We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“summertime awesomeness”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Sky

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Sky
Ranked #26 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Ios
Lviv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“summertime awesomeness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Nice hotel with very compatable prices (room was very clean, with a fresh air and all needed kitchen items - even there was a squeezer).

First of all, location - in the middle between village (center of a nightlife) and Mylopotas Beach - quite comfortable.

Staff was friendly - owners recommended the best beach, chiepest supermarket and arranged the transfer from/to the port.

To my regard there where three dogs in a cage near the hotel and they were really bad maintained - it was the only bad impression.

Anyway, you will love staying at this hotel! For these money you won't find anything better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oksana_Bittersweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    7
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

First time in Ios Island. Excellent choice staying with friends here. Perfect location between Mylopotas beach and the town. Close to be with less than 10 minute walks in each direction. Rooms were no frills standard for a Greek island hotel. Beautiful views. Make sure to ask for a balcony view!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sitsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

My friend and I recently and regrettably stayed at blue sky in Ios everything seemed fairly standard (apart from wifi not working in our room at all) until we noticed the excessive barking of dogs coming from outside our room. We saw three dogs on a dirt patch next to the stairs, chained up tightly in the hot sun with no where to move, No fresh water and extremely skinny. We were told by locals that our hotel owned the dogs and they were only let off rarely to gather birds after shooting (they said twice a year which hopefully is an exaggeration) . while we stayed we heard them cry and bark all through the day and night Which was extremely disturbing. We snuck them water and toys and they were so excited but also terrified of us and distressed. It was horrible seeing them trying to run and then be pulled back by the chain. The buckets they do have are filled with minimal water which is green thick and mouldy. And masses of dog poo is piled up around them having not been picked up in a very long time. We were told by locals about the treatment of these dogs and they are apparently known for being horrible towards them. It seriously is a sad sight and we barely slept because of the barking. Would never stay here again, and would only visit to see if they've cleaned up their act.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank T_AlyceBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagstaffe, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights recently. It's right up on the cliff between the main beach and the town so was a great location. The lady who runs it (didn't catch her name) was more than helpful. She picked us up and dropped us off at the ferry port (no charge) and when we asked if we could move rooms, from 2 singles to a double, it wasn't a problem. Only problem was we moved from the cliff side which was peaceful with amazing views to the road side which was very noisey all hours through the night from party goers walking home from the town. The beds weren't very comfortable & the pillows terrible but other than that is was a nice location and very cheap. Would probably stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avdavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
791 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

I stayed at Blue Sky for 13 nights in June 2013, having previously stayed there for a number of years and it is an excellent place to stay in Ios. The rooms are clean, the views from the balcony are breathtaking, Marousa the owner and her family are very friendly and make you feel part of the family, it is close the the Chora (5 minute strole) and close to Mylopatas beach (10 minute strole.

Definatly worth staying if you are going to Ios.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

The best thing about this hostel is that it is situated really close to the beach (10 min walk) and the city (5 min walk). Nearly every room has an amazing view and the stuff is really nice and helpful! the fact that the prices stay low makes it an excellent spot to stay in the wonderful Greek island of ios.

I have already been 2 times and i am quite sure i will be visiting again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yannis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

stayed at the blue sky hotel for just over a week as soon as we got to ios port we were greeted by the owner and driven up to the hotel shown in to our room, it was very clean amazing view of the sea from our balcony. the hotel is located in between mylopotas beach and the town of chora (both only a short walk) me and my girlfriend came to ios to look for work for the summer and the owner kindly offered a few extra days at the hotel whilst we sorted out long term accommodation which we gladly accepted.
would strongly recommend this hotel too anyone and would definitely be staying here again!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ios hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Katerina
Hotel Katerina
#5 of 10 in Milopotas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Levantes - Ios Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel & Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Far-Out Hotel & Spa
Far-Out Hotel & Spa
#8 of 10 in Milopotas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gorgona
Gorgona
#3 of 12 in Milopotas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Purple Pig & Stars Camping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sky

Property: Blue Sky
Address: Agios Ioannis, 840 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Ios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blue Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing