We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Francesco!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Francesco's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Francesco's
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Ios
Certificate of Excellence
Perth CBD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Francesco!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2009

Loved Francesco and his hostel! Great room, very large with a huuuuge balcony overlooking Ios - we had a fantastic view and enough room to have a party on our balcony. Very clean and the bathroom was the most decent we had while in Greece. Good location too, close to the bars and the shops/restaurants.

The staff who picked us up at the ferry and took us to the hotel weren't the most friendly. They pretty much left us to find our own way because we were taking so long dragging our bags through Ios! The girl at the front desk also wasn't the nicest. But Francesco himself was a gem, he dragged my bag up to my room and I thought he might have a heart attack from the effort!

We had stayed at Stelio's Place in Santorini and it turned out Stelio and Francesco were related through marriage - both great hostels and great hosts! Also, if you stay here make sure you visit the cafe around the corner (I think it's the Moon Cafe or something like that) - they do the best all-day breakfast I've ever had.

  • Liked — Location and balcony.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlashpackingPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    39
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
2
21
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2008

Francesco's was recommended to us by a friend, who was completely bang on with his description! Friendly staff, clean hostel, beautiful scenery, great food, lots of travellers to meet and ....HUGE party! Ios is an incredible island where all people speak English. It is easy to travel around the whole island if you rent a car. Or if you would rather stay at the local beach it's ia 15 min walk or a short 2 minute coach bus ride. The beach is beautiful, very calm! The staff at Franceso's are always willing to recommend places to go and places to eat, however it is easy to find them on your own too! Escape is a fantastic restaurant. A lovely surprise for us at Francesco's was the gorgeous pool with clean comfy loungers and a a specatular vew! What a great vacation!

  • Liked — Fun!
  • Disliked — Shower is small, but who cares!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank canadiatravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2008

Francesco's is absolutely the best hostel I have ever stayed at. They picked us up from our ferry and took us up the hill to the town, where they lead us through the cobbled streets ending at Francesco's. The hostel has many rooms on both sides of the pathway, with an internet cafe and bar area.

Our room had a balcony that we shared with two other rooms (it was large enough for more) with chairs to relax and watch the sunset.

Every night at 10pm, there are "welcome shots" in the bar area, where you meet the new arrivals and hang out before heading into town around midnight. Francesco even hangs out with everyone. It is always packed with people and a lot of fun.

Everyone who works there is friendly and helpful and I absolutely love Francesco! The rate was totally affordable (he could charge more).

I can't wait to go back!!!!!

  • Liked — Everything!!!
  • Disliked — can't complain
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveLondon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2008

I stayed at Francesco's on three separate occasions in 2002 and again in 2006. This is a great place to meet other travellers, and a good starting point for a night out on the town. Rooms are very basic, beds small and somewhat uncomfortable, but it's clean and the staff is very accomodating. If you are looking for peace and quiet this is definately not for you. If on the other hand you want to meet tons of like minded travellers and party until the crack of dawn, you won't find a better hotel in Ios.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Small thin beds
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ghebli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2008

This is a definite place to stay if you are a backpacker, young and looking for a party.

It's quite noisy with the nightlife and hotel guests but definitly great location. Clean and comfortable rooms. Probably the biggest bathroom we had out of all our hostels and only a quick run down the hill into the main drag.

  • Liked — Central Location to Town
  • Disliked — Noisy
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RobynBaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2007

I stayed at Francesco's for four nights in September 2007. The season was winding down and I had not trouble booking a single room. The single room was small but had decent twin bunks, working air conditioner and a small but effective and clean private bath and shower.

The owner and his wife are super friendly and take care of you. I left, by mistake, my reading glasses in the room and they simply sent it on the next ferry to be delivered to me at the next hotel - no charge. Maria is fantastic.

They have "welcome" shots for new people every night at 10 PM and just about everybody has fun and hangs out in the bar area watching the sunset and playing drinking games. People are super friendly. At around 12:30 the bar at Francesco's shuts down and the group goes into town to the Blue Note - a bar owned by the same people. You then have instant friends.

There is no feeling that Francesco is trying to rip you off with the small things; they point out the laundry in town, the cheaper internet and the good places to eat. They also make you feel like family.

If you want to party all night and sleep all day and/or go to the beach - you can not find a better place to stay. I was there in the off season and while it wasn't wild - because I was at Francesco's I had a group of people with whom I could go out. Francesco's is not there if you want the Ritz. If you want, however, a safe, clean very reasonably priced place to stay with a group of open minded people - consider giving it a try.

  • Liked — Very welcome warm feeling.
  • Disliked — I had to leave!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RT1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2007

I recently stayed at Francesco's for one night while I was island hopping. We made the reservations the night before online and it was nice that we were only charged 5 euros and wouldn't be charged the rest until we arrived. Just as the reviews said, we were greeted by someone (Jimmy!) when our ferry arrived and waited about 15-20 minutes as everyone gathered together to be driven to the hotel in vans. The clientele is definitely of the young backpacker variety, but that made it all the more fun. Most of the people that worked there were young and Australian. We piled in vans and went to the hotel where we were lucky to have our rooms ready. I had a room with 2 twin beds, refrigerator, AC, desk, hair dryer, private bath and closet. It was very nice and clean! Only 35 euros. At night, we all had a free shot and a few drinks at the cafe at the hotel (5 euros each) and then went as a group to the Blue Note and then bar-hopping. It felt a little like I was on a Contiki trip, but it was a barrel of laughs and tons of fun. Met some really cool travelers and had a great time. Francesco seems to know everyone and his place is made up of what seems like several pansions. I ended up staying at the Panoroma which was a short hike down a dirt rode on a cliff. Again, I wasn't there for snazziness so I didn't mind this. Stavros, the owner of the Panorama, was a jovial Greek man who even gave us a ride to the port the next day. Francecos's is located in the center of town right where you need to be to walk to all of the bars. You can also walk to the port if need be. The travel agencies are a 5 second walk away where you can buy your ferry ticket and the bus picks you up right there to take you to Mylopotas beach (I recommend the bus rather than mopeds). All in all, I would definitely stay at Franceco's again! It's probably more suited for the young partying types than honeymooners though. I also recommend you bring a backpack and no rolling luggage! WHAT I LIKED: easy to get to, "the" fun place to stay, friendly travelers, centrally located, good bang for the buck, smooth transation, clean room. WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: had 2 cold showers (maybe because I didn't flip the breaker switch??), short walk down a dirt rode which would be treacherous if really wasted, felt like I was a bit older than the clientele (I'm 29)

  • Liked — Great location, tons of fun travelers stay there, young party scene, easy transaction
  • Disliked — Sometimes herded with the group, clientele might be on the young side
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ciabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ios hotels
0.6 mi away
Brothers Hotel
Brothers Hotel
#1 of 45 in Ios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.2 mi away
Far-Out Village Hotel
Far-Out Village Hotel
#6 of 10 in Milopotas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lofos Village Hotel
Lofos Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yialos Ios Hotel
Yialos Ios Hotel
#6 of 45 in Ios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Helena
Hotel Helena
#22 of 45 in Ios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 4 in Chora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francesco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francesco's

Property: Francesco's
Address: Ios | Chora, 840 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Ios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
Francesco`s Hotel Ios
Francescos Hotel Ios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing