We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool and close to port”
Review of Irene Hotel

Irene Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ios
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Irene Hotel
Ranked #34 of 60 Ios B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Pension Irene
Lovely little place waking distance from the port. Simple rooms with nice little balcony. Beautiful large pool. Friendly staff. Speak minimal English but one of the younger staff members is quite good! Make sure if you book through bookings.com or hostel world you make contact with them as we booked a double bed and ended up with twins... They say that a double means 2 people.. So a little confusing but they were happy to move us to a room with a double.

Also, ask prior to booking if you can get a room with a balcony over looking the pool!


  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed just one day because the ferry was cancelled and we had to be one night more in Ios.
The girl help us with a problem that we had with the next hotel. Very hospitable people.
Comfortable and clean room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarSns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Myself and 8 others arrived to Pension Irene on the 23rd of July this year, and were greated with some bad news at first, one of the bookings had been made for august 23rd so there was no room available for 3 of them!
But Christiana and Catherina helped my 3 friends try get a room in another resort on the island which had no affiliation to this hotel, they were also kind enough to let them chill by the pool everyday and use all of their facilities. From that moment on we knew we were going to have a good time and relationship with the workers of this hotel.

The hotel itself, is very nice, its everything it is said to be in the description, rooms are small, pool is nice, breakfast is good! Everything you paid for you got - so that's why we were happy!

We stayed for two weeks - so our relationship with the workers was a lot better then that of the other guests , as they came and went in their numbers only staying for 2 nights or so! We were on a lads holiday, but we kept to our truce and left the building at 12 as to not disturb other guests! And the only reason we kept to this, was not only out of respect for the guests, but because they approached us and asked us in a nice way compared to other places!!

Rooms are tidied everyday, and the pool is perfect during the day! The place is right beside the port so it is handy for those 2-3 day people who are only passing by the island! As for people travelling to farout, and into the town at night it can get a bit restless as it is a fair walk up hill and the buses stop at 12! A bus for €1.60 runs every 15mins from the port to farout which is good, but at night the walk up hill is quite treacherous, but they can arrange taxis for you which cost 5-8€.


Other then that walk our place was perfect, air conditioning good etc.

And to top it off, on our last night they hosted a party for us, gave us drinks, cake etc. and were very fond of us ... until we pushed them all into the pool. All the guests got involved from every age group and it was a great sending off when the workers came into the town with us!


Anyone travelling to ios - I'd highly recommend this place because its communal in so that all the guests get a long together, both with themselves and the workers! We made friends from spain,canada,australia,america,greece,sweden etc. just from this resort! And the breakfast and beers are very cheap and affordable as well!

Room Tip: If you are on a ''lads'' or ''girls'' holiday maybe rooms on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whats_my_name1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This hotel is not a luxury hotel. The is a B&B. However considering the price I would definitely recommend it. Very close to the port and you can easily reach the town from here.

The staff is extremely friendly and make you feel very welcomed. There is a great pool to relax too. The rooms are clean and basic.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thadit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Hotel Irene was the perfect location in Ios. It was close to the port and the bus stop and the lovely restaurants.

The staff couldn't be friendlier and the food was delicious. They have a big pool with loungers which was amazing although there are no umbrellas.

My only complaint is that the hotel was far too noisy for me. Most of the clientelle were in their early 20's if even younger and they drank and blared music until 2am when they went clubbing. This is not ideal if you're up early to catch a ferry.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaineington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I stayed here 5 nights.
Everybody is very kind and helpful.
There is a nice pool where you can order Greek yogurt for breakfast. The location is close to the port and to the bus station.
Unfortunately the hotel was a little noisy at night in the corridors, and they did not have queen beds.

However, the atmosphere is authentic, and the rooms are ok.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gg309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

we stayed here many times since 1988 and it s always very clean owener frendly and helpfull ,
I sent here so many people and everybody liked the place .
near the port restaurants quite and very clean. all this for a good price ,good for friends family ,everybody is safe and welcome

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valley23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ios hotels
0 mi away
Galini Pension
Galini Pension
#2 of 4 in Yialos
105 reviews
0 mi away
Ios Palace Hotel
Ios Palace Hotel
#3 of 10 in Milopotas
540 reviews
0 mi away
Liostasi Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Brothers Hotel
Brothers Hotel
#1 of 42 in Ios
445 reviews
0 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 5 in Chora
115 reviews
0 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#1 of 1 in Manganari
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irene Hotel

Address: Behind the port, 47838, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Ios
Price Range: £74 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing