We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanaga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Green Tree Guest Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Nanaga B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 December 2010

We stayed in The Green Tree Guest Cottages for three nights in November 2010. The room we stayed in(cottage number 3) was finished to a very good standard. Lezl (the owner) was very friendly and welcoming with many tips on what to do and see in the area. She supplied a lovely cooked breakfast every morning. One evening we ordered supper and had a delicious homemade chicken pie. The closest shop is a short drive away however this is a convenient location for visiting Addo national park and the sand dunes. We would use this accommodation again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2010

we were a group of five staying at green tree during the world cup. when we arrived, one match had just begun, so the friendly owner quickly guided us to our cottage and turned on the tv for us to watch the game, very thoughtful. The rooms are really great, from the beds to the spacious bathroom. As we had a self catering cottage, our dishes were cleaned immediately while we were having a delicious breakfast. Altogether perfect service, friendly staff and perhaps the best stay of our journey to south africa.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zezeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

It was our first b&b in SA and and a very good place to begin with. The cottages were spacious & very welcoming. Lezl was very helpful by giving us all kinds of tips concerning Addo park' the dunes as well as restaurants recommended

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank osnat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We stayed for two nights while visiting Addo Elephant Park. Recommended by a friend.
As soon as we met Lezl and saw the cottages, we realised that it was a great recommendation. Our cottage was clean, very well furnished and very comfortable, with a very cottagey bathroom. The kitchen was complete with all the necessary equipment and a well stocked bar. Landlady Lezl is a perfect hostess. She made us feel very welcome and cooked us tasty suppers of local dishes, served in our own cottage. Breakfast was extensive, catering for all tastes, nothing too much trouble. Bearing in mind that this is a working farm and the hours that they work, We thought that it was a great experience and very good value for money.
The little mini farm of domestic animals, run by Reynard, their son, was just the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FltEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Excellent accommodation of individual cottages.
Very welcoming and friendly hosts giving lots of local knowledge
Great location for Game parks, especially Addo

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

we enjoyed a great breakfast, the well equipped room (even if you don´t have a toilet door that you could close, there was akind of a saloon door instead, but never mind ;-)), the warm and very kind host that gave us very important and helpful tipps for the game drive and even booked for us. Unfortunately we had a construction area right on the street that is close to the cottage and therefore some noise at night.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mellicarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lezl, Owner at The Green Tree Guest Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2010

Due to the coming 2010 Soccer World Cup, upgrades as been done to roads through South Afica. Unfortunately we were unlucky to have it close to our entrance, wich caused a bit of noise during day time, it has since been relocated away from our entrance, and something that was not permanent. This was something that was not in our hands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

My wife and I live in SA, and were travelling with friends from Jersey C.I. and we used Green Trees as a base to tour the area, Addo etc. We stayed in two separate chalets self catering, which were imaculate and well appointed. We have stayed on working farms before and this was the best by far. Nothing was too much trouble for our Host's who even did some shopping for us in Port Elizabeth, and one evening cooked us a fantastic meal. We were extremly pleased by the lovely gardens and swimming pool, that we took time out from travels just to spend time in the gardens and pool. We had a great stay and would recommend Green Trees to anyone with or without children. When my wife and I visit the East Cape again we will certainly stay here again, so to our hosts Thank you for a wonderful stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Phil & Geraldine Nicholson SA.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philstilbaai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Green Tree Guest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Tree Guest Cottages

Address: Route 72, Wycombevale Farm, Nanaga 6185, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Nanaga
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaga
Price Range: £225 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Tree Guest Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the life style of country living on this beautiful dairy farm while visiting The Addo Elephant Park, Schotia safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve and more within 10 - 15 min drive from The Green Tree Cottages. Spacious, tastefully decorated self-catering cottages will ensure you a comfortable stay. The Green Tree Cottages are Owner managed for personal attention and good service. We would love to welcome you here. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing