We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another week of recharge and training for the body and spirit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Doi Saket
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Tao Gardens is for me almost an annual activity that helps me detox and recharge to come back healthy and energised for my daily life.
looking forward for the next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2011

Tao Garden is a very unique health spa and training facility that offers a wide variety of healing methods from the most up to date modern methods to the use of the traditional methods of China, Thailand and India. There are so many relevant things to try I could not possibly try everything that interested me or would benefit me. I intend to come back at regular intervals as a way to make an investment in my own life and longevity. Food and accommodations were first class and for anyone wanting instruction In Taoist practices you will find courses and retreats offered by the world famous Taoist Master, Mantak Chia. Read his books (over 40 available) to see if this is for you. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustOrdinaryJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I stayed for a week and took the course with Master Mantak Chia. He and the resort left a lasting impression on me. Im more into the soul of the place and the energy that went in to doing it in the first place. Master Chia's lifelong aim is to impart his knowledge freely and he created this little paradise. Rooms are OK, but thats not the idea, every thing is thoughtful, food is great, but you'll miss the point if you focus on the superficial. The work that went into to the treatments, to make the property one that promotes healing etc, and a paradise for those who seek is the real point. I wish I could say thanks to Master Chia directly (I will) but I had a great time, and In still practsing.. the treatments etc are also great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vroomzoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Stayed 14 nights (paid for 7 under a promotional rate) three meals a day included as well as free internet, morning and evening exercise, pool and gym. Stayed in a condo standard room - it was quite large, very comfortable and rooms are cleaned daily. Room standards vary as they are individually owned.

Food was excellent - as it is the quiet season we were able to order from a menu with buffet for salads, soups, fruit, dessert, juices etc instead of the full buffet.

Lovely grounds with walk and cycle paths, there has been some improvements since my last vist - lots of urns and Chinese Bonsai.

Spa treatment is excellent and the therapists are wonderful.

Definitely the place to wind down, relax or detox if that's your thing.

If you are travelling solo, you will find the owner residents and other guests very friendly and meal times are an excellent opportunity to mingle.

Close enough to Chiang Mai for trips and visits to the night bazaar and Sunday walking streets market.

Can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2shea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Great value for money! The place is so green and quiet. The staffs are friendly. The great part--the price of the room is inclusive of the meals which are full of healthy menus. I was told that June is the low season in Chiangmai, so they change from buffet to alacart. But that's even better because you can order your foods the way you like. You can choose from a great selection of healthy menu and it's served HOT! They also have homemade healthy juices and icecreams like papaya extract juice, rice juice, Gag fruit icecream etc. that I rarely find anywhere else. The whole time I was enjoying trying this and that! The outdoor swimmingpool is under renovation but they have an indoor pool that you can use. The room decoration is not that fancy but given that the room that I chose is a one-star room, it's still nice and clean. I also tried one massage treatment called chi ne jung (I might spell wrong) and it's quite unique. The treatment focuses on your stomach and lung area which helps you to detox. Overall, I find it a great value for money! I was only there for one night, but will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happyhippyhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Was apprehensive as to what to expect- was it some hippy eco resort? but once I arrived I was put at ease . Ok, dont expect 5* luxury but its luxury in another way. All meals are provided, staff are helpful and attentive, rooms are clean, free internet in the lobby/reception and an amazing array of treatments and packages are availiable. I did a 3 night 4 day package and it was just right for me. I hired at bike for the duration of my stay as it was lovely just bikring around and in the resort on the bike getting to and from the dining room and my room and the spa. I tried a variety of massages including the Chi Nei Tsang Abdominal Detox Therapy, Mineral Hot Spring Therapeutic Massage, five Element Aromatherapy Massage and thai massage and I hoenstly cant say which one was my favourite as all were fantastic. I would recommend the Mineral hot spring one as its a half day trip and was a nice way to see the surrouding area of Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fussytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Stay at least 5 days. I stayed only 6 days, many visitors were there 10-12 days or longer. I arrived 8pm and missed dinner. They saved a plate of food for me and delivered to my room! What a nice welcome. This is a wonderful place to change eating habits, lose weight, or work on special health issues, physical and mental. These transitions take time. Do see the Dr. on your first full day if possible. He is very good and will set your plan for your stay. The food tastes good, is healthy, plentiful and varied, good for vegetarians and meat eaters alike. The accommodations do not match a luxury hotel. Furnishings are basic and comfortable, ideal for a quiet simple life. Internet connection worked every day. I had trouble with phone connection a few days. The grounds are peaceful. Take a class from Dennis, he is the best Qi Kong instructor. Tao Garden is a good place for single travelers. Dining arrangements make it easy to eat alone or meet others. After a day of dining with others you'll have many new friends. The city of Chiang Mai makes a nice evening side trip, safe for single travelers and an easy way to buy souvenirs, or clothes/items you have forgotten to bring. April is the green season. Attendance was low. It rained every afternoon, cooling off the hot day. The Tao Garden took this time to recondition the swimming pool. I barely noticed. If you have you heart set on doing something ,be sure to ask in advance.
Do's:
Bring bug spray.
Pack light, get your clothes laundered at Tao Garden, it is inexpensive to do so.
Get an early appt with the Dr.

I am going back, next year, and staying for two weeks.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MEROSENASHVILLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doi Saket
7.8 mi away
Getaway Chiang Mai Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Vivo Bene Village
Vivo Bene Village
#3 of 7 in Doi Saket
32 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lanna Saithong Resort
Lanna Saithong Resort
#2 of 8 in San Sai
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#31 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,253 reviews
11.2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 402 in Chiang Mai
976 reviews
10.1 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort

Address: 274/1 Moo 7, Chiang Mai-Chiang Rai Road | Luang Nua, Doi Saket 50220, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Doi Saket
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Doi Saket
Price Range: £123 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Destination Spa Resort in Thailand Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort is a truly natural holistic health spa and awarded as an excellence destination spa in Thailand. We provide unique combination of Thai and Chinese massage therapies, Burnout Detox cleansing packages and a wide range of holistic health treatments. Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort offers full services of accommodation, integrative holistic clinic, organic food, salt swimming pool, morning & evening exercise, recreation activities, free Wi-Fi, etc. Guests can enjoy and revitalize body, mind and spirit with good air, good water, good food, good chi, good heart, good intention. Only 30 minutes from downtown, you will find the source of natural Health & Longevity Secrets. ...welcome to Pakua Clinic located at Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort is excellence experience over 16 years in Healing Holistic & Alternative Medicine and the best Destination Spa, organized by Tourism Authority of Thailand. We offer every guest a total lifestyle transformation to achieve wellness and good energy with a full range of healing treatments, the focus of our program is on detoxification, healing, balancing and rejuvenating your mind and body. Our staff of expert health professionals includes Medical Doctor, Naturopathic Doctor, Traditional Chinese Doctor, Nurse, Medical Technologist, Physical Therapist and Medical Consultant. Also during the season we will have Universal Healing Tao Instructor and Visiting Practitioner around the planet to offer you a retreat with their knowledge at the place of healing harmony here at Tao Garden. On arrival you are offered a complimentary Health and Wellness consultation including Physical examination and consultation 15 minutes. This is designed around your goals and objectives, your current state of health and ability to achieve those goals. Your advisor will help you achieve the most out of your stay by devising a personal program of treatments and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tao Garden Health Hotel Chiang Mai
Tao Garden Health Spa And Resort
Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort Doi Saket, Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing