We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first ever poor review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Inn Stevenage North
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Radwell
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I have never posted a poor review before but here is the first. Stayed at the Days inn a couple of days ago and the room smelt really strongly of smoke particularly the bathroom. I called reception to complain but was told there were no spare rooms and no-one offered to check and see my room. The car park wasn’t full, but maybe ever y single other room was taken. Breakfast arrived a little later than booked, but this could be excused. However when I went to open the small bottle of orange, the seal had already been broken and the bottle was not full. I also selected a fruit pot on my breakfast choice but this did not arrive. I did not see any point in complaining due to the unhelpful reply I had got when I complained about my room. Whilst at the holiday inn I had used the free internet which requested I register my email address in order to use the internet. I arrived home to find that my home email had been ‘ hacked’ and the password changed at the exact same time I had registered it on days inn internet. Spam emails have now been sent from my email to numerous friends and clients and I was unable to login to my email. I have now spent over an hour sorting this out with my provider. I won’t be staying at a days inn again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CP&NA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnPeterborough, Manager at Days Inn Stevenage North, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

I apologise that your experience was less than satisfying. We do all we can to deter guests from smoking in a non-smoking room, however sometimes our policies are ignored. When we find that this has occurred, we do all we can to air the room out as quickly as possible, sometimes even removing the room from sale. Unfortunately when we have a fully occupied hotel, even our greatest attempts may not be 100% effective. Whenever there is an issue with a room that we cannot remedy immediately, we offer an alternative room. However, this is difficult when we are fully booked. I am not sure why you experienced such issues with your breakfast, but I can assure you I will investigate this fully. We encourage our guests to take advantage of our 24-hour reception with any issues you may have during your stay, so that we can do all we can to rectify the situation as soon as possible

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night as we were visiting friends and family in the area. An excellent location just off the A1. The receptioist on duty was very helpful and pleasant giving us a choice of rooms. We choose one at the back of the hotel as he advised this would be quieter. The room was very clean and spacious, lovely shower, tea and coffee making facilities. The bed was very comfortable, in fact one of the best nights sleep I had in ages! We did not have breakfast in the hotel but went next door to the services where there a few options for dining venues. We opted for Porridge in Starbucks which was very good. We would definitely stay here again. If you book in advance it is quite a bit cheaper, we paid just over £40 for the night which is very good value.

Room Tip: We chose one at the back as this hotel is on a service station and we were concerned about noise, ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamMurrayMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed here for two nights while visiting friends and it was very warm and comfortable and at £70 for two nights I could not ask for more! The room was a fair size, with great size bed, dressing table and wardrobes. It snowed the whole weekend, but the heating control was great and never came back to a cold room. Different set up with the sink in the bedroom but not a problem and the shower worked well. Will definitely stay here again when visiting friends and just sooo convenient!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SianDaviesCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Stayed at this hotel on for one night. Check in was painless and efficient. Went to our room and it was like walking into a fridge - it was so cold. Turned the heating up full blast but it took around 4 hours to feel comfortable.
Also found inadequate warmth in the bedding therefore used towels I had brought from home as blankets but had trouble sleeping due to being cold.
Liked the fact that I could walk from the hotel to the services without going outside. Nice range of places to buy breakfast but you can't really beat Greggs!!
Would probably stay here for convience but would take my own duvet!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palmeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights 24 and 25 February. The hotel receptionist was friendly and efficient. The room allocated had a problem with the heating but as it was a Sunday and no maintenance team in the hotel, the receptionist gave us another room (lovely and warm). Very clean room and good shower facility (with lighting in the shower) a first for us. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as the services were nearby with many restaurants to chose from. Also there was a connecting corridor from the hotel to the restaurants, so no need to go outside if it was raining. Coffee, tea and biscuits were provided in the price which was very good indeed. £35 per night/per room. Only £17.50 per person.

Room Tip: Ask for a family room as these are larger than the basic double and are at the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Clean, tidy double room with freeview flat-screen TV, large wardrobe, comfortable bed, a shower room and a sectioned off sink in the bedroom.

Only slight niggle was the paint was flaking off the shower room ceiling.

Great location for the A1M - just off the motorway so no noise, but close enough to the junction. Food available in the services next door.

Check-in was quick and efficient.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTraveller967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Stayed for 2 nights very cheaply.Good offers to look out for.This Extra is better than the peterborough one with all the standard restaurants but with Greggs and a lovely donut shop as well.Comfy rooms with nice firm beds, would like a bath as well as a shower because it's easier with small children but still, very good Hotel and will be staying again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radwell
1.1 mi away
purplehotel Baldock
purplehotel Baldock
#4 of 4 in Baldock
7 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mercure Letchworth Hall
Mercure Letchworth Hall
#1 of 3 in Letchworth
1,316 reviews
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The George at Baldock
The George at Baldock
#1 of 4 in Baldock
93 reviews
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
#7 of 11 in Stevenage
556 reviews
5.4 mi away
Firs Hotel
Firs Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hitchin
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Stevenage North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Stevenage North

Address: Extra Services Junction 10 A1M, Radwell SG7 5TR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Radwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Radwell
Price Range: £37 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Stevenage North 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The air-conditioned Days Inn Stevenage is off the A1 (junction 10) at Baldock Service Station. It has free Wi-Fi, free parking and is about 30 minutes from Luton Airport and Cambridge.Every spacious room at Days Inn Stevenage North is air conditioned, with an en suite power shower and a flat-screen digital TV with Freeview channels.Contact the hotel after booking to arrange early check-in (from 11:00) or late check-out (until 14:00) at an additional cost.The location at the service station means guests have easy access to a variety of shops and food outlets. Days Inn has a 24-hour reception.Days Inn Stevenage North is 50 minutes from London and Stansted Airport. Local attractions include Knebworth House and Gardens, and Duxford Imperial War Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Stevenage North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing