We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty place”
Review of The Octopus Tree

The Octopus Tree
Ranked #28 of 99 Restaurants in Ios
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Tasty place”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We visited here June 23 /2012
We were sent here by our hotelier . Great recommendation . We had the spinach and feta croquets (fantastic) and a salad with cabbage and sweet corn with a balsamic vinegarette dressing which was very tasty . Then we had the chicken fillets wrapped in bacon in a cream sauce - also fantastic . We shared a half liter of local red wine .
The service was good and the location had a good view of the Harbour .
We will return before we leave for santorini .

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunworshippers42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    80
    24
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“food great”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

ate here during our recent trip. Great food and super position, right on the harbour so you can all the ferry fun!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not happy with their food”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Been to Octopus end of May 2012 and it was actually a disappointment. We've been living in Greece for many years and learned to appreciate the wonderful Greek cuisine and especially the local foods from different islands. Unfortunately the Octopus tree offers a strange mix of wannabe local food and dishes that the owners think the tourists are expecting. Mixing mayonnaise and ketchup with fish of with grilled chicken is the most horrible combination I have ever seen in a Greek restaurant. Not to mention that their calamari, shrimps and meats were frozen and not fresh as most of the local tavernas offer. Location is good though, close to the port, in Gialos. But that only does not make us recommend this restaurant to other fellow travelers.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrei_Dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PROBABLY THE BEST LITTLE AUTHENTIC GREEK RESTURANT ANYWHERE IN A FANTASTIC SETTING”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

If you want a very relaxed informal evening with excellent service and a lovely authentic greek food, eat here. We are addicted and have returned many times. Fortunately tyhe beautiful island of IOS is unlike the more commercial islands so the prices are generally much better and the Octopus tree has retained its small friendly appeal. The family that run the place make you feel very welcome and there are Octopus actually hanging in the tree outside (apparently helps the preparation process - cool hey)

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Harbourside - good food & friendly hosts”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Great ambiance harbourside with visiting yachts and local fishermen dropping in as well as tourists like us. Fairy lights in the trees overhang the patio and the meatballs in tomato sauce are awesome. Should have been perfect except that the Meltemi was blowing a gale and I was dressed for the beach... step in our friendly host who lent me her hoody! That's what makes this place extra special - a relaxed, welcoming atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank titcherina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Octopus Tree also viewed

 

Been to The Octopus Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing