaurants in the near area of the hotel.
All employees are very kind and polite, but an improvement could be made on the level of English (in speaking and understanding) of the employees who are in direct contact with customers. Only few speak (and understand) English well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sokha05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalarng S, Manager at Horizon Village and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Valued guest,

On behalf of Horizon village and Tweechol botanic's staffs I would like to thank you for staying with us at this time.I hope you have had a good time with the botanical surrounding and our service. Thank you once again and hope to see you in the near future.

With respectfuly,
C Thavaravej

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

457 - 463 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

Nice for family outing. Has lots of activities for young children. Nice to wake up in the morning and see swans swimming in the pond outside the balcony. Breakfast ok. Would recommend if you just want to stay in one place because it is a bit far.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bblg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalarng S, Manager at Horizon Village and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Valued guest,


Thank you so much for staying at Horizon village and resort. We are glad that our service here at horizon has been satisfied by you. Hope you come back again.Think of nice place to stay and beautiful garden please think of Horizon village and Resort and Tweechol botanic garden. It is very kind of you to express you opinion in the Trip Advisor .Look forward to seeing you once again in the future. Till we meet again.
With kind respectfully,
Thavaravej.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 days as part of our first experience in Thailand. The hotel was wonderfully relaxing with all the staff helpful and respectful. Our room looked out over the lake at the back - we were slightly apprehensive that we may be bothered by mosquitoes but our fears were unfounded, although we did have a visitation by several large ants. The room service was superb and the food for breakfast and lunch was plentiful and varied, very reasonably priced. The little restaurant we used for our evening meals was beautifully positioned amongst the lovely foliage and croaking frogs and the food and service was second to none. The tranquility of the stay was not marred in any way by the several conferences that were taking place each day. The free drive round the park was a terrific experience and we so enjoyed our driver's singing! The topiary is gorgeous and I loved the concrete elephant display by the main restaurant, especially with the Christmas hats with which each elephant was adorned. The Christmas lights added to the magic of the warm evenings. We had a free drive from and to the airport as part of our deal and a free trip in to Chiang Mai to see around the town. We needn't have worried about how we were going to get back - we asked a Thai gentleman in the town how to get back to the hotel, whereupon he hailed a Thia bus who agreed to take us back for 500BAHT. What an interesting mode of transport that was! Great fun! The only thing we found a little disappointing was having to pay for wifi where in all the other hotels we stayed in, it was free.

Room Tip: Our room was one just by the pool. It was fine as there was hardly anyone using the pool but one nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalarng S, Manager at Horizon Village and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for spending your time express your experience about our resort and the botanic garden on Trip Advisor. We try our best to service everyone and make our guests be happy.
All the comments from guests are worth it..The trees in our Botanical garden are free from pesticide ,here, we make compose and use in the garden.That is why you can hear croaking frogs ,the ants,butterflies,sawans, ducks etc.Thank you once again for being with us at Horizon village. Next time you come to Chiang Mai ,please think of Horizon village and Resort and Tweechol botanic garden.

With Respectfully,
Thavaravej

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Horizon Village Resort is a fantastic place to relax and play. This is more than a hotel. There is a botanic garden, zoo, lakes, swimming pools, meeting facilities, and restaurants. The food is very good and service is excellent.

WI-Fi is not free, but is very reasonable.

Room Tip: Book the room with Agoda.com to get the best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalarng S, Manager at Horizon Village and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear valued guest,

On behalf of Horizon village and Tweechol botanic's staffs I would like to thank you for staying with us at this time.I hope you have had a good time with the botanical surrounding and our service.Thank you once again and hope to see you in the near future in Chiang Mai.Wherever you
are wherever you go,whatever you do be safe and good luck to you.,
Have a good day.

With respectfully,
Thavaravej

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The staff here are really helpful and polite. Our biggest issue was the location. We found the resort was 30mins away from the actual centre of Chiang Mai. If you want to just stay on the resort then this is perfect for you. However - If you actually want to explore Chaing Mai I'd recommend staying in the centre of Chaing Mai. The resort provided a minibus that took guests to the Night Market at 7pm and returned to the hotel at 10pm. (You have to book this in advance). The resort has its own Zoo. Gardens. Swimming pool. Playground. The resort was huge - but we found that it felt empty most of the time. We had booked the hotel for 3 nights - however after 2 nights we were ready to leave and consequently we booked another hotel in the centre of Chiang Mai. This worked out cheaper for us as we saved on taxis to and from the resort and found the centre of Chiang Mai much more convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sandirai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalarng S, Manager at Horizon Village and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for writing your review in Trip advisor .It is an honor for all of us to have both of you to be our guest but we are sorry for an inconvenience about the distance from downtown to our resort , eventhough only 11kms. As you have said the botanic garden was quite empty,usually on the weekday it is not too crowded .(not like weekend.)Thank you once again,If there is anything that
is not satisfied,please understand and aplogize us

With respectfully,
Thavaravej

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Our company hosted a workshop in the Horizon Village complex. What a wonderful venue. The gardens are beautiful, the hotel staff was very accommodating. Our group stayed in Horizon 2 and it was perfect. Rooms are spacious and well decorated as well as functional. Although there is a large conference center on the grounds, there is plenty of room for everyone. You can find quiet places to relax and reflect in the botanical garden as well as near your room. The meeting room that we were using was in the gardens, just a short walk from Horizon 2. This was an excellent way to enjoy the gardens going to and from meetings. The meeting room was perfect for our group, away from other distractions so we could focus on the task at hand. Looking forward to repeat meetings in the coming years.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalarng S, Manager at Horizon Village and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying at Horizon village and resort. We are glad that our service here at horizon has been satisfied by you. Hope you come back again.Think of nice place to stay and beautiful garden please think of Horizon village and Resort and Tweechol botanic garden.

With respectfully

Thavaravej

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel in the deluxe room, with breakfast. I was really looking forward to my stay here, my last respite before heading back home. The website touts itself as "tranquil" but I found otherwise on my stay.

The hotel is actually situated in a large park. Within the park is a big meetings and events space. The hotel feels like it was really designed to supply rooms for that center, rather than offer a tranquil getaway. Staff tended to be disinterested and undertrained.

The first night of my stay there was a wedding. Apparently it is the policy of the convention center that the music doesn't go off until midnight. It was really, really loud, and I had to turn on the TV to drown out the Thai techno sounds, which really killed the "tranquil" vibe I thought I was getting.

The next morning I was awoken bright and early by microphone testing for a children's program (the park also hosts large events). The receptionist told me that 800 kids showed up at 8am for this program. At about 8:15, housekeeping showed up to clean the room across from my own and graciously left their radio on, outside of my door, while they all chatted and laughed in the halls.

The next night there was another wedding, music ending at 12am. I called around 10pm to see if I could simply move to another room to sleep, and was responded with a "sorry".

When I requested a taxi they organized one for double the price that I could negotiate my own local taxi for. When I requested an airport shuttle they wanted to charge me double what their own website said.

The breakfast was not in a charming nook, but served about .25 km away in the convention center lower floor. It reminded me of an elementary school cafeteria and the limited variety of beef & noodles, soup, vienna sausage, etc., seemed to be leftovers from the wedding the night before. I wish I was kidding.

I looked under my bed before leaving and didn't find dust bunnies, but rather an entire bed-length of dust balls, clearly built up over much time.

Wi-Fi was spotty. Can only be used on one device at a time - so if you're traveling with multiple people or devices plan on paying 100 baht/day/person/device.

The staff mostly didn't speak any English, and seemed largely untrained. Service was comparable to that of a two star hotel, with exception that they carry bags upon arrival to your room.

For my lack of sleep the hotel offered a complimentary airport shuttle (250 baht/$8). I wrote back and asked for a partial refund of my stay since they clearly did not live up to any standards they sold and which I paid for, and the manager simply offered to host me on my next stay (not planning on risking that one).

Overall just be forewarned - if you have problems here they don't go out of their way to fix them. I would recommend checking out a few of the other hotels that have a better reputation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalarng S, Owner at Horizon Village and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Valued guest,

On behalf of Horizon village and Tweechol botanic staff.We would like to thank you for spending your time express your opinion on Trip advisor.
We are sorry if our service was not satisfied by you. We try to do our best for service everyone or make all the guests be happy while staying at Horizon Village and Tweechol botanic garden.You may say whatever you do not like about us but please do not insult us .Thank you
once again.You do not know that I do this business with all my heart,my live, not because I want to get more money.Do not use your standard judge other people's hospitality.I think many people who have been here will judge what you have said about us right or wrong.However, thank you once again .I challenge you come back and stay once again and you will find that our service is not that bad .Think of Chiang Mai think of us.

With respectfuly,
Sesaweeech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doi Saket
7.5 mi away
Getaway Chiang Mai Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Vivo Bene Village
Vivo Bene Village
#3 of 7 in Doi Saket
32 reviews
7.3 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 402 in Chiang Mai
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Marndadee Heritage River Village
6.2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
2.7 mi away
Baan Chai Thung
Baan Chai Thung
#4 of 7 in Doi Saket
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Village and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Village and Resort

Address: 200 Moo 7 Chiang Mai-Doi Saket Road | Cheng Doi ,Doisaket,Chiangmai, Doi Saket 50220, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Doi Saket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Doi Saket
Price Range: £29 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Village and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horizon Village & Resort is a resort which is situated in 115 acres Botanical Garden. We located in out skirt of Chiangmai area which is far from the city for 10 km. The Unique Selling Point of this property is the Conference in the garden with the capacity of 3,762 sqm which are 2 Grand Ballrooms (Ceiling high 6.5 metres and 10 metres) and 15 meeting rooms. The maximum capacity of Grand Ballroom is 800 pax. The Accommodation 209 rooms comming with the Lanna style which we have 4 different room type. Moreover, our resort has various activities for the guest to enjoy for example riding a bicycle , paddle boat, swimming, visit the Lanna Museum or Lanna way of Life , feeding the animal in the petting zoo, Thai massage or even get into the Hot air balloon which we receive the license to be the only one balloon port in Chiangmai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Horizon Village and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Village Hotel Chiang Mai
Horizon Village Resort
Horizon Village And Resort Doi Saket, Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing