We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it!!!”
Review of Vilaeti Taverna

Vilaeti Taverna
Ranked #1 of 104 Restaurants in Ios
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth it!!!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice place,very friendly,smiley and professional stuff.
Quick service and really good food.
Reasonable prices and a dessert as a treat!!!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sinclaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    58
    21
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cannot have better Greek food”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Worth moving out of Ios, 15 min drive to this country side taverna with outstanding grilled meat, salads. Everything was tasty, well cooked. Staff is extremely polite and friendly. We went twice in a week, all 14 of us, and still remember the fava, the lamb cotelets, the grilled octopus. Prefer beer, as wine list is limited, although a Katogi might suit your French taste.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 35Philipped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This taverna is situated a few kilometers away from the Chora, on the way to Maganari and Agia Theodoti beach.

Food was excellent (made mostly from local products), service very fast and very polite and prices reasonable. Definitely worth going.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Themis_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive or taxi fare!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Two visits in two weeks to Bilaeti - first visit was just my husband and son for lunch, followed a few days later by four of us again having lunch.

Its well worth the drive though the island's interior and Bilaeti is an unassuming building on first look - out front is a lovely water feature and the interior is in typical traditional Greek style. The staff made us extremely welcome and made recommendations to help four very indecisive Brits! The meats done on the spit are amazing, the pork melts in your mouth and is beautifully seasoned. You get HUGE portions so bring your appetite. A side salad was enough for four of us. We enjoyed great service in such lovely surroundings. The staff are really helpful and whilst we were settling the bill brought us lovely cake and apricots from the garden to enjoy before we left. Definitely worth a trip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KadyJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic taverna”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had a recommendation from The Brothers Hotel in Kampos Valley to try this taverna. We had been to Homers Tomb and travelled back towards Chora before stopping here. It was a great experience from start to finish. We ABSOLUTELY relished the beetroot salad starter, so much so that I will try to replicate it at home, followed by lamb and goat (me being brave with the goat) - so good!! Do not hesitate to try the food here. It's very good. I just wish the flies would 'do one' - but don't we all! Go try it, I don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frodshamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vilaeti Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Vilaeti Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing