We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best restaurant at Ios?”
Review of Lord Byron

Lord Byron
Ranked #18 of 98 Restaurants in Ios
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kasterlee, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“best restaurant at Ios?”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Friendly staff. Nice food. You need reservation. The slow cooked lamb was great. Portions are big enough.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomSW6683TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    100
    34
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Incredible food!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We saw how busy Lord Byron was one evening and thought we would give it a go, obviously it turned out that they had no tables so we booked a table for the following evening. Our table was ready when we arrived and the waitress detailed the specials from the menu for us. A different waiter took our order but advised us on what he thought was the best on the menu. My partner chose the Santorini Chicken and was not disappointed, likewise I had the Genovese broccoli pasta and it was delicious. The portion sizes are ridiculous so despite their deliciousness, appetisers are probably not needed!
We were very impressed with the service, quality and quantity of the food. If we return to Ios, we would definitely return. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HRM89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Food accompanied with bird droppings and poor service”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Went to Ios for a few days in July 2014 and booked a table for 4 since this restaurant was recommended by a friend.

We had asked for a table outside and when we arrived we were given a table for 6 with two total strangers siting at the one side. To be exact, there were two separate tables (one for two and the other for four) put together. We did not make a fuss about it since we were there to relax and have a nice time. Our friends were a bit late so we asked the lady that took us to our table to order a couple of salads while waiting. She said that this was not possible because it is the restaurant's policy to order all food at the same time. When we complained that this was absurd (what if we decided to order an extra dish later, would they refuse??), a very polite young waiter came to our table and took our order.

Eventually our friends arrived and the table for 6 (the four of us and the 2 strangers) was now full! We were wondering why they did not move the couple next to us a bit further away so that we could all have our privacy. The answer was soon to be revealed! Both tables were barely covered by one umbrella and when we made the mistake of moving any part of our body outside the "umbrella protected area" we had bird droppings falling on us. My wife and I got some droppings on our hands and one of our friends on her hair. When we complained about it they said that they are aware of the problem but the municipality would not allow them to cut the tree. They also told us not to worry since the droppings were not fresh and thus easier to remove!!!!!

Needless to say that after the above our dinner was ruined. As to the food, it was nothing special and definitely overpriced.

When a restaurant charges around 40 euros per person one would expect to have his own table or at least be asked if he would like to sit with strangers and also to eat his food without being showered by bird droppings irrespective of whether those droppings were fresh!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Themis_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The place is so particular and characteristic, it's in the city centre! The food is really amazing and the service too, It's absolutely worth a visit!

Helpful?
Thank Joji95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Poetry on a plate”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were on an island hopping holiday, we were given insider tip to head to a certain restaurant in the village, unfortunately it was fully booked but we were recommended by the staff there to try LB's. On the way we stopped in the square for a mojito and our waitress recommended us to the top waitress and LB's so she sorted us a great table (it's a small island and everyone knows everyone else so it's always worth asking, and being nice!). We were a family of 4 plus our skipper and hostess. A cosy (you are very near to the other tables) table on the terrace, I didn't see the interior so I can't comment on that.
Anyway, all the food was delicious, I particularly enjoyed the feta fondue (actually all 6 of us enjoyed it, it was such a large starter). Everyone thoroughly enjoyed everything.
Service was very friendly, helpful and efficient. A really relaxed atmosphere and huge portions!
If I ever return to Ios and this restaurant is still there I will definitely be returning!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uchaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lord Byron also viewed

 

Been to Lord Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing