We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best approach to health”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Doi Saket
Certificate of Excellence
milano
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best approach to health”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I was at Tao Garden in July and I had a great experience.
Everything is wonderful and full of energy, is exactly the same as the slogan: good air, good food, good Chi (energy).

GMaster Mantak Chia and his staff have the best approach to health ever seen, I learned a lot about Taoism, how to stay healty and maintain well-being.

Very recommended treatments at the spa (Pakua clinic): the doctors and the staff are very kind and very competent! After some massage I felt much better :)

I'm very grateful for all the things that I experienced there and I can not stay to come back again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iaiola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    39
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
14
31
107
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

It is a wonderful place to simultaneously get deep Taoist knowledge , holistic treatment of your body &soul and eat healthy food. Good energy is charging up the Tao Garden visitor. I am already planning my next trip to Tao Garden. I have returned back home as a different person!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanislav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I was at Tao Garden from middle of June into July and it was my third visit. There were some disappointing aspects but overall it was good. I also say that tripadvisor needs a good rating...average and very good do not allow for those above average but are not very good!

Initial communication: I initially contacted Tao Garden by email regarding dates. Response time was very very slow and their initial response was only due to my prompting. If I had not stayed there previously I would have given up the follow up emails and gone elsewhere.

Initial Accommodation: I had booked a superior room, but was disappointed with the quality of the room initially provided to me. The room was not of superior quality and in fact was of much lesser quality that the two standard rooms I had previously occupied on previous visits to Tao Garden. The townhouse and room were quite sparse, and what furniture was there just looked shabby and old. Tao Garden at this point was mostly unoccupied. I immediately requested to look at a couple of other rooms so that I could move.

Accommodation: I ended up in a town house a few over. Town houses have a common living area but separate room with ensuite bathroom. The room I ended up with was reasonably comfortable but in typical Thai style the bed/mattress was fairly hard. The town house rooms are generally noiser than the condo rooms, noise can be heard from the floorboards, toilets, showers, etc. I felt sorry for the person who occupied the room underneath my room as there were some rather creaky floorboards that could not be avoided.

Quality of the condo rooms/townhouses do vary as they are privately owned and furnished individually by the owners. Apparently the owners get to decide the standard of the room eg rate the room standard or superior etc (greater income is received for superior and delux rooms over the simple and standard rooms). In general I do prefer the condo rooms.

Standard of cleaning depending on which housekeeping staff member did your room but generally it was good. If staying for a longer period of time bed linen and towels were exchanged every 3 or 4 days.

Standard of the treatments varied as to which therapist was allocated please message me for personal recommendations.

The dining hall was been renovated for most of my visit and meals consisted of part buffet and ordering of the main course of a menu. For the most part meals and buffet were good. When the dining hall reopened main course went back to buffet style. It is disappointing that for a health resort that a lot of the main course type foods from the buffet are fried/deep fried. If you have the opportunity make sure you sample the coconut ice cream :) Generally there is something for most people to enjoy except those with special food requirements.

Towards the end of my visit Tao Garden was starting to get busy with arrivals for the Tao course, reception and other staff for the most part remained polite but it was clear that they were under resourced and could have been better supported by management.

I had a wonderful visit and I was able to relax, regain some health, lost some weight, met lovely people and I will go back again despite some of the issues, hopefully next visit I will be able to increase the rating. It was average this time due to the lack of timely email response and some service issues.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 2shea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The beauty and attention to detail in the gardens was magnificent in dire contrast to the room which was dismal. The veneer was peeling of the front door, the tap leaking and difficult to turn on and off, the bright orange walls and the patchwork green tiles were a shocker. My package was advertised as 3 days 2 nights but in facts there are 2 half days and 1 full day making it 2 days and 2 nights. It seemed like I was the only guest who wasn't part of the group retreat which had 150 people in it. The dining area was bursting, the staff overloaded and finding a place to sit and eat was a challenge. Group participants naturally want to sit together and I felt alone and very uncomfortable. Being a Coeliac and needing to be on a gluten free diet was a major problem for me. The buffet for every meal looked good but as nothing was labelled and contamination was an issue, I could only look. The very sweet chef had to cook for me seperately, V.I.P treatment I was offered by the Manager Simon, but the reality was the chef knew almost nothing about a gluten free diet, and had a huge amount of group guests to cater for. I gave him an information sheet and my gluten free soya sauce and what was served to me was warm fish with a few vegies and the second night cold chicken and a few vegies for the waiter had forgotten about me. The package included treatments but the people who worked on me had not looked at my file and trying to tell them that my stomach was inflammed from ingesting gluten on my travels through Thailand was impossible.
All in all it was a miserable experience, cut my stay short and was happy to get out..............and it's not cheap!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Judy371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

A destination spa is one with the primary purpose of providing for spa-goers to develop healthy habits. I was in Tao Garden in February on business and I saw that they provide courses to transform your emotions and your energy levels, therefore I have come back to this relaxing and beautiful resort of lush vegetations. This habit changing course is at the basics level of a very large topic called healing Tao practices. Just after one week, a lot of my negative emotions are gone, and my chronic fatigue is no more. Of course, a spa with good food, good water, good air, good massage like Tao garden would have brought me through half of the way. I had been through this many times before with other spas, the negative emotions and chronic fatigue came back after a couple of months. But here at Tao Garden, taking the Tao healing practices gave me many exercises I could do every morning, every evening and before sleep, so that good habits take hold. The training here at Tao garden is intense. Morning exercise starts daily at 7, didactic starts at 9:30 to 1 pm but the teacher always inserts short pieces of movements practice during the didactic every morning. It is more of an experiential seminar than a didactic one. Between 4:30 to 6 pm, another mostly practical session. And then from 8 pm to 9 pm another practice session. The instructions are based on 4000 years of the Tao practices in China. It has nothing to do with religion or psychology group therapy. It taught me to develop the wisdom about my own body, my own internal organs, my own emotions and feel my own energy. It is not a static meditation practice, nor a feel good affirmation technique. I understood this as a fusion of very gentle Kung Fu that everyone can learn and should learn, to active meditation practices with no religious reference whatsoever. I could feel my energy all charged up physically and mentally at the end of a week of intense practice. It had been an unforgettable week of raising my energy level from chronic fatigue, and I have all the tools to take home to make my success take hold.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a townhouse, more of an at home atmosphere. A room in the condo has a feel more lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loongsung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawke's Bay Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Coming to Tao garden gave me the time out I desperately needed. My whole body was in need of rejuvenation and being here has given me peace to focus on my well being. I had an amazing consolation with resident doctor, Jabu. The surroundings are peaceful and th food is fantastic! I actually stayed off site at a lovely and affordable guest house in Luang nua, 5 minutes down the road. This did not affect any of my interactions at Tao Garden. They trust you, they let you use their facilities and the nurses are highly skilled professionals who support you through every experience. It was just so tranquil. And the people you meet are super interesting!

Room Tip: I didn't stay on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwiseeingallthereis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

So many wonderful things to say about Tao Garden and the total experience of healing, getting away, nurturing body, mind, spirit and simply slowing down. The number of health treatments available is impressive and the cost is reasonable. I highly recommend spending at least a week there to unwind, take in the greenery of the grounds and indulge in as many spa and health treatments to detox, rejuvenate and revitalize.

I cannot speak highly enough of the food variety and quality. I loved the salads the most as they are organic, grown on the grounds and taste like pure goodness. Every day there is a different selection of health beverages as well as fresh juice on demand. Fresh and chilled young coconuts are available at the pool bar. My favorite is the ozonated water.

The health treatments were wonderful and staff friendly and helpful. This is my second time to Tao Garden and I packed the visit to 2.5 days when it should have been at least a week. Next time I will spend over a week to totally unwind and only book 2 treatments a day so that I can truly enjoy each meal, walk around the grounds and take advantage of the facilities such as morning tai chi, evening meditation and the swimming pool.

The last treatment finishes at 8 (as with dinner) and it gets really quiet at night so either sleep early or bring along books, DVDs for evening entertainment.

The only downside is the room quality which is a bit basic but it's reasonably priced. This is the only type of vacation where you WOULD be spending time in your room to sit on the balcony to read and wish the rooms were just a little nicer. Just be sure to bring insect repellent or you can buy some from the store. Mosquitos and little crawlies are everywhere.

Aside from that, everything is perfect. I will be back again!!

Room Tip: The rooms are clean but rustic. Bring along some scented candles or incense to take away the damp sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doi Saket
1.0 mi away
Lanna Saithong Resort
Lanna Saithong Resort
#2 of 7 in San Sai
56 reviews
7.8 mi away
Getaway Chiang Mai Resort & Spa
12.0 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Baan Chai Thung
Baan Chai Thung
#3 of 6 in Doi Saket
72 reviews
4.1 mi away
Horizon Village & Resort
Horizon Village & Resort
#1 of 6 in Doi Saket
555 reviews
2.7 mi away
Jasmine Hills Villas & Spa
Jasmine Hills Villas & Spa
#4 of 15 in Doi Saket
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort

Property: Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort
Address: 274/1 Moo 7, Chiang Mai-Chiang Rai Road | Luang Nua, Doi Saket 50220, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Doi Saket
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Doi Saket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Destination Spa Resort in Thailand Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort is a truly natural holistic health spa and awarded as an excellence destination spa in Thailand. We provide unique combination of Thai and Chinese massage therapies, Burnout Detox cleansing packages and a wide range of holistic health treatments. Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort offers full services of accommodation, integrative holistic clinic, organic food, salt swimming pool, morning & evening exercise, recreation activities, free Wi-Fi, etc. Guests can enjoy and revitalize body, mind and spirit with good air, good water, good food, good chi, good heart, good intention. Only 30 minutes from downtown, you will find the source of natural Health & Longevity Secrets. ...welcome to Pakua Clinic located at Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort is excellence experience over 16 years in Healing Holistic & Alternative Medicine and the best Destination Spa, organized by Tourism Authority of Thailand. We offer every guest a total lifestyle transformation to achieve wellness and good energy with a full range of healing treatments, the focus of our program is on detoxification, healing, balancing and rejuvenating your mind and body. Our staff of expert health professionals includes Medical Doctor, Naturopathic Doctor, Traditional Chinese Doctor, Nurse, Medical Technologist, Physical Therapist and Medical Consultant. Also during the season we will have Universal Healing Tao Instructor and Visiting Practitioner around the planet to offer you a retreat with their knowledge at the place of healing harmony here at Tao Garden. On arrival you are offered a complimentary Health and Wellness consultation including Physical examination and consultation 15 minutes. This is designed around your goals and objectives, your current state of health and ability to achieve those goals. Your advisor will help you achieve the most out of your stay by devising a personal program of treatments and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tao Garden Health Hotel Chiang Mai
Tao Garden Health Spa And Resort
Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort Doi Saket, Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing