We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful traditional taverna”
Review of Taverna Alonistra

Taverna Alonistra
Ranked #24 of 103 Restaurants in Ios
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful traditional taverna”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A beautiful traditional taverna with a balcony overlooking Psathi Bay.Greek food,fresh ingredients, nice prices and kind people.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    22
    6
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

If you will visit Psathi Beach, then you should make a stop before you leave to Alonistra. These guys have their own food staff. Fresh vegetables, meat of their own local raised animals. The view is magnificent from their balcony, the value for money is excellent. The only negative is that if you will visit in the evening, the road towards there from the Chora or port, is not the best you can drive, but still the food can make it worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Ios, great homemade Greek food!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Our very helpful hotel owner, Nikiforos of Brother's hotel, recommended this restaurant for lunch during our self-guided ATV adventure and it was well worth the journey from Yialos to Psathi!

Not only is the view of Psathi beach and the sea incredible, the tarverna itself if pretty, the service was warm and the food tasted authentic and delicious. We tried the local spicy cheese (3.50 Euro) and the homemade tzatziki (3.50 Euro) to start and both were delicious, particularly with the soft fresh bread. For mains, we greatly enjoyed the meatballs in tomato sauce (8.00 Euro) and the Mousaka with Vegetables (8.00 Euro). Everything tasted fresh and made with love! We washed it down with lemon Fanta and Mythos beer, but they had a full range of drinks on the menu.

The lunch crowd was a nice laid back mix of locals and tourists. We were there around 1pm and managed to score a table with the best view of the water. By the time we left, the place was pretty full.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IdaFats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It's well worth renting a vehicle to visit Alonistra Taverna in Psathi, Ios.”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This is another restaurant on Ios that is not to be missed. One of my favorites. It is well worth renting a vehicle to drive there and makes an interesting afternoon outing. On the way stop at the Paleokastro and walk to the top to work up an appetite! Then enjoy a lazy afternoon eating fabulous traditional Greek dishes, whike you sit and admire the beautiful, deserted beach at Psathi with an amazing view across to other Cycladic Islands floating in the blue Mediterranean sea. Some of my favorite dished are the Greek salad, sprinkled with fresh herbs, the tomato balls, marinated octopus and stuffed zucchini flowers. Then go for a swim and sunbathe at gorgeous Theodoti beach. You won't regret it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrishSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must see!”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

After driving around Ios on a quad bike for sometime we stumbles upon this gem. Worlds away from the party vibe of the other side of the island. This place has the perfect vibe, great food, awesome staff & a view that is hard to believe. Loved it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brearne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna Alonistra also viewed

Ios, Cyclades
Agia Theodoti, Ios
 

Been to Taverna Alonistra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing