We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Tomba di Omero

La Tomba di Omero
Book In Advance
US$1,935.00*
and up
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Is a place in the middle of nowhere and with nothing to see ! Just some rocks ! If you dont have to much time to stay in Ios forget about it is too far away !
You drive some time and after you park you have also to walk like 10
Minutes on some rocks and in the end is A Bounch of Rocks !
This is it ! I will no go again for sure

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    52
    45
    21
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

I had a car so it was easy to get too but otherwise am not sure. It would be a very long walk in high temperatures. Lovely view from the site.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank irenedunne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

If you like history it's cool, the tomb is not to fancy but it's more the idea... If you look around there is marble scattered all over, and it seems another grave site near by... It's his mothers??? I enjoyed the ride!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TommyTravelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Picturesque place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Ok, the Tomb itself is not impressive, but the place is. Secluded, on the cliff, narrow path leads there. You are alone there, with wind blowing, waves hitting the shore, goat bells sounds all around, you see other islands on the horizon. Amazing, monumental sight that reminds me similar landscapes on Canary Island. We were really amazed by the setting and we’ve spent some time there, enjoying the views.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank olliemat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOLOGNA ITALY
Level Contributor
227 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“HE IS THERE LOOKING AT THE SEA, OR IS IT THE SEA THAT IS LOOKING AT HIM?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

If he really lived on Earth or not, this is not important: for me he sleeps here, in Ios, his mother's native island, forever. And the only thing I can think seating close his burial grave is: one day I would sleep here with him.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Biavati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tomba di Omero also viewed

 

Been to La Tomba di Omero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing