We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Garden That You Might As Well Call 'Eden'” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Doi Saket
Certificate of Excellence
Hollywood, FL.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Garden That You Might As Well Call 'Eden'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

Why stay at a health resort that has the usual stuffy and sterile atmosphere? Here is one just outside of Chiang Mai, Thailand... (don't worry, they'll come get you at the Airport.) Out of the city by a half hour, you are transported to rich grounds that are planted with the very organic foods you will be eating at extensive buffets three times a day. All your best foods for YOU expressly, will be identified on labels. All you need do is get the proper analyzes to determine which foods YOUR body needs. (And then they turn out to be DELICIOUS!) You have many choices of rooms in which to stay, some less expensive and some more. Of course there is a marvelous pool and gym area near many idyllic spots where you will have more choices of massages than you can wrap your brain around. But just ask and find out which type is best for your current needs. If you stay and enjoy these many treatments, you will be on your way to a new kind of health. Not only can you just have your body worked on, but you can learn ways to transform your mind, emotions, energy and spirit. The proprietor of this unique place is a Taoist Master and you can take daily classes for all aspects of the above, and begin a journey of learning to take your health into your own hands.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RavenTaoTLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    38
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
14
31
105
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A tree
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

Tao Garden is an absolute oasis when my wife and I stayed there for 4 nights in late June. Firstly to the things we didnt like as unfortunately there were a few issues. Number 1 was that for our entire stay in our deluxe townhouse, we were subject to banging, sawing and lots of general noise from local workman renovating the townhouse next to us, and when i say next door i mean 5 yards away, starting at 9am and finishing at 5pm.

Now i know that renovation is an important part of keeping this lovely resort looking shipshape, but not when it really annoys one of your (very high fee-paying) guests and especially not in a place that is supposed to be the height of relaxation. So I complained and was offered a condo (far less luxurious) which i turned down. I made the point that i dont want to be moved...i want the noise to be stopped....however this was lost in translation maybe!! Anyway....a note to all of you thinking of going in the 'low' seasons....why not ask how close you will be to the chain saw gangs!

Number 2 involves the gym....no AC ...crazy in that heat.....surely if you want people to get fit and healthy then your amply equipped gym should not be battling with the sauna as the hottest place in the resort............and number 3 is that you have to pay to hire a pedal bike....surely free hire should be encouraged in such a place....i mean...no ones going to pinch them and they werent exactly Lance Armstrong new model...more Miss Marple's old trusty steed.

And so to the good things. Well..........everything else really. The food was great (although not a buffet as advertised) and enough to fill you up every day along with lovely fresh juices. My wife indulged in both wellness and spa treatments and loved every minute of it although my credit card was breathing a sigh of relief as we left as nothing is as cheap as you would expect it to be in Thailand....but it was well worth it really. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the uni-cycling uber chilled Dr WIlliam had a huge fan in my wife when we left as he gave his time freely and always with a smile.

One note of caution.....the clientele of the hotel is a little strange, but if you enjoy people watching as much as my wife and I you will love the characters this place attracts....ponytails (male versions) and speedo wearers are clearly encouraged (maybe discounted???!!) as are the european hippy set who obviously are taking a break from smoking strange things in india.

But joking aside.....we had a great time.....and we will go back.......once ive lost enough weight to fit into those banana hammocks and my hair is long enough.........enjoy!!!

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 2travellingsquirrels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

I was there for 13 nights (on a promotional rate advertised on their website paying only for 7) - all food was included. I stayed in one of the condo rooms - it was very comfortable and very spacious. The rooms were serviced every day. I don't think any of the rooms had TVs, DVDs, radios etc, which actually wasn't so bad. The bookshop had a little library from which books could be borrowed, I did make good use of that.

Food is usually served buffet style but as it was off season there were not many guests and instead there was a small ala carte menu. The food was plentiful, fresh, organic, tasty - some of the desserts were wonderful and I particularly enjoyed the baked taro custard and the raw cuisine mango cheesecake. I had an opportunity to enjoy the buffet a day or so before I left and yes it was all that it was marketed to be. Meal times gave an opportunity to chat with other guests. Some guests were Tao practitioners or instructors and other guests were like me, just there to relax and enjoy some of the treatments.

I did a 7 day weight loss program while there, I would recommend that anyone doing the 7 day program actually spread all the treatments across about 10 days if you actually there for that long. Lots of appointments and if I had done them all in 7 days would have been busy (or frantic) going from one treatment to another and not be able to relax. All up while in Thailand (there for 3 weeks) I loss 4.5kilos not sure how much of that to attribute to the program but within days of starting my face was less bloated and weight loss noticable to other guests I had met. I found the Pakua Clinic reception staff to be very efficient and helpful.

I had various therapists for my massage treatments and all did a great job. All were very professional and never once did I feel uncomfortable.

The gardens are beautiful and there were always staff busily working away in them.

If you have the opportunity make sure you take the shuttle bus into Chiang Mai for the Walking Streets craft market on a Saturday or Sunday evening. And if you can't make that, the night bazaar or Arasun market are good for a browse.

In general, a wonderful place to stay, staff efficient and friendly, most speak English - some better than others and I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2shea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacific grove, california
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

This has been my 4th time to Tao Garden, and it only gets better. Tao Garden has built a new spa which is charming and peaceful. The food is always excellent, and each year brings a meeting of new friends. The best part though is the wonderful massages done with skill and caring. As the therapists have gotten to know me through the years, I have made some wonderful friendships which I will never forget!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pailin52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

I must admit that I am very much of a "free-rider" when it comes to using Tripadvisor, as I would try to select hotels which are highly rated by the users, but only rarely had I contributed a review of any sort. My 4-days' / 3 nights' stay at Tao Garden, however, does deserve a special recommendation - prompted no doubt by the excellent service of the front-line staff, one of whom had actually ferried me and a friend to the airport using his own car. The hotel transport/van, apparently, had already been booked during the particular slot. This was truly unexpected. Master Chia should give this guy (I had forgotten his name) a pat on the back!

As for the stay itself at the Tao Garden, it was a unique experience in itself although the rooms do not have the usual bells & whistles or is filled to the brim with the latest gadgets to please the senses (there is no TV in the room, for example). Again, most guests that visit the resort will be familiar with the services offered and/or the health practices under the universal tao system. There are however lush gardens, healthy buffet spreads and most of all, a general sense of tranquility. And perhaps, another major plus for me, no screaming kids running around with their doting parents. While some facilities such as the pool are starting to show their age, most guests would agree that the morning and evening exercises, treatments and spa more than make up for this.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank positivity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duns
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

My stay was an unexpected delight. The food was exceptional and the friendliness and care of all staff from the doctors to the gardeners was wonderful. The treatments, consultations and therapies made me feel 10 years younger and improved my posture, my mobility and my confidence.
The peace and tranquility of Tao Garden is amazing and the facilities of the pool, spa, hydrotherapy and gym are fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

The people are hospitable and competent and lovely. The treatments are transformational. The gardens are beautiful. The food is organic, plentiful and tasty.
Opportunities abound for soulful growth. On top of all this, a great holiday.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gilliangrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doi Saket
3.6 mi away
Baan Chai Thung
Baan Chai Thung
#3 of 6 in Doi Saket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
7.8 mi away
Getaway Chiang Mai Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Vivo Bene Village
Vivo Bene Village
#5 of 6 in Doi Saket
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lanna Saithong Resort
Lanna Saithong Resort
#2 of 7 in San Sai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
18.2 mi away
Marndadee Heritage River Village
9.2 mi away
Secret Garden Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort

Property: Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort
Address: 274/1 Moo 7, Chiang Mai-Chiang Rai Road | Luang Nua, Doi Saket 50220, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Doi Saket
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Doi Saket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Destination Spa Resort in Thailand Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort is a truly natural holistic health spa and awarded as an excellence destination spa in Thailand. We provide unique combination of Thai and Chinese massage therapies, Burnout Detox cleansing packages and a wide range of holistic health treatments. Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort offers full services of accommodation, integrative holistic clinic, organic food, salt swimming pool, morning & evening exercise, recreation activities, free Wi-Fi, etc. Guests can enjoy and revitalize body, mind and spirit with good air, good water, good food, good chi, good heart, good intention. Only 30 minutes from downtown, you will find the source of natural Health & Longevity Secrets. ...welcome to Pakua Clinic located at Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort is excellence experience over 16 years in Healing Holistic & Alternative Medicine and the best Destination Spa, organized by Tourism Authority of Thailand. We offer every guest a total lifestyle transformation to achieve wellness and good energy with a full range of healing treatments, the focus of our program is on detoxification, healing, balancing and rejuvenating your mind and body. Our staff of expert health professionals includes Medical Doctor, Naturopathic Doctor, Traditional Chinese Doctor, Nurse, Medical Technologist, Physical Therapist and Medical Consultant. Also during the season we will have Universal Healing Tao Instructor and Visiting Practitioner around the planet to offer you a retreat with their knowledge at the place of healing harmony here at Tao Garden. On arrival you are offered a complimentary Health and Wellness consultation including Physical examination and consultation 15 minutes. This is designed around your goals and objectives, your current state of health and ability to achieve those goals. Your advisor will help you achieve the most out of your stay by devising a personal program of treatments and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tao Garden Health Spa And Resort
Tao Garden Health Hotel Chiang Mai
Tao Garden Health Spa & Resort Doi Saket, Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing