We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best greek experience you can possibly have!”
Review of Francesco's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Francesco's
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Ios
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Best greek experience you can possibly have!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The only I wouldn't come back to Francesco's is that it makes me miss it too much. The owner is the most gentle and caring man, anything to please his guests. The staff is really dynamic and friendly! Juddie the bartender is also a remarkable person that will always cheer you up (from a big night) with her welcome shots! The rooms are great, clean and will fit your needs. The terrace is great to meet people and go out to Blue Note after! The location is great, trust me you'd rather take a bus or walk to go to the beach than walking down to the beach at 7 am! The transport from the Port to the Hostel is also really appreciated! You should definitely stay there if you want to Ios and the greek experience as its best! IOS BABY xx

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilledumontm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    39
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
2
21
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

A great hostel, with a really sociable meeting/drinking area outside overlooking the harbour. I had a great time here - absolutely no problem at all just sitting around and meeting your fellow guests before going to the beach (in the day) or heading out into the old town drinking (at night). The Old Town in Ios is not actually by the ferry port, but a hundered meters or so higher up - the hostel is located very centrally in the Old Town in the lovely narrow streets surrounding by white washed buildings. I understand there is now a pool at the hostel too. You can dorms or small private rooms. I think the Old Town is a much better place to stay than down on the beach, but that may be because I had a great time here.

You get a free pick up from the ferry port (5 min drive up the hill), Needless to say, being located towards the centre of the Old Town you are right next to all the bars and to various restaurants and very tastey gyros stands. Overall highly recommended - probably made by a terrace with one of the best views of any hostel I've stayed at. I perfect place to relax in the early evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Excellent service, great value for money and a proper guide to experiencing the Greek atmosphere. Such friendly management and any request was met! IOS is lucky to have such a fabulous backpacker type hotel to rival the other on offer. The transport included in the hotel fee was very useful and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathleenHinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

This place is so much fun and it is probably the best hostel on the island. You will have a ball here! But make sure you book early if you want to stay, i'd book now if you are heading to Ios in June/July.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussieblte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Being a senior traveller and after spending time in Mykonos and Santorini I was not expecting too much and I was ready just to relax and enjoy the quiet beaches...But when my mate and I got in this place we felt home away from home, free transfer from/to port, welcome drink and drinking games to socialize then full rock to rock the night out!!!I absolutely had a blast and every single member of staff treats you like a family member...Great times, memories and friends form our staying!!!It is good even if you are quiet as everyone is very respectful...No better way to enjoy this island...

Room Tip: Get first floor rooms, quiet and with wifi!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandraMandrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2012

After travelling for so long and being away from home it was such a breath of fresh air to arrive at Francesco's and be instantly treated as a part of the family.
From the warm welcome at the pier/docks and Alex's "informative" guide up through the streets of Ios to the hostel (I'll forever know the cost of the morning after pill at the chemist in the square HA) to the exeptional service at the hostel reception and staff morale, I immediately felt at home.

The nightly ritual of welcome shots and encouragement of mingling between guests in the bar/seating area allowed for a comfortable setting for new people to meet and great friendships to form.
The convenience of location in proximity to the town made our drunken stumbles home all the more bareable and the cliffside pool offered the perfect hangover retreat/cure. The cafe within the hostel thoroughfares offering western breakfast (lunch in the normal world based on the time we were eating) was the icing on the cake for us hungover grease craving suffers.

I could not recommend a more amazing or perfect place to stay ANYWHERE!

Maria, Francesco, Judy, Elizabeth, Jess, Alex, Levi and Amy... Thank you for welcoming us into your 'family' and assisting in making what was the best week of our travels. Your patience and tolerance of our drunken states, messy rooms and excessive noise did not go unnoticed and we will be forever in your debt for the memories and moments of which you have contributed to.

Until next year.
With Love
Aimeé, Britt and Kelsey
(Mumma Bear and the Twins from Sydney, Aus)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AimeeMaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I am not a hostel person. Bad beds, bad bathroom, noisy... and here it is not different.
But there is something about this place that you must know: the people.
They are so pleasant and happy about life that this feeling gets to you.
Always polite, read to help, to make fun and laugh from the breakfast until late hours in the night.
So, if you are a hostel person, this is the place for you to be!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierodavila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ios hotels
1.2 mi away
Far-Out Village Hotel
Far-Out Village Hotel
#6 of 10 in Milopotas
140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brothers Hotel
Brothers Hotel
#1 of 42 in Ios
391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ios Resort Hotel
Ios Resort Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chora
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lofos Village Hotel
Lofos Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chora
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homer's Inn Hotel
Homer's Inn Hotel
#13 of 42 in Ios
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marcos Village Hotel
Marcos Village Hotel
#31 of 42 in Ios
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francesco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francesco's

Property: Francesco's
Address: Ios | Chora, 840 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Ios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
Francesco`s Hotel Ios
Francescos Hotel Ios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing