We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for the mind, soul, and body”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Doi Saket
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place for the mind, soul, and body”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is not your average hotel, nor your typical spa. This is an oasis to heal and relax tucked in the fields outside of Chiang Mai, about 45 mins from the city. It is a Mecca for people into Taoism and Tai Chi and an excellent destination for those that would like to use the extensive list of services in their clinica. However, this is also perfect for those like me that have never practice tai chi and didn't need a colon irrigation and only needed a place to relax with good clean air, pure water, and delicious organic food ( they grow everything in their fields) I spent sometime relaxing by the pool, despite the place being cold the sun was strong enough in December to enjoy the pool along with the herbal steam bath, practiced tai chi in the morning and evenings, and met the most wonderful people. The rooms are basic, don't expect luxury, but everything else compensate for that and I got a better experience at Tao garden than at the fancy Shangri-la in Chiang Mai. It really depends on what your needs are.

Room Tip: Number 311 is great because it is a corner unit with extra light and room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGK-AGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    39
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
14
31
106
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

After the intensive detox I feel great, energised and rejuvenated! I will definitely visit the Tao Garden again in the near future – we are all like cars that need to get serviced from time to time – the Tao garden is nicer than any garage you will ever dream of, what a paradise!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvaMuesiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Tao Garden is a wonderful spa experience - relaxing, invigorating, healthy and just all round enjoyable. The facilities are great and the prices are so much more affordable than spas in Australia. It's worth the airfare to save money! The food which is included in the room price is excellent and such a choice.....
The array of treatments offered is incredible ranging from the healing therapies right through to just plain indulgence options ........ and the abhyanga massage is heaven!
This time I had only booked in for 3 days but next year I'll be back and I will be taking a whole load of friends with me to enjoy both Tao Garden and the rest of Chiang Mai.
Thank you to all the staff - everyone was wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Tao Garden is a small paradise located less than an hour from Chiang Mai city and airport. Everything is designed to make one's stay an unforgettable experience: the service is professional yet personalized, the food is delicious yet healthy, the atmosphere is international and relaxed, not to mention the beautiful gardens and pool. This is the perfect place for a tailor made holiday for people who enjoy being in a natural environment. The clinic and spa have excellent doctors, nurses and therapists, with a special mention to doctor Jabu and Stefano. Tao lessons are given every day in the morning and evening by experienced instructors. The surroundings of Tao Garden are also breathtaking: rice fields, mountains, temples and a beautiful lake can all be reached by bicycle.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laure B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodrum
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

The reason why I wanted to stay at Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort was primarily because of my chronic pelvic pains. When I have contacted first the hotel Mr. Stefano from Pakua clinic has responded to my email and asked me some questions whether I had before some accident or injuries etc. I responded him no. So he suggested me a 7-10 days chronic pain management program would be helpful to me. Afterwards I decided to take a 10 days chronic pain management program mentioned in their website and booked the hotel for 10 days first. I arrived at this hotel on the 10th of October and we have started our program on the following day. The hotel lies in the middle of area surrounded by the trees and very tranquil. But I was rather interested how it would go with my treatment because I came here for this! In my treatment Chi Nei Tsang Abdominal Detox Therapy, Physiotherapy, Aromatherapy applications such as the Five Elements were involved and Mr. Stefano has included extra also 4 sessions with him private session Structural Bodywork, which was the most expensive part of this program. However as the days passed I wasn't feeling better when I arrived here. I explained this situation to Dr. Jabu, who was working at Pakua clinic. In the meantime I don't know his area of expertise. I did him once on the second day of my arrival and spoke to him for a while. After telling him my feelings it was quite surprising for me to hear from here 'you seem to have done everything before I came here and I am sorry to tell you to send you back again with your pains!!! What kind of answer was it. I came here of the other part of the world with the hope to find at least a relieve and this health organization, which gives me a hope with the treatment and the only thing he could say; I regret to send you back with your pains. I am sure if they told me this before I would think twice to come this so-called health center. After all I stayed here 12 days and paid double price for 10 days basic program because they suggest you other treatments the original account is changing completely after. If I had any benefit it didn't really matter to me In summary if you are coming here for health reason to get any result I would suggest you to think twice because the treatments applied here such as traditional massage techniques, physical therapy etc. you can find it somewhere else cheaper in Thailand or somewhere else.

As part of the hotel I booked a simple room, and it was a really simple room. The room was not worth for the money you pay for it. The room I stayed was outdated and needed maintenance. Also the sink in the bathroom was leaking water and my mobile is broken because of it while I was charging it there. This was also another loss of this journey.

The meals at the hotel were good and healthy . Perhaps this is one of the positive thing I can say about this place. Also the personal were always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Guletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantak_UHT, Owner at Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Our Chronic Pain Management programs focus on manual therapies for re-organizing the balance and the movement of the body in the gravity because our inefficient ways of standing and moving in the gravity are the main reason for our chronic pains and dsyfunctions.

it doesn't mean that in 7-10 days we "fix the people" especially when we have cases of long term chronic pain without any result from conventional medicine.

As we explain well to the guests during the wellness consultation, our therapeutic programs are an integration of Structural Bodywork, Visceral Manipulation (Chi Nei Tsang and Karsai Nei Tsang) , Physiotherapy and Acupuncture.
detailed description of these bodywork treatments is available on our website.

we can not expect miracles from a short time program (7-10 days).

the goal of our therapeutic programs is make our guests more aware of their own bodies. Any improvement starts from our increased body awareness.
the 7-10 days programs are a good educational experience that is crucial for our well-being and for chronic myofascial pain relief.

about the pricing, these programs are not traditional massage therapy.
You cannot find therapeutic modalities like Structural Bodywork, Chi Nei Tsang and Karsai Nei Tsang in Thailand .
The cheaper massages that we can get in Thailand are not therapeutic because most of the Thai massage therapists don't really know what they are doing.

Structural Bodywork session is 80 min long and it costs 2500 THB (60 euro).
in the USA it would cost 140-150 USD.
In Europe at least 100-120 Euro .

CNT and KNT , 50 min, 2000THB (50 euro).
Physiotherapy is 50 min and 1250 THB.
Acupuncture session is 1180 THB.

These prices are clearly shown on our website and on our brochure.
.
So our prices are much cheaper than USA and Europe.

stefano

Stefano Beconcini, MSc Physics, Wellness Consultant, Pakua Integrative Health Clinic, Tao Garden health resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hsinchu, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Complete service with a finest gourmet everyday. Not to mention the professionalism in the health and spiritual treatment.
The instalations have beautiful gardens and sceneries everywhere.
The service staff is always willing to provide a high and warm quality service.
Master Mantak Chia a remarkable spiritual leader.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawalli, Kuwait
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Heaven must import it's fruits from this place. Every thing is organic & clean and I think I added 5 years to my lifespan just by staying here. All kinds of therapeutic sessions (physical & psychological) are provided by certified professionals. The Detox program which I did for 21 days cleared my "tonsils calcification" and the Chinese acupuncture & medicine helped with my sleep problems.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mqallaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doi Saket
3.6 mi away
Baan Chai Thung
Baan Chai Thung
#3 of 6 in Doi Saket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
7.8 mi away
Getaway Chiang Mai Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Vivo Bene Village
Vivo Bene Village
#5 of 6 in Doi Saket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Marndadee Heritage River Village
1.0 mi away
Lanna Saithong Resort
Lanna Saithong Resort
#2 of 7 in San Sai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
4.1 mi away
Horizon Village & Resort
Horizon Village & Resort
#1 of 6 in Doi Saket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort

Property: Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort
Address: 274/1 Moo 7, Chiang Mai-Chiang Rai Road | Luang Nua, Doi Saket 50220, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Doi Saket
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Doi Saket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Destination Spa Resort in Thailand Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort is a truly natural holistic health spa and awarded as an excellence destination spa in Thailand. We provide unique combination of Thai and Chinese massage therapies, Burnout Detox cleansing packages and a wide range of holistic health treatments. Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort offers full services of accommodation, integrative holistic clinic, organic food, salt swimming pool, morning & evening exercise, recreation activities, free Wi-Fi, etc. Guests can enjoy and revitalize body, mind and spirit with good air, good water, good food, good chi, good heart, good intention. Only 30 minutes from downtown, you will find the source of natural Health & Longevity Secrets. ...welcome to Pakua Clinic located at Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort is excellence experience over 16 years in Healing Holistic & Alternative Medicine and the best Destination Spa, organized by Tourism Authority of Thailand. We offer every guest a total lifestyle transformation to achieve wellness and good energy with a full range of healing treatments, the focus of our program is on detoxification, healing, balancing and rejuvenating your mind and body. Our staff of expert health professionals includes Medical Doctor, Naturopathic Doctor, Traditional Chinese Doctor, Nurse, Medical Technologist, Physical Therapist and Medical Consultant. Also during the season we will have Universal Healing Tao Instructor and Visiting Practitioner around the planet to offer you a retreat with their knowledge at the place of healing harmony here at Tao Garden. On arrival you are offered a complimentary Health and Wellness consultation including Physical examination and consultation 15 minutes. This is designed around your goals and objectives, your current state of health and ability to achieve those goals. Your advisor will help you achieve the most out of your stay by devising a personal program of treatments and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tao Garden Health Spa And Resort
Tao Garden Health Hotel Chiang Mai
Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort Doi Saket, Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing